We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I would say this place was good- not great. The rooms were small but clean. We stayed 4 nights. The pool was very nice. There is a big breakfast buffet that is included in the room rate. You can easily walk down the hill to city center.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kwmsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

We always read trip advisor reviews with great interest, since they represent the point of view of our guests and are a great source of feedback; definitely something which can help us to improve our service.

Honestly we do not quite understand the reason why you marked us down, the only explanation you give is that “the place is good, not great”, maybe because you found the rooms to be small, while all the other remarks are positive and we wholeheartedly thank you for those.

Anyway we hope to welcome you again as soon as possible in order to show you how much we have improved our service.

Until then, please accept our

Kindest Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,134 - 1,140 of 2,526 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for ten days and thoroughly enjoyed it. You are a stones throw from the Main Street. We had a prestige room which had amazing views especially for the large firework displays. The rooms are lovely, but not massive, I'm sick and tired of people complaining about small hotel rooms, in Italy they are all SMALL! If you want a big room book a suite, rant over. Only things I could mention to watch out for are,the free meal voucher. You may as well throw it in the bin, small menu and awful. And they tried to charge 10 euro a day for my moped? You can park around the back for free, and use side entrance to gain access to hotel. Other than that a really nice and clean hotel :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review on trip Advisor and for having shared it with the web community.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us, actually our hotel is in a great location, in a quiet and peaceful area, nestled on a mountain side. From our terraces, swimming pools and our room’s balcony you have a breathtaking view of the Naples Bay, Mount Vesuvio and the Sorrento city. Just our proximity to the center makes our hotel an ideal starting point to discover the wonders that our beautiful region offers us, as Capri, Positano and Pompeii.

We are very happy to know that you loved everything about our hotel, our staff, multilingual, polite and professional, our typical Italian cuisine, our rooms with terrace, spacious and always spotless.

Thanks again for your words and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for 10 days. Our room was spacious and large, bed really comfortable with bedding changed every day. Requested a sea view and got one didn't pay any extra for this. The hotel is in a good location a few minutes walk into the centre of everything and the views are totally fabulous. Only booked for bed and breakfast but did eat here a couple of nights and food was really lovely. The pool/sunbathing area is not overly large and is tiered with small pools on 5 different levels although pleasant and again with fabulous views the pools could with a bit of an overhaul ie a refreshing coat of paint! The pool restaurant is very nice and food is good. There wasn't a great choice for breakfast and it was a bit chaotic with tables far too close to the food therefore if you were unfortunate enough to be allocated one of these then you are totally in the path of everyone. By the 7th day although we had clean towels & bedding every day I felt that our room did not have a good clean and the floors were starting to become grubby. Big downside is that there are no tea making facilities in the rooms I disliked this immensely as like to have tea in mornings and on returning to room at end of the afternoon. This is a nice hotel with very pleasant staff couldn't fault them and it looks to be one of the nicer ones in Sorrento but it's by no means luxurious and there is room for improvement in some areas in saying that overall I did enjoy my stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the taking the time to review your stay at Grand Hotel Capodimonte.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, quite frankly we are a bit surprised by the mark you assigned us, since you seemed impressed with everything and pleased by the free upgrade.

Your comment regarding the cleanliness of the room honestly was unexpected since, as stated by hundreds of other reviewers, we are often complimented for the high standards of cleanliness around every corner of our establishment.

We thank you for the suggestion regarding the tea and coffee making facilities into the rooms and we will discuss it within the next meeting. We would only clarify that we have a bar service available every day from 07:00 a.m. to late night (01:00) a.m, so anyone can order something almost anytime during the day.

Anyway, thank you again for your remarks, we will take them into high consideration in order to improve the standard of our service.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible,

Best Regards
Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel during my honeymoon for a couple nights and it was the highlight of our holiday! Absolutely stunning views of the sea and coast from the restaurant and pools. We paid to have breakfast and dinner included and that was also well worth it. The breakfast buffet was huge and had great stuff. Dinner was just as good. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank brybluts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

First of all we want to give you our best wishes for your wedding and we are very happy that you chose the Grand Hotel Capodimonte for your honeymoon. We are always very glad to be part of such important moments of our guests.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at The Grand Hotel Capodimonte and we are really happy that you appreciated our effort to give to our guests an enchanting stay.

You highlighter our best quality in your review. Our amazing view. The Hotel Capodimonte is located on a small hills closer to the Sorrento centre (10 minutes’ walk) and due to its position our hotel can offers many advantages, first of all the breathtaking view in fact from rooms, restaurants, terraces and swimming pool you can enjoy a suggestive view over the Gulf of Naples, the islands and the old fishermen port of Sorrento.

Also our extensive hot and cold breakfast and dinner are very popular with our guests because we offer a wide choice of healthy, tasty and local food.

Thanks again for your words and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Couldn't recommend this hotel enough! Beautiful views from the pool and bedroom balcony, friendly staff and tasty food!

Breakfast is a buffet with so much to choose from, really is something for everyone and no matter what time you visit there is always plenty of everything! The evening food is also very tasty and well presented.

The rooms are well furnished and very peaceful due to being well soundproofed and the blackout blinds mean you can sleep in pitch darkness even when the sun us up! When we arrived we had a faulty shower but within half an hour of mentioning this to reception it was being fixed and worked perfectly after that!

My only fault would be the sun loungers by the pool. As a family if four we would often struggle to find seats together no matter how early we went down, this was because guests would reserve them very early (before 8.30am) with a towel. The annoying thing about this would be nobody would often use said seats until midday!!

However, the pool area is beautiful and feels like a tranquil paradise with amazing views of Sorrento, he coast line and Vesuvius. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornsmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor, reviews like yours encourage us to continue to keep high our standard of hospitality and service.

Thank you for taking time to praise our hotel and to have highlighted our strong points, breathtaking views, bright, elegant and spotless rooms and the love and care that we have in the preparation of our healthy breakfast made with local products, genuine and always very fresh.

Thanks again for your words and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards
Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Strongly recommend this hotel - only a few minutes walk into the town centre located on the hillside so the multiple terraces offer great views across the bay and Sorrento itself. Food was excellent and the staff friendly.

We had a room at the back of the hotel but this was lovely as the balcony overlooked the lemon groves.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamGrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your excellent review and for recommending our hotel.

We are glad that you had a great stay with us and that you have enjoyed your lovely room with the terrace overlooking our garden.

Is a pleasure to know that you loved our wonderful view of the Napoli bay, Sorrento and the islands that you can enjoy from ours several terrace and also from our amazing pools.

Thanks for noticing our great efforts in preparing breakfast and dinner using only fresh, local and typical food that our beautiful region has to offer.

Thanks again for your words and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a stunning hotel, perfectly located within easy reach of Sorrento town centre. It's highlight is undoubtedly it's stunning set of six cascading swimming pools which rival anything I've ever seen.

Our week's stay was enjoyable but we felt that to warrant it's 4 star rating, there were service issues that need to be improved upon.

Appreciate we stopped in peak season, but would strongly recommend getting to breakfast before 8am as anytime after this it is merely a scrum. Regularly milk and orange juice ran out and took a long time to replenish. Flies round the fresh fruit were off-putting. Small things that could easily be improved.

Likewise for the evening meal, expect to wait in a queue to be seated if you arrive around 8pm. To enjoy a front row table with a beautiful view of the Bay of Naples you will need to be there for 7pm prompt.

Nevertheless the quality of the food could not be questioned and was always beautifully presented and of the highest quality.

It would not put us off stopping there again but for the price paid, I would be tempted to try a different "Grand Hotel" that Sorrento has to offer to see if the service was better elsewhere.

Room Tip: There are cliff facing rooms and those with stunning views. Obviously choose the rooms with a view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TrickyTone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have devoted to the review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, we are always very interested in the comments of our customers, because they give us the opportunity to improve more and more our services and they give us good suggestions.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed our central location, our breathtaking view and that you've noticed our great effort in the dinner preparation. We use only fresh and local products and our chef is always ready to satisfy everyone with tasty and delicious dishes of the traditional Italian cuisine.

We are sorry to know that you think that our service was not up to your expectations. We are very surprised to read this because usually our hotel is rewarded by the customers and travel agents, Italian and international, for the service we offer and the friendliness of our staff.

We always pay attention to the details because they are fundamental and our waiters at breakfast are always ready to refill the dishes and jugs as soon as it becomes necessary.

Concerning the tables on the terrace for dinner we apologize for the wait, but being in high season, the hotel is full and all the customers want to eat on the terrace but our restaurant has not only a magnificent terrace overlooking the sea but also an indoor dining room, always sea view, very big and fine decorated and with plenty of available tables.

We would like to thank you again for your valuable comment, we take it in great consideration and we sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte, in order to have the opportunity to give you other good memories of us.

Kind regards



Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
1,369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £135 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing