We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$679
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$448
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$218
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
US$244
US$192
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$312
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$522
US$434
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$533
US$449
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$390
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Aminta(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$320
US$309
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
522
386
156
58
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
386
156
58
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillshuttle bussea viewbay of naplespool areaevening mealhalf boardevery hourcliff facingamazing viewsrestaurant staffthomas cookhead waitershuttle servicelovely hotelreception staffour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2012

If you want a Hotel with a stunning view then you can't go past the Gran Paradiso. The hotel has a lovely pool & decking area which has to be seen to be believed. Because the hotel is somewhat isolated from the city of Sorrento it is important to recognise the wonderful outdoor facility this hotel possesses. You do spend a fair bit of time in this area as the pool is very inviting. Access to Sorrento is very well organised with the shuttle bus and it runs on time to the minute. The staff at this hotel are very well trained and courteous. I must say in the dining room you will never find any better anywhere. The rooms are quite spacious and are comfortable. I would add that they are a little 'tired' and an update should be considered in the future by management. The art throughout the facility is all very interesting and adds a lovely taste to the hotel. The gym area is fine for those interested and the equipment is in good order. Food and menu wise no complaints as there was plenty of variety at the evening meal. Breakfast was typical of the area and was 'par for the course'. The snack bar was sufficient but if travelling as a couple sharing is a good option as the snack meals served are quite large. Overall we spent six days there and really enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: A room at the front is a neccessity as it commands a beuatiful view over the Bay of Naples and surrounding areas.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigV_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear BigV_Germany,

Thank you for your kind and precise review about our hotel.

We are glad that you have enjoied your stay together with us.

We are renewing the hotel step by step, I hope that during your next stay in Sorrento, you will be able to see the changes.

With my best regards,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We travelled with Thomas Cook and arrived late but when we boarded the hotels own shuttle mini bus our holiday started. The people driving and loading our cases were efficient and friendly. Watch out for The Hood from Thunderbirds he can handle that bus.
When we arrived at the hotel Giuseppe and his team were waiting and wr were all made wecome with a cold platter and entertainment by the pool.
The rooms and food were great too. If you ever want to watch England go out of a competition watch them play Italy from the Gran Paradiso - what an atmosphere!
One last thing- wstch the sunsets.
GRAZIE MILLE Gran Paradiso from the Lee Family

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leefamily13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Leefamily13,

thank you for writing about us.

Grazie mille to you for booking your stay with, us we are glad that you have enjoied your holiday.
It is what really matters for us.

We hope to welcome you again during your next journey to Sorrento,

Yours sincerely,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at the Gran Paradiso at the end of July for two weeks and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although we were disappointed by the room we were first allocated on arrival (it was a bit small for a two week stay) the reception staff moved us as promised within 48 hours to a very pleasant room. All the staff at the Paradiso were extremely friendly and helpful - from the management to the cleaning ladies. The dining service was great: the Maitre, Giuseppe, and his number 2, Salvatore run a brilliant, happy dining room, where the food is excellent. Special mention too for the two great bar waitresses, whose names we never did discover, who always had a smile, in spite of some of the less than appreciative guests! The mini bus service to Sorrento was very good, and Mariano the driver is a star: not least for his patience with the parked cars on the road to the hotel. We would highly recommend the Gran Paradiso, and look forward to returning, especially if the hotel adopts an adults only policy. The hotel and pool are great, but not really appropriate for children in the 6 - 15 age range as there is little for them to do, and the pool should be a place to relax not to dodge the spray from dive-bombing children.
The view from the pool terrace over-looking the bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius is stunning.
Thank you to all the staff at the Gran Paradiso for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LavantRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear LavantRichard,

Thank you for spending you holiday with us.

Your satisfaction is the motivation for us.

I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

After a shaky start this hotel turned out to be somewhat of a gem. On arrival we were informed that they didn't have a room for us so we spent the first evening in another hotel (no charge to us), this of course was rather frustrating but I think it's fair to say we were well compensated. We were upgraded to a lovely room with absolutely stunning views and we were also given a complimentary meal at the hotel. The hotel pool is lovely and relaxing and again the views are out of this world. The hotel breakfast was ok and the lunch time snack menu was great (try the muscles) but the complimentary evening meal didn't exactly blow us away (Sorentto has great restaurants so worth going into town for dinner). Location wise the hotel isn't the most convenient place to access the town but it's worth the compromise for the views. It would be quite useful if the hotel added some more shuttle runs to town especially in the evenings (last one back is 11pm) as we ended up spending a fortune on taxis! Overall a great hotel for a relaxing break in Sorentto.

Room Tip: Ask for room 311 as the views are spectacular!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauzz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear lauzz1985,

Thank you for your kind review.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused on the first night.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is situated a little out of town high on the hill, so you get great views but is out of the way - not a problem if this is what you want :-)
There's a regular free shuttle bus do you can easily get too and from Sorrento.
The hotel is clean, rooms are nice although not huge - maybe worth an upgrade?
The staff are excellent as is the food :-))
If you want a quiet hotel with a view this is ideal!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Mr Gordon0504,

Thank you for your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews