We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Our granddaughters wanted to stay here forever (as we did). There are no words to discribe how wonderful this hotel is. Fabulous location, view of the town and Bay of Naples. Execellent dinning , breakfast rooms and hotel service. Rooms are spacious, clean and elegant Ratings call this a 4 star hotel, I say 5 stars.

Planning to bring our travel group here in 2011. They will be overjoyed!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimMassachusetts_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,929 - 1,935 of 2,526 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2010

From check in to check out we were looked after with excellent service and superb food well presented and varied. Our room was spotless and linen and towels changed regularly. Location was ideal with fabulous views over Sorrento and the Bay of Naples yet just a 5 minute stroll down to the town.
Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful and we look forward to seeing them again some time in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyprus1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Fabulous location , 10 mins walk from the main streets of the town.
Amazing terraces on different levels overlooking the bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius
Great set of stepped pools , set into the hillside. Full bar service around the pools
Excellant buffy breakfast with all the usual hot and cold dishes and chilled Prosecco ! Reasonable room and very comfy beds but bit short of Towels ( hand Towels were like Tea-twels , flat woven , not Terry )
Rather short of info' in the rooms and reception staff not so forthcoming with info'
All restaraunt staff very efficient and polite.
N.b. Wifi is not free ( 2 euro's / hour ) as mentioned in some websites and the private beach wasn't open in April .
Superb for a romantic break ( we went for our 20th wedding anniv' ! )
Many good places to eat in the town thou can be expensive and often limited menu offer of one dish per type of meat ( i.e one chicken , one beef etc )
Dolphinos is a must-eat-at place at Grand Marina ( the quieter bay of the two harbours ) eating on a jetty over the sea with excellant service and food at the south end of the bay .

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tc+Ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed between 30th April and May 7th and I can honestly say this is a great hotel in every respect. When we arrived we had booked a room with a balcony, which was on floor 2 and this was the only disappointment as we had no view and this floor is closest to the road. I went to reception and they were immediately helpful and I paid for an upgrade. What a room we got with stunning views from level 11.
The hotel is very well situated for Sorrento with literally a 3 minute walk to the Corsa Italia (the main street), and being built into the hill it has fantastic gardens and layout with 5 rockpool pools. The views are to die for and the whole ambience is comfortable quality.
All and I mean all the staff were brilliant. Our rooms were spotless as were all the hotel public areas. Drinks were reasonable and we found the food also to be of a high standard.
If you want a great location, fantastic views and a warm Italian welcome from caring staff then go the Grand Hotel Capodimonte. We will return!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Family stayed for a Wedding, and also had time to visit Capri and Pompeii.Great location easy access to Sorrento.Beautiful Views over Naples Bay. Good outside facilities 5 pools and large patios.Good sized rooms.Hotel well managed. Staff helpful.Did'nt like 1st time I had to pay 2.50e per day to rent safe in room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyDonegalIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We had a fabulous holiday in the Capodimonte hotel ,Idealy situated just a short walk to the town,Stunning views that took my breath away,
The service was excellent although I found the food a bit hit and miss .Some dishes were better that others but on the whole dining in the hotel was a pleasent experience, We found it best to eat at 7am when they opened to get the best service before it got too busy.
Lovely pool area and fantastic in and outside seating areas.
Only complaint was the drinks were too expensive , there is a small shop on the other side of the road were we could buy a bottle of wine to drink on the balcony,
A must try is the fruit bar ( Guarracino) via Antonino 19/21 in the town centre where the fruit cocktails are to die for at reasonable prices. The Capri boat trip is worth going on but dont waste your money on the blue lagoon it realy is a rip off for what you see.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolksab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

the hotel in general was pretty good and have no complaints for the room, reception or bar staff . We went for dinner on the Sunday evening and didn't fancy the set meal so decided to go 'a la carte '. The whole demeaner of the staff was completly wrong , almost as if it was a big stress having people ordering 'a la carte' . my wife's main arrived with her starter her starter a 'Waldorf salad arrived ... a bed of lettuce and celery with a dollop of mayo'and some sliced apple , my Friend's starter a salad Nicoise arrived without any tuna .. No veg arrived with main course (non was ordered we just presumed it would come with some )nor were we asked if we wanted to order some .. the whole thing was a complete disaster .. The staff were hopeless , not a smile or a welcome goodness knows what was going on . We complained and the following day i met with the Hotel manager who explained the whole thing away as just one of those things . He asked me to return that night to the restaurant but I said we had other plans . I said you only get one chance to make a first impression and it was very poor ,

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rectory46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,314 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
1,369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £135 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing