We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This hotel is fantastic, I was taken here as a birthday surprise by my partner. They added cake and flowers to our breakfast, a great touch! The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and welcoming and speak excellent English, they could not do enough to help ensure our stay was a good one, all the waiting staff seem to have permanent smiles and even helped us with our limited Italian! The view of Sorrento from the pool is amazing, the food is excellent. I would love to be lucky enough to stay here again! They even surprised us with a take away breakfast as we had a very early checkout, this hotel desrves 10 stars!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,434)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Capodimonte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,890 - 1,896 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2009

This was a lovely hotel, spoiled by a poorly managed pool area. Children were allowed to run wild undeterred and the policy regarding the booking of sunbeds was ignored and unenforced. This left us no option but to go with the flow. From previous experience, this is something that can be easily managed. Unbelievably, some sunbeds were obviously 'booked' the night before.

We strongly recommend anyone booking to ensure a sea view, as rooms to the rear face directly onto the cliff face, which although cultivated, offers a dismal and claustrophobic outlook. Luckily we avoided this, but numerous conversations could be heard at reception on the subject.

Although not the hotel's responsibility, the road crossing outside is seriously dangerous. In the event that a car actually stops at the crossing, do not assume bikes or scooters will follow suit, or vehicles coming in the opposite direction!!!!

Despite this, we had an enjoyable holiday and would recommend Il Buco (expensive), Don Vincenzo and Cafe Latino for excellent food and service. Bar Fauno in the Piazza Passo is excellent for drinks and watching the world go by.

From the Piazza Passo to the Marina Piccolo, take the 'wee' bus at 1 euro each way and don't think of walking (you will see why!!!)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breck_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We stayed for one week .The room was very large and private.Everything was as expected apart from the food...it was pretty average.The hotel was very convenient and the local shops were excellent.We had an excursion to Rome wwhich we would recommend.We think it would be wiser and quicker to go on an organised trip to Capri as it was chaotic at the port.We really enjoyed our 2 hour cruise around the island. Avery pleasing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slemishbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We chose this hotel because it would be easy to walk into Sorrento whenever we wished and it offered lovely spacious rooms with sea views and a swimming pool.
Although we did not request it, our two rooms were next to each other and had been prepared immaculately with sparkling wine chilling. We had booked Premier rooms with panoramic views and we were not disappointed.......being able to enjoy them from the balcony was a highlight of our stay.

We found the breakfast buffet was excellent and had everything from sliced fresh fruit to cold meats, cheeses, cooked eggs and bacon, yoghourts and sweet pastries. Served from 7-10am though made it a little early for some of us to make the most of it!
The only other meals we had at the hotel were lunch on two occasions on the pool terrace, the price being much the same as in Sorrento itself. I did not think that Sorrento food was that expensive but the drinks are disproportionately so. Our evening meal for 4 adults was around 50-60 euros each time including the drinks, however we only ate a main course each as serving size is on the whole generous and the heat did reduce our appetites.

We had some ants invade us too and the chambermaid gave us a spray to use which seemed to do the trick. I will be adding antkiller to my travel supplies next time I go somewhere hot!

Tiled floors are lovely and cool but demand some consideration from guests.....the people above us were very quiet but were followed by guests who thought it okay to stomp about at 2am in heels and scrape chairs....even so it was not too bad.
We stayed on the side of the hotel that has a little cut through much used by scooters and being Italian they do use their horns! We didn't hear them in the night with the blind down though.

All the hotel staff we encountered were smart, friendly and charming...... however, we did not have dinner.

Thankfully our idea of a prime spot on the pool terraces (a little shade and able to see the view) did not match that of the sun worshippers who preferred to face the pool and get their places reserved early. Plenty of sunbeds and no charge for them, towels available free. Using the safe was also free.

The location is not quiet being close to the town and the hotel is busy with many visitors and a pool which can get noisy depending on which children are about. There is also often live music in the evenings so it is best to think of this as being a lively and social hotel rather than secluded and peaceful. This was a change for us as we live rurally but could be a disappointment for some.

Two tips: buy water in large bottles from the supermarket......believe me you won't mind that it isn't chilled! Buy huge rolls freshly filled at the Salumeria for only 4-5 euros....enough for two people and great for picnic lunches.
Sorrento is a lovely happy town with many places to visit, easily accessed by public transport.....we had a great time!
Overall I rated this as very good rather than excellent as I am unable to judge the service at dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonSeamist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Well - we went here for our honeymoon & i have to say we were extremely dissapointed.
The hotel has a fantastic view, the pools are lovely and its close to the centre of sorrento.
Apart from that its not all that - the waiters have an attitude, probably due to the fact that they are in full suits for 15hours a day - which also meant that they stink!! The food is very average. Everything in the hotel is well overpriced - a lager & lime by the pool cost me 10euros & a portion of fries is 8euros! The air-con is terrible & there were ants in our room with us!!
GIVE IT A MISS!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJA33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

It's five weeks since my wife, daughter and I stayed at this hotel. The reason for the late review is that we have been awaiting a reply to our complaint letter. We had booked two identical rooms and requested that these should be adjoining if possible. When we arrived we found that our daughter's room was half the size of ours, in a completely different part of the hotel and infested with ants. We pointed this out to the receptionist who said that the hotel was full and that it may be possible to change the following day (it wasn't). My daughter hardly slept that night as the ants were in the bed. We complained about this and were told that this was to be expected at this time of year. The receptionist cheerfully told us that he had the same problem at home (we used to have an incontinent cat but I wouldn't expect to find one in a hotel room) but said he would pass on the complaint. Once again, he didn't. When my daughter returned to her room the ant problem was still there. My wife went to the reception and asked to speak to the manager. It turned out that the receptionist had not bothered to mention the complaint to anyone. The manger was unavailable ("by the pool"). Eventually another receptionist took the matter seriously and said she would have the room sprayed. No alternative room was offered and my daughter had to spend a night in room recently sprayed wth chemicals. The ant problem was reduced slightly but was still there. We even went out and bought our own spray. We later found a cheap bottle of sparkling wine in each room. We drank part of a bottle between us but the quality was such that we weren't tempted to drink the rest. On returning we wrote a letter explaining our dissatisfaction and the replying letter was dismissive to say the least.
It's a shame to sound so negative because this hotel has many good aspects - great location, lovely views, nice pools with shaded areas and very attentive restaurant and bar staff - but the holiday was spoiled for us by the problems we encountered and the inadecuate way they were handled.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hispanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Myself and my wife thought this hotel was excellent and generaly, the service was very good. You do need to pay extra for a room with a view as the front of the hotel has lovely views, but the back looks into a cliff face. The breakfast is great with lots of fresh fruit, cereals, and a chef cooking omelettes to order. The facilities are excellent and the hotel is worth the 4 stars. It is not far from the centre (10 minutes) and is the first hotel on the way up a hill. Very enjoyable

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,623 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £155 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing