We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$529
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$474
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$493
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$471
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$369
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$622
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$538
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$912
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$724
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$587
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$513
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,002
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$506
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$490
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,170)
Filter reviews
1,170 results
Traveller rating
528
389
156
58
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
389
156
58
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillshuttle bussea viewbay of naplespool areaevening mealhalf boardevery hourcliff facingamazing viewsrestaurant staffthomas cookhead waitershuttle servicelovely hotelreception staffour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 1,170 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel on our first ever trip to Italy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this friendly, comfortable hotel. The staff were great and the food was very good and during our 10 night stay we never had the same thing twice!! The views from the hotel were breathtaking and getting into Sorrento was easy thanks to the excellent shuttle bus available. Because of the location it was very quiet at night so no problems sleeping. We both agreed we would stay there again and look forward to returning!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazza1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Mrs/Mr mazza1111,

Thank you for staying at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, Sorrento.

It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoied your stay together with us.

We will look forward welcoming you again at our hotel during your next visit to Sorrento.

With my warmest regards,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. Before travelling, I had some concerns due to some negative reviews I had read but my worries were quashed as soon as we arrived at the Hotel. Reception staff and management were very welcoming and friendly.

We had booked 2 standard rooms at the Hotel but were offered the option to upgrade free of charge to superior sea view rooms on our arrival. This was due to a problem on one of the nights we were staying when they were short of rooms so they asked if we would all stay in one room for one night to help them out. This wasn’t a problem for us as we were family and once we saw the rooms and the view, we didn’t hesitate to help them out and take them up on their offer!

Our rooms were excellent, very comfortable and with a view to die for! I would definitely recommend you book a sea view room which has wonderful views over the Sorrento coast, Capri and Mount Vesuvius. Other guests told us that rooms at the back of the Hotel are much smaller with no view at all. Our room (127) was very big with a queen size bed, single bed and a triple sofa. The terrace was very large with 2 comfortable wicker chairs, a table and 2 loungers. The room was cleaned every morning to a very high standard and used towels were replaced daily. They also provide towels for the pool. Cleaning staff were extremely friendly and professional. Within the room was air conditioning, a mini bar and safe.

The Restaurant staff, lead by Head Waiter Giuseppe, are fantastic. They all made a huge fuss of our 8 year old son. Breakfast was buffet style with cereals, bread, toast, jams, fruit, yogurts, ham, salami, cheese, scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, cakes and biscuits. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, mineral water or fruit juices to drink. Dinner was 3 courses, with 4 choices of each including soup, salad, meat, fish, pasta and a vegetarian option. Not all the choices suited our son and Giuseppe was more than happy to offer him pasta and/or pizza as an alternative with a plentiful supply of parmesan!! A bottle of house wine was 10 Euros and other drinks were reasonably priced, cheaper than the bars/restaurants in Sorrento.

The free shuttle bus service is excellent. It runs to a regular timetable from 8am until 11pm, dropping and picking you up at the train station in Sorrento. This is essential due to the Hotel’s location at the top of a steep hill. It also took us to meet our bus for our trip on the Amalfi Drive and picked us up on our return.

This family run Hotel is quiet with entertainment only on one night during our visit, which was the evening of the Gala Dinner. Although our son thoroughly enjoyed himself, I wouldn’t recommend it as a hotel for children who get bored easily. There is only the swimming pool to keep them occupied and I would imagine this would be pretty busy during the main holiday season. Highlights for us were the breathtaking view from the hotel and the entire staff team, who did everything that we asked of them, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to book a sea view room!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Mrs Lisa B,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am glad that you have enjoied your stay with us.

Hoping to welcome You again in our hotel, I send you my warmest regards,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

A very good hotel, food excellent, service from waiters brilliant, Nelo especially. Please make sure this is mentioned to Nelo. all other amenities were also very good......an excellent accommodating hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarky2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear clarky2073,

Thank you for your kind review.

I have forwarded your message to Nello.

I hope to welcome you again in our hotel during your next visit in Sorrento Coast.

Best regards,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had room 310 and the views were fantastic over the swimming pool , the ocean , Sorrento and the mountains.
The Hotel is on top of a steep hill , easy to walk down to the town but we never tried to walk up to the Hotel , just caught the free shuttle service from the train station to the Hotel.
We were book as half board , the evening meals are very good but the Veg is a bit overdone for my liking. After 2 weeks the menu was looking a bit repeatitive also.
The Staff are the best bit about this Hotel from Reception , Bus Driver , Restaurant , Bar and Chambermaids , the staff were usually smiling and even singing at times.Did not meet anyone Surly.

Room Tip: You need a room with a view. Some rooms have NO VIEWS at all so be careful.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Ash099,

Thank you for staying at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso and for sharing your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to read that you have enjoied your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Just returned back home from staying at the Gran Paradiso and i have to say we are missing it already. We asked for side sea view rooms and even though our friends got exactly that,we on the other hand got room 212,which looked out over the whole of Sorrento and beyond,our friends were gutted (ha ha) but were still pleased with their room even if it was a bit on the small size(room 214).Being that the hotel was up a very steep hill,and you definitely need to make use of the free shuttle bus,you will love the views and that was why we booked this hotel in the first place. The staff were always pleasant ( especially the bar man,who we always had a laugh with,dont know his name but he lives out in the Lubusse area) nothing was to much trouble,and when we had to inform the reception that our shower head had come off my partner had only just returned to our room when the maintainance man was there to fix it. We had clean towels every day,and our room was always spotless.The food in the restaurant was always good( the soup gorgeous) and even if i thought there was'nt much choice what i did order i enjoyed. Would i recomend this hotel..... Definitely.

Room Tip: always ask for sea veiw or side veiw room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear liz b,

Thank you for recomending our hotel.

We are glad that you have enjoied your stay with us.

I hope together with Michele (the barman) to welcome you to Sorrento again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews