We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and stunning views!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and stunning views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is situated a little out of town high on the hill, so you get great views but is out of the way - not a problem if this is what you want :-)
There's a regular free shuttle bus do you can easily get too and from Sorrento.
The hotel is clean, rooms are nice although not huge - maybe worth an upgrade?
The staff are excellent as is the food :-))
If you want a quiet hotel with a view this is ideal!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Mr Gordon0504,

Thank you for your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    341
    133
    50
    38
See reviews for
145
625
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deinze, East-Flanders, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Before I start my review, it is important to know that we were coming from Parc Germano Suites in Bardolino prior to this hotel, and we stayed in Vis à Vis in Sestri Levante after this hotel. All hotels are rated 4*, but cannot be compared at all.
When arriving at the hotel, we found it a bit strange that the hotel has no bell boy service, especially since we read some comments from the manager that the hotel would like to become adults only next year - so a bit upscaling. But hey, that's not really a problem.
First impression : the view from the pool area is really breathtaking, the hotel is in the hills surrounding Sorrento and offers a spectacular panorama on the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.
We booked a standard room, and I advise you not to do so ... the rooms are in the back and offer a view on a wall, and are not even half the size of the frontal seaview deluxe rooms. Since we are a family with 2 children, we couldn't move around the room. Lucky for us, after a couple of days, the hotel was a bit less busy, and thanks to Massimo- the room manager- we got a frontal sea view deluxe room for our last three nights. Thank you again, Massimo !
The rooms are clean, but again some things are missing to make this a true 4* hotel : having 1 small bottle of shampoo and soap for a family of four during the whole stay ( 10 nights ), is something that does not even happen to you in a 2* IBIS or so ...
Breakfast is ok, decent choice of servings, although I missed fried eggs as an alternative to the scrambled eggs, and no fresh orange juice. If it is really too much work, then install a juicer and let the guests do it themselves ( like in Parc Germano Suites), or serve something like Tropicana, but do not serve that cheap stuff.
Lunch is actually quite good and reasonably priced!
Dinner in half board : could be better, although we got the impression that the last three-four days there was another chef in the kitchen ( it was better than the previous days) . The staff managed by Guiseppe and Salvatore however is excellent, super friendly and will help you as much as they can.
The swimming pool : really nice, enough sun beds (although some need to be replaced) , so except from a few Germans, nobody got up at 6 to 'reserve' a bed - I hate those people, btw-. BUT ... There are NO Sun Umbrella's ! Whilst everybody nowadays is aware of the risk of skin cancer from overexposure to the sun, it is very strange to see a hotel that deliberately does not have Sun Umbrella's ..
Animation : none, but the Shuttle service to Sorrento ( 8 times a day) is excellent.
Final conclusion : the Italian * rating system for hotels is strange. I have stayed in 4* hotels that are a lot worse than this hotel ( in Livorno ...), and in 4* hotels that should be rated 4*L, 5 or even 5*L and are by far superior to this one. So : this is not a bad hotel, the view is fantastic, the front rooms are very nice, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and it has a good value for your money. However, I would rate it rather a 3 - 3,5 * hotel.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate and book a frontal sea view suite ... The standard rooms are too small and need refu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConsiglioriWim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear ConsiglioriWim,

Thank you for your review and for your kind suggestions.

I would like to tell you that we do provide a bell boy service and also extra soap just by asking to the cleaning ladies or to the reception.

I am sorry If did not meet your expectations, for the next season we will work hard in order to ensure the best quality of service.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you agia in our hotel in order to show you the mentioned changes.

Best regards from Sorrento,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay, once we moved from the side room within two hours, which we had initially been allocated, to a beautiful sea view which we had paid for, we had a beautiful holiday. The staff were brilliant, we loved the food, it was really lovely. The bus shuttle was reliable and punctual. The hotel staff were very helpful, very polite and all you could expect. The head waiter and his team were always immaculate and giving a perfect service. We really loved our holiday and would recommend anyone staying in Sorrento to stay at Art Gran Pariidisio. Overall a fantastic holiday. We would be happy to wake up to the view for the rest of our lives. Beautiful. Really want to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Mrs Valerie B,

thank you for your kind comment.

Your satisfaction is our aim.

We hope to welcome you again at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso during your next visit to Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We went to the Amalfi Coast for our 25th wedding anniversary in June. This was our first hotel on the trip. I liked the hotel and the views - especially the views - but the views cost you time. This hotel is located off the beaten path (sits way up on a hillside) so to get to/from the town of Sorrento you have to take the hotel shuttle. Sounds good except the hotel does not accommodate your schedule, you have to be on their schedule. So if you're in town and miss the 6pm shuttle you either have to walk back to the hotel, take a cab (expensive) or wait for the 9:30pm shuttle (last one for the night). The staff are somewhat accommodating. I wouldn't say they would go out of their way for you. If you're not fussy and just want a nice quiet place with great views then this hotel is for you. I would suggest staying somewhere in town though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

i cannot understand why the view is not one of the wonders of the world, simply breathtaking. The room was kept squeaky clean by the staff, who tidied up after my 17yr twins everyday. The restaurant was run by the immaculate Giuseppe & his charming team. You do have to read the menus, which are on show because they do have to cater for a number of veried tastes. The only thing that was disappointing was the evening entertainment. it could be wonderful if they had a really good singer/band. As iit was, it was awful. but again you have to cater for different tastes. Ah one more thing take plenty of euro's very very expensive.
On the whole a truely relaxing holiday, would like to back for a christmas break, Sorrento at christmas, wow

Room Tip: go for the best & you will not be disappointed. the view phew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Mr Paul e,

Thank you for your kind review.

Your satisfaction is what matters for us.

We will try to improve our evening entertainment.

I hope to welcome you again in hotel Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We returned last week from 5 nights at the Art Hotel, the staff were very friendly, manager Mr, Massimo was extremely helpful. Food and restaurant staff excellent. Thank you all for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear lynshepherd,

Thank you for visiting us. I am glad you have enjoied you stay in Sorrento with us.

I hope to welcome You again in our hotel during your next visit in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have stayed at this fantastic hotel at least 10 times since 2004! And why do I return? Because I am assured of excellence in every respect. The staff are first class, helpful and attentive, and in fact, over the years have become friends. Many of the staff have been there during those 8 years, and always welcome me back with great warmth, and I feel at home immediately. The rooms are absolutely spotless, and the cleaning staff are wonderful and always helpful. The food just gets better and better, and is some of the best that I have eaten in Italy. And I live in Italy!! The views are superb and probably some of the best in the area.
The artwork is fantastic and is increasing year on year. Alberto has great vision in introducing the idea of making this an 'Art Hotel' - it is unique, and is a wonderful way of displaying the work of so many Italian artists. Every room has a piece of artwork in it, making every bedroom unique too. I am looking forward to returning to the hotel in a few days' time - just for a short stay, but I know it will be a happy one - as always. Many thanks to you Alberto for making it so great. You deserve success because of your sheer dedication and hard work. Christine Taylor

Room Tip: Phone the hotel to enquire about availability of certain room types
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pippa_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Pippa_taylor,

Thank you very much for your kin words.

It is a pleasure for me to see you in our hotel everytime.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Property: Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing