We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideous dump. Needs dropping and starting again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hideous dump. Needs dropping and starting again!”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Visited this hotel in July 2011. Worst experience of my life in any hotel ever. Management staff ignorant, mould in bathroom, rubbish air con, worst room service menu ever seen. Couldn't wait to get out of there. Why anyone would want to visit twice is beyond me!
Having travelled extensively throughout the world with clients, as I have an event management company, thank the lord I never sent any clients here without viewing it myself first. This is the worst 4**** ever. The only saving grace was the view. Better to drop the thing and build a new one on the amazing site. Felt sorry for the drivers and handy men, they seem to do all the work whilst other staff just gawk and stair into space - oh and give you dirty looks when they can be bothered! Never again. Nothing to do with the wonderful Italians, I'm married to one!!!! Bizzarely, Frette linen is used on the beds which is top dollar, in comparison to the threadbare towels in the mouldy bathroom! Got some good pics of the dump.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank QueenBeeIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear caprisorrento2011,

Thank you for posting your useful review on tripadvisor.com and for studying such good pictures of our hotel. I can imagine how you spend your holiday instead of taking pictures of all the good parts of our hotel,the wonderful views, the brand new swimming pool, the bedding of Frette etc. You just try to find every little detail in order to give a bad impression of the property, like the picture of a crack in the wall; unfortunately it is not possible to destroy and rebuild a hotel like in the Uk or Usa, as in Italy there are thousand of regulations that prevent to do it.

Nowadays is getting difficult to satisfy all Guests, especially the ones who have chosen a destination because of a special deal or a low price offer, like the one booked by you (we have checked on our sistem and realised which Guest can be so gentle to write a comment like this one, as first we allocated you in a room on the 4th floor and then in a room on the 1st floor superior but still has photographed the worst wall instead of a beautiful sunset).

For sure all the Guests that wrote a review telling that they will be back, for sure there has to be that little something that goes beyond a cracked wall or studied pictures in order to discredit an hotel where ignorant managers and people that have families work hard everyday in order to satisfy our Guests.

Thank you,

Alberto C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    348
    136
    51
    39
See reviews for
145
641
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
twickenham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

this hotel is nice, but with a few tweaks it has the potential to be excellent. the food was adequate at breakfast, excellent at dinner. We felt that the customer service was lacking at reception particularly when we asked for some information it was a straight "don't know" rather than a "let me see what I can find out". Indeed, they appeared to have regular guests who they went out of their way to be friendly with, but did not try to develop potential new regulars by extending this friendliness to new guests. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly. I asked for a quiet room and the room was very nice, but unfortunately because it had no sound proofing it was noisy from other inconsiderate guests, whose voices we could hear quite late at night, doors were banged shut not closed properly (another guest told us they had the same problem in the main building) or dumping things on the floor which would make us jump, but we had ear plugs so we were able to overcome it had we not had earplugs it would have been a huge problem, obviously the hotel can't be blamed for guests lack of empathy for other guests, but the electricity generator was outside the balcony and that could be heard rumbling all night and there was a strong whiff of sewerage in the corridor, on the balcony and when you first went into the room. Having said all that we had a nice holiday the hotel is a bit out of sorrento, about a half hour walk first 10 minutes down a very steep hill, but there is a good shuttle bus service

Room Tip: ask to not be in room 601 and take earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliatwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

this hotel is living off its location. the views are truly amazing but nothing else is. the hotel staff were, in the main, not only unhelpful (e.g. watching me struggle on a daily basis onto hotel bus with pram, baby etc and never once offering to help) but rude in the extreme (waiter's reaction to me saying it was wasn't very good a hotel only had 1 high chair in the dining room was "it's not my hotel" and walking off....)
i paid for deluxe sea view - i got sea view. from what i understood from other guests there are big differences between rooms. hotel bus doesn't run between 610pm and 9pm and taxi to town 20 euros. nice pool. great views. dreadful food. horrendous staff. wouldn't go back again due to rude staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lsb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear Mrs / Mr lsb73,

Thank you for posting your point of view on Tripadvisor.

I personally remember the day when you came at the desk telling to our staff: "You're all so rude"! and I expecting to read this in a short time. And today this happened.

Honestly I have to say that a person that without any particular reason, comes to the reception saying that everybody in this hotel is rude, when the majority of our Guests never told this, makes me think that maybe it is not a problem of our Staff.

Every country has it's culture and way of acting, even if in the tourism industry this has to be something apart and the Staff makes all the efforts to be polite in the "standard" way, but I would like to say that every nation has different attitudes and manners. I will take really seriously your point of view and I will make sure all the Staff will be more sensible to the worlwide standard.

Best regards,

Alberto C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Another wonderful holiday in Sorrento at the Art Hotel Gran Paradiso (our sixth visit to this hotel – something must be right!). For the best views of Sorrento, Capri, Vesuvio and the Bay of Naples you can't beat it. And what also distinguishes this hotel is the relaxed atmosphere engendered by the owners (always on hand) and their marvelous staff.

Our room was kept spotless as always. In the dining room, we'd especially like to thank Michael and Nello who were unfailing in their attention; at the Pool Bar, Michael, Pepe, Vincenzo and Tina worked fantastically hard and elsewhere, it would be hard not to include in this roll call Mariano and Ruffalo for driving the courtesy bus and finally Salvatore, who uncomplainingly shifted luggage, cleaned the pool, repaired bits and pieces etc. and did everything else.

The evening meal was overall better than in previous years but was inconsistent in quality and size of portions. The Gala dinner was very disappointing although the live entertainment was good.

The hotel obviously welcomes families but the facilities are not ideal for children. It will appeal mostly to active adults and couples. It's location affords perfect views but necessitates navigating a very steep hill (hence the courtesy bus). Night owls beware – Sorrento taxis are expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We have just come back from a lovely week at the hotel, the food was excellent, small swimming pool not suitable for teenagers who think its fun to jump and dive. We had a room at the back that did overlook the olive trees but how often do you stop in the room, very clean and our room was made up by 9am every day, the only two criticisms are the bus it would be helpful if it ran till 11.30 to allow you to enjoy more of sorrento by night and the fact that we were a late checkout and no courtsey room was available, 19 of us were allocated 1 hour between 1 - 2 not good enough when it is 36degrees and you are not been picked up till 5. There are also no umbrellas by the pool and it is a complete suntrap. all the staff were polite and helpful we would certainly go back and would recommend to anyone who wanted good food, cleanliness and views and also the bar prices were generally matched local bars.

Room Tip: we had room 412 quite happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llamedosBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, General Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear Mr llamedosBirmingham,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and also for posting your point of view.

I would like to tell you that we do not provide umbrellas directly on the pool because the swimming pool is always too windy and umbrellas can be dangerous.

We do provide a "shade corner" on the left side of our terrace with umbrellas and sun chairs. This area is less windy.

I am so sorry to for not providing you a courtesy room during the time you were waiting to be picked up, but the hotel was fully booked.

I will try my best for next year to put a 11:30 bus in the evening.

I hope to see you again net year in Sorrento at Gran Paradiso.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We had picked the Paradiso from a travel brochure for it's fantastic view of the Bay of Naples, and were not disappointed. For a panorama like that, you're going to be up a steep hill, so I don't know why people don't think logically. They run a free shuttle bus down to the town throughout the day, but you will have a problem going for a stroll in the evening, unless you can cope with the 500metre ascent on your return walk. The food served was excellent,[buffet in the morning, waiter service in evening] so good that I would have liked to have procured a couple of recipes! The head waiter.[ Guiseppe] was a real gentleman with a style of service now sadly disappearing. Gentlemen, there is a dress code for the evening meal, in as much as you need to pack some long trousers and a couple of decent shirts!
Maid service on the rooms is daily, although there was no kettle/ tea/coffee facility in the rooms. We also found only two mains outlets, one had the TV plugged into it, the other an air freshner, so take a 1metre multi socket with you as well as an adaptor plug for your phone/battery chargers ect. Ladies, there is a' wired in' hair dryer in the bathroom
Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictorianGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We have been in Italy over 2 weeks and stayed at all 4 star hotels. This hotel has a 4 star pool, restaurant staff, view and 3 star everything else at best. Rooms are sparse and very small and basic but clean. The A/C went hot at night and never fixed for 3 nights after 3 daily requests. The lobby staff were cordial unless you asked too many questions for the exception of a few people who come in to fill in. We have been to 5 hotels thus far throat Italy and this one was the most disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrzsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear Mrs / Mr jrzsandiego,

Thank you very much for writing your point of vew regarding Art Hotel Gran Paradiso Sorrento.

Your opinion is gold for us.

The air conditioning stops when you open the balcony in order to respect the environment.

I am so sorry if the Reception Staff seemed to be not very exaustive, but believe me we do not make any difference between Guests.
I will try to do my best in order to avoid this problem.

Yours sincerely,

Albert C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Property: Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing