We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for our honeymoon,great hotel with great views over sorrento and bay of naples due to it being up a big hill,the hill is a bugger to walk up but there is a free bus service running very regularly from the hotel,our only criticismn was that the bus had no air-con which is much needed when you have 20+ people on board and its 32 degrees outside,we nicknamed the bus dante's bus after dante's inferno.. Other than that it was faultless. Tip.. The bus runs to sorrento town centre but if you want to go to saint agnello driver will drop off and pick up at big tree at the bottom of the hill if you ask.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slinkyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear slinkyball,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor.com.

We are planning also to renew our free shuttle bus service for next year with a brend new bus, but I can not assure it as do give priority to room refurbishments.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you to our hotel in the future with maybe a new bus, but always the same and unique driver!

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    367
    140
    51
    39
See reviews for
149
673
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Although when we arrived they had over booked, they gave us a meal and free bottle of wine before sending us to a hotel at the bottom of the hill . The next morning we were picked up and brought back, The waiters were second to none always happy smiling and often played jokes on each other. The evening meals weren't great but there was always something we could manage to eat, The room was spotless and had a cleaner every day. The hotel is situated high up please don't attempt to walk up the hill ,,,, we did ,,,, Hotel shuttle bus ran frequently into Sorrento and a nice way to meet other people,,, Recommended highly,, hire scooters and drive the Amalfi coast really safe and amazing views. Possitano is amazing but very steep remember if you walk down hill you have to walk back up, The reception staff at hotel were more than helpful so just ask them and they will be able to sort out all your trips.. The only down side was there is no entertainment in the evening and the shuttle bus does last pick up at 10.45 pm.Taxis are not that cheap around 15 euros from Sorrento to hotel, But overall great Hotel and amazing views from the pool terrace. Larina and David Marsh room 404

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larrinena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Larina and David,

Thank you very much for wrting about us, it is for us a very important point for our work.

I am So very sorry for the overbooking, but this has been caused by the damage of our server that unfortunately broke up in the middle of the season, we have provided with new one, but we had a lot of problems with the reservations. This is a proble that unfortunately we will have for the whole season but it will not happen again.

I am glad that you have enjoied our smily service even if maybe if not always you have enjoied our menues. We do use only the best brands and ingredients in order to reduce the Co2 consumption and the km 0 policy.

We do provide music twice a week: a classical piano bar on tuesdays and a dj set on sundays, I am sorry if you think that maybe there is not enough entertainment for your taste.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again next year in our hotel, together with our restaurant and reception staff.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I would like to thank all the staff for making our stay the most enjoyable, especially Alberto at the reception.
We booked a standard room, and even if we did not get a sea view, we have enjoyed our time in Sorrento. The pool was breathtaking and the restaurant by the pool was of a good quality and fresh ingredients.

Room Tip: the hotel itself is a good spot to relax and unwind after a day out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giorgia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear giorgiab,

Thank you for your kin comment, I hope to welcome you again in Sorrento in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the Gran Paradiso for a week at the end of May, and we couldn't have asked for more. The hotel is clean, spacious and has beautiful art everywhere you look, including an art gallery underneath the restaurant. Our room was lovely, bright and and comfortable, and when I asked if the two twin beds could be made into a double bed, the staff did this straight away with no hassle. The pool area is amazing, with breath taking views of the whole of the Bay of Naples, Vesuvius and Capri - the sunsets every night were stunning. The pool bar was great, as was the restaurant for our evening meals - we had a three course meal each night and the waiters were really lovely. The only slight, slight issue for some people may be that the hotel is half way up a mountain! It's a very steep and winding road that we quite enjoyed walking down, but walking up was tough (and we are two quite fit 25 year olds!). The hotel do, however, provide a free shuttle bus service from the hotel doors to the centre of Sorrento and back about 12 times a day. I've already started recommending this hotel to all my family and friends, and would return in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Our room was next to the stairwell, which was a little noisy sometimes, but it wasnt a big problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claremc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear claremc86,

Thank you so much for sharing your sensations on tripadvisor.com and for recomending it to your family and friends!

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We booked this hotel using our Avios (Airmiles) points, this may have been why we were shown to a room outside the main hotel building, below the pool, with the promised sea view hidden behind the grass bank outside. We complained immediately to the staff at reception who regrettably couldn't provide us with an alternative until the following day. The alternative was better, however being on the first floor directly above the main entrance did mean that it was quite noisy with the window open. The breakfast was ok, but keep clear of the waiters offer of coffee, the coffee from the machine at the buffet is much better. We can't comment on the evening meal as we tended to eat in Sorrento before catching the shuttle bus back up to the hotel. The shuttle bus is a Godsend at the hotel as it stands hish above San Agnello, and quite a walk down to Sorrento, let alone back up the hill. We were full of admiration for the bus driver who managed to negotiate the narrow lane down to San Agnello without hitting any of the parked cars, the side panels on the bus bear witness that it isn't always the case. The hotel, and the swimming pool in particular, has a superb panoramic view of the Bay of Naples fom Capri to Ischia, with Vesuvius looming in the distance. We flew with Easyjet from Bristol and due to it's late arrival in Naples didn't want to risk missing the last train from Naples to Sorrento. We booked our transfer with Giovanni of Johnny's Tours, great service and at €80 as cheap as we could find. We did however catch the airport bus back from Sorrento, much cheaper and a very good service.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alunwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Mrs/ Mr alunwyn,

Thank you very much for writing about us on tripadvisor.com.

I would like to tell you that the coffee served in the morning is freshly made everyday, but the machine serves also expressos made by grains instead of powder, to better suit all the tastes of our Guests.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

just returned from having a wonderful time at the gran paradiso. everything about this hotel was fantastic, the views overlooking the bay of naples is truely breathtaking,the room was very comfortable with a large balcony with sea views,the food and restaurant staff was 1st class. All staff were very friendly , we will definately return !
lisa & steve room 301 from portsmouth.

Room Tip: ask for superior sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear lisa & steve,

Thank you very much for your kind comments!

We will be waiting to welcome You again at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso!

Have a nice day,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Firstly i could complain about a few things in this hotel like other people but as i got this as part of a groupon deal we expected a few things to be out of place or not to get the best room. However we did not let this ruin our stay as we were hardly in our room and enjoying the beautiful sites and pool area.
Cleanliness excellent, bus service great. Taxis expensive if u miss the bus tho :-)
So relaxing but dont know if hotel/guests appreciated my top to toe tattooed boyfriend at evening dinner. Haha Plus we had to pay surcharge of 50€ each per day for food. We knew this as part of the deal but we didnt eat at the hotel as food was not great and still had to pay.
Overall though we had a wonderful time. Still recommended this hotel to other people as long as they get sea view room. Thankyou to everyone!
Janine and Ross. Room 415

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icecreamamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Icecreamamazing,

Thank you for sharing your point of view over our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

The 50 Euros paied per day are inclusive of breakfats and dinner as per the special package conditions. I am sorry if you did not like our food, that following our criterias are made by fresh ingredients and local products.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you and your boyfriend in the future at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,059 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,341 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Property: Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing