We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Prestige Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
US$196
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Villaggio Verde(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel La Vue D'Or(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$231
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Fiorita(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Central(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$239
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,556)
Filter reviews
2,556 results
Traveller rating
1,653
619
172
68
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,653
619
172
68
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascading poolshalf boardsea viewbay of naplespool arealovely hotelour honeymoonpoolside restaurantevening mealthe cliffamazing viewsplenty of sunbedspublic areasmount vesuviusfour star hoteltown centrefew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,156 - 1,161 of 2,556 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Well, I hope the 'title' of my review gives you an indication of what a stunning hotel this is to stay at in Sorrento. Having stayed here for 7 days for our honeymoon, my wife and I were very impressed with every element of our stay. The staff are outstanding (Vincenzo in particular) and nothing is ever too much trouble for them. They catered for my wife's vegan dietary requirements amazingly well and the food was outstanding. They are polite, efficient, highly-professional and work extremely well as a team. The hotel is impeccable, spotlessly clean and within a short walk from the centre. Sorrento's not ideal for those with walking difficulties, due to the hills surrounding the centre, but the nightlife is great in Sorrento, there's plenty to do and the day-trip to Rome was fantastic, albeit a very long day! The 5 pools are another highlight (of many). We'd highly recommend this hotel to couples, groups and families. We can't extol the quality of this hotel enough! It's fantastic in every respect and we hope to return for an anniversary sometime! :o) Despite reports of Sorrento being expensive (apart from the clothes), we found the prices to be very reasonable for every-day products.

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade! Well worth the extra! :o)
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review on Trip Advisor and for recommending our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you are thinking to come back, review like yours make us very proud of our work and encourages us to keep high our quality standards.

Thank you so much for your nice words about our staff, many customers praise our staff because with a good team work we are able to cuddle all customers and satisfy every desire with kindness and a smile.

Thank you again for your nice review and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Chose hotel for it's location as we did not want to be on centre of sorrento. Delighted with our choice. Sorrento was just a short walk away. Hot was excellent with a fabulous pool area. Plenty of sunbeds and amazing views from almost every part. We were a family of 4 so booked 2 rooms. Upgraded to a higher floor for 1 room and were not disappointed as view was beautiful. 2nd room also had a good view of sea. Breakfasts were excellent with so much choice. We had 5 meals in evenings which were a little expensive but good. The gala buffet and 5 course candlelight dinner were excellent and well worth doing. Helpful staff. Will definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you kind review on Trip Advisor and for having shared it.

We are very glad to know that you had a great stay with us, that you loved your room, spacious, bright, spotless and with an amazing view over the Napoli Bay and the Sorrento city.

The location of the hotel is really very convenient, just a short walk from the center but at the same time in a quiet and peaceful area from where you can choice if you want to enjoy a nice relaxing day in our beautiful swimming pools or be able to start easily an excursion day.

Thanks again for your words and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotels' location is superb, built into the side of a mountain, it has 11 floors, and spreads out over a vast area. The views from the bars and restaurants over Sorrento, the bay and across to Vesuvius are breathtaking. We were on the 8th floor, and although the balcony was only small, the views were good on an evening, but obscured during the day by the people using the solarium outside and the sunshades, but, who stays in their room during the day? The room was large, well maintained and spotlessly clean, very comfortable too. The level of service offered by all the hotel staff was second to none, they are a credit to the hotel company. All the meals were very nice and a good choice for all courses. The hotel is ideal for couples and families with older children. This was our first holiday as a couple for many years and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel . We will definitely be returning

Room Tip: Higher floors are best, worth paying extra for a room upgrade
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pete w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review on trip Advisor and for having shared it with the web community.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us, actually our hotel is in a great location, in a quiet and peaceful area, nestled on a mountain side. From our terraces, swimming pools and our room’s balcony you have a breathtaking view of the Naples Bay, Mount Vesuvio and the Sorrento city. Just our proximity to the center makes our hotel an ideal starting point to discover the wonders that our beautiful region offers us, as Capri, Positano and Pompeii.

We are very happy to know that you loved everything about our hotel, our staff, multilingual, polite and professional, our typical Italian cuisine, our rooms with terrace, spacious and always spotless.

Thanks again for your words and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at this excellent hotel. The first time we were getting married and the second time we came back for our 5th wedding anniversary with our 2 small toddlers! The staff were amazing; so helpful and accomadatung with the children - the lifeguard was brilliant - getting extra toys out for our children to play with in the pool and helping us get sunbeds close together with the rest of our family. The staff adapted the menu so my children could have different toppings on pizza/ plain pasta (fussy daughter). We love this hotel - it's clean, easy access into Sorrento and excellent service - we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review !!! We are so happy to be part of the fond memories and unforgettable days of our guests and we feel part of them.

What to say more than thank you for bringing us in your life and for the kind words you wrote about our hotel and staff.

Our lifeguard Enrico is always ready to let the children play and take care of them like all our staff always courteous and polite and ready to help with a smile!

Thanks again for your words and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I had waited 18 years to stay at this hotel, having seen it on a previous trip to the beautiful place, that is Sorrento. It was worth every bit of waiting time, and entering the lift up to reception, when the doors opened, it certainly had the WOW factor.We payed a crazy amount of money for a sea-view room, with a very small balcony, but sitting up there on an evening looking at the view across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius, I wouldn't have swapped it for anything.
The hotel is in a prime position, built into the corner of some cliffs, about a 15 minute stroll n an evening to Piazza Tasso - the main square in Sorrento. The decor is very Italian, and beautiful, and the service and the food is second to none. I have recommended this hotel to many people, and everyone has loved it. Well done Cappodimonte.

Room Tip: You must have a seaview.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabbycat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review and for recommend our hotel to your family and friends.

We are very glad to hear that you had a fantastic holiday here with us and that you loved your terrace overlooking the sea, the Napoli bay and the Sorrento city.

Reviews like yours encourage us to continue to keep high our standard of hospitality and service, we sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte, in order to have the opportunity to give you other good memories of us.

Kind regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews