We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,793)
Filter reviews
2,793 results
Traveller rating
1,828
660
188
68
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,828
660
188
68
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascading poolshalf boardsea viewbay of naplespool arealovely hotelour honeymoonevening mealpoolside restaurantthe cliffamazing viewsplenty of sunbedspool attendantpublic areasmount vesuviusfour star hoteltown centre
Filter
Updating list...
2,249 - 2,254 of 2,793 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed at this hotel for one week in June, having booked a package holiday. On leaving the hotel I left written feedback with the hotel. Sadly, although this hotel has many positive features I cannot recommend it for a restful holiday, or indeed if you wish to get a full nights sleep (as most people do on holiday).

The hotel has a excellent location with good views of the bay. The pools are impressive with a range of terraces, allowing you to get near to the pool or be more secluded. We receieved a good and friendly level of service fom staff at dinner,breakfast and in the bar. The quality of food was average and varied, much as you would expect on a package holiday, You should not expect to pay package prices and get restaurant quality.

We would have been happy to return to the hotel based on all the above points. However, we did not get a single night of undisturbed sleep. We stayed on the 8th floor in a partial sea view room. It was a lovely room with a nice view.The rooms have an electric roll down shutter instead of curtains, which is very effective at keeping out light. But people go to bed at a variety of times and when rooms next to and above us went to bed in the early hours the shutter noise was not welcome. Had this been the only issue I would have felt it reasonable. But we were repeatedly distrurbed late at night and early in the morning by guests dragging and moving chairs. The floors are tiled and the noise penetrates even ear plugs! The unpredictable nature of this noise means that you cant get used to it, it just wakes you up every time! Im sorry to say that a lot of the noise in the morning seemed to be caused by the chamber maid, who started work around 7. Carpeting the bedrooms would solve this problem, or maybe even those little pads that you stick onto the feet of chairs to stop them scratching the floor. In summary, as a couple we paid nealy £2000 for a week holiday that left us more tired than when we arrived. So would you want this?

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Just lovely. Position takes up the cliff side and spread on many floors making for interesting design. Most rooms have sea view. And wow what a view. High standard all round. High enough from the road to be peaceful. Enjoyed the Gala Buffet meal on our last night. Restaurant overlooked the Bay of Naples and even when there was a thunderstorm the lightening was fantastic.
Loved it.
Didn't need to use the car as walking into the town was less than half a mile on the flat. We were lucky and secured one of the 5 parking spaces outside the door but don't worry there was more parking available 50yrds away. Was 15 euros a day though in either place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

A group of ten of us spent six night's here and we had a lovely time. From the moment we arrived the staff were very good friendly and attentive, the staff at reception alway's helping with all of our request's, the bar staff never rushed us late at night and were alway's willing to stay as long as we did while the staff were friendly they never lingered of made you feel uncomfortable. The hotel itself was very clean the room's were nicely decorated light and spacey, the breakfast restaurant had the most amazing view of any i have ever eaten in. Before we went we read a few reviews saying that the food and drink was expensive the food was very competatively priced for sorrento, the drink was on the steep side but the measures were very LARGE. I would quite happily return to this place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njdimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We were married in Sorrento last July and chose the Capodimonte for our wedding reception. We could not have chosen better, Guiseppe the reservations manager was excellent as were all the staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble, if we changed our minds about anything it was never a problem (unlike the uk where you are charged extra for any changes). We had 30 friends and family attend the wedding alot also chose to stay at the Capodimonte and loved it. The evening before the wedding we had an informal get together for the guests, the hotel provided us with our own waiter bottles of wine and nibbles nicely laid out on the terrace overlooking the bay at a very reasonable cost. The reception the following day was even more impressive outside on the dinning terrace where we were entertained by two excellent musicians and even a singing waiter. We have since been back this may for a short break and were welcomed warmly by Guiseppe and the hotel manager we will definately be retuning.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debrasitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

This is a gorgeous 4-star hotel situated on the side of a hill overlooking the Bay of Sorrento. The owners have spared no expense in providing one of the most spectacular hotels we have ever seen. A five-tiered swimming pool almost gets overlooked in the beauty of the surroundings and of the hotel itself.

Twice a week the hotel provides live entertainment in the cocktail lounge and on Wednesdays there is a "surprise" buffet dinner in the grand restaurant. Maitre'D Tonino oversees all the dining rooms with expertize. Concierge Roberta at the front desk is able to arrange anything from group tours to private drivers. The grounds are manicured continually and have some of the most breathtaking floral arrangements we had ever seen.

There is a morning buffet breakfast and a snack bar poolside for lunch. Service was included on all bills.

The only "warning" I might add is about the hotel's accessibility. Being located on the side of a mountain, almost everything in the hotel requires a hike of either stairs or ramps. There are elevators (lifts) but they all are accessed only by stairs or lifts. This would be a difficult hotel for anyone physically-challenged. Also, the location of the hotel itself is within 10-15 minute walk into town but that also requires a bit of a hike. There are no stores, restaurants, etc. within easy reach of the hotel itself an no stores of any kind on the property. A warning in the room reminds you that the local water supply is not potable so you need to either bring bottled water to the room or have it delivered by room service. The company that owns the hotel also has several properties in downtown Sorrento that do not offer the same view or elegance but are more easily reached by the local attractions if that is more of what you are seeking. This property is a marvelous romantic getaway and during our 10 days stay, I don't recall a single night without a wedding in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews