We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2012

can only echo previous guests comments about the views , my 1st time in sorrento and absolutely not the last purely stunning views from room 410( side sea view ) as for hotel : ive travelled extensively and stayed in better hotels but the welcome , sevice levels and housekeeping standards are second to none here , the hotel is kept immaculately clean the restaurant waiters totally attentive and michel and his bar team are great company all adds up to a great holiday , yes the art is a bit funky but not offensive in any way just another reason to avoid a mainstream tourista hotel ! the complimentary shuttle bus to town is great fun , how he gets that big merc bus up and down the hill is still beyond me ! walked up and down the hill a couple of times definately not for the faint hearted or infirm ! if i have a complaint its the whistle from the air con units above our room as we were on top floor and directly underneath them and the showers are very small but apparently these issues are both in hand and will be resolved before next season .these gripes are pretty irrelevent as we slept , showered , and got dressed in our room and thats all as we couldnt wait to get back to the food , drinks , views , walks ,and general ambience of the whole experience of gran paradiso and st agnello / sorrento in general . in short go there and experience it yourself you wont be dissapointed !

Room Tip: side sea view has both coast and mountain view , room 410 has largest outside terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clive w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear clive w,

Thank you for your kind words and suggestions.

I would like to tell you that we are processing the renovations of the showers on the 4th floor, it will be a pleasure for me to show it to You during your next visit at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, Sorrento.

With my best regards,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

I think it's all been said already about the location. Embrace it! The views are awesome and the bus service is great. We walked down a few times, but never up!
On arrival, with a 9pm check-in, staff were friendly and attentive. We weren't booked for dinner, but seeing we were tired, they offered, even though dining-room closing. (we didn't accept,but offer kind). We'd booked sea view and we were assured we had this.
Room 301 is a very small room with a side sea view, on the Sorrento (west) side and has a huge terrace (2 sun beds a sofa and coffee table). I think ok if you are sun worshippers with very light luggage, but we asked for a bigger room. Hotel full, so we arranged this the next day. All sorted in a few moments, it wasn't too much trouble. Thank you, Massimo! Room 213 on Saint Agnello (east) side. Small terrace and side sea view, but this time a view of Vesuvius too. Room very spacious and a much more modern decor. Double-size walk-in shower. It was perfect.
Breakfast good. We never had cooked items. Breads, yogurts, juices, coffee. Never used the machine coffee, always the pot brought to the table. Do get there well before 10am to ensure choices still available.
Particular characters i'll remember - the singing waiter, evening barman and of course the ginger cat!
I've dreamed of going to this region for years. This hotel was an ideal base and we'd choose it again in a heartbeat - if we get the bigger room!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank subzeronell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear subzeronell,

Thank you for your kind review and for telling that our hotel was a good base for visiting the area.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso during your next stay in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel on our first ever trip to Italy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this friendly, comfortable hotel. The staff were great and the food was very good and during our 10 night stay we never had the same thing twice!! The views from the hotel were breathtaking and getting into Sorrento was easy thanks to the excellent shuttle bus available. Because of the location it was very quiet at night so no problems sleeping. We both agreed we would stay there again and look forward to returning!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazza1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Mrs/Mr mazza1111,

Thank you for staying at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, Sorrento.

It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoied your stay together with us.

We will look forward welcoming you again at our hotel during your next visit to Sorrento.

With my warmest regards,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. Before travelling, I had some concerns due to some negative reviews I had read but my worries were quashed as soon as we arrived at the Hotel. Reception staff and management were very welcoming and friendly.

We had booked 2 standard rooms at the Hotel but were offered the option to upgrade free of charge to superior sea view rooms on our arrival. This was due to a problem on one of the nights we were staying when they were short of rooms so they asked if we would all stay in one room for one night to help them out. This wasn’t a problem for us as we were family and once we saw the rooms and the view, we didn’t hesitate to help them out and take them up on their offer!

Our rooms were excellent, very comfortable and with a view to die for! I would definitely recommend you book a sea view room which has wonderful views over the Sorrento coast, Capri and Mount Vesuvius. Other guests told us that rooms at the back of the Hotel are much smaller with no view at all. Our room (127) was very big with a queen size bed, single bed and a triple sofa. The terrace was very large with 2 comfortable wicker chairs, a table and 2 loungers. The room was cleaned every morning to a very high standard and used towels were replaced daily. They also provide towels for the pool. Cleaning staff were extremely friendly and professional. Within the room was air conditioning, a mini bar and safe.

The Restaurant staff, lead by Head Waiter Giuseppe, are fantastic. They all made a huge fuss of our 8 year old son. Breakfast was buffet style with cereals, bread, toast, jams, fruit, yogurts, ham, salami, cheese, scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, cakes and biscuits. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, mineral water or fruit juices to drink. Dinner was 3 courses, with 4 choices of each including soup, salad, meat, fish, pasta and a vegetarian option. Not all the choices suited our son and Giuseppe was more than happy to offer him pasta and/or pizza as an alternative with a plentiful supply of parmesan!! A bottle of house wine was 10 Euros and other drinks were reasonably priced, cheaper than the bars/restaurants in Sorrento.

The free shuttle bus service is excellent. It runs to a regular timetable from 8am until 11pm, dropping and picking you up at the train station in Sorrento. This is essential due to the Hotel’s location at the top of a steep hill. It also took us to meet our bus for our trip on the Amalfi Drive and picked us up on our return.

This family run Hotel is quiet with entertainment only on one night during our visit, which was the evening of the Gala Dinner. Although our son thoroughly enjoyed himself, I wouldn’t recommend it as a hotel for children who get bored easily. There is only the swimming pool to keep them occupied and I would imagine this would be pretty busy during the main holiday season. Highlights for us were the breathtaking view from the hotel and the entire staff team, who did everything that we asked of them, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to book a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Mrs Lisa B,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am glad that you have enjoied your stay with us.

Hoping to welcome You again in our hotel, I send you my warmest regards,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

A very good hotel, food excellent, service from waiters brilliant, Nelo especially. Please make sure this is mentioned to Nelo. all other amenities were also very good......an excellent accommodating hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarky2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear clarky2073,

Thank you for your kind review.

I have forwarded your message to Nello.

I hope to welcome you again in our hotel during your next visit in Sorrento Coast.

Best regards,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had room 310 and the views were fantastic over the swimming pool , the ocean , Sorrento and the mountains.
The Hotel is on top of a steep hill , easy to walk down to the town but we never tried to walk up to the Hotel , just caught the free shuttle service from the train station to the Hotel.
We were book as half board , the evening meals are very good but the Veg is a bit overdone for my liking. After 2 weeks the menu was looking a bit repeatitive also.
The Staff are the best bit about this Hotel from Reception , Bus Driver , Restaurant , Bar and Chambermaids , the staff were usually smiling and even singing at times.Did not meet anyone Surly.

Room Tip: You need a room with a view. Some rooms have NO VIEWS at all so be careful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Ash099,

Thank you for staying at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso and for sharing your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to read that you have enjoied your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Just returned back home from staying at the Gran Paradiso and i have to say we are missing it already. We asked for side sea view rooms and even though our friends got exactly that,we on the other hand got room 212,which looked out over the whole of Sorrento and beyond,our friends were gutted (ha ha) but were still pleased with their room even if it was a bit on the small size(room 214).Being that the hotel was up a very steep hill,and you definitely need to make use of the free shuttle bus,you will love the views and that was why we booked this hotel in the first place. The staff were always pleasant ( especially the bar man,who we always had a laugh with,dont know his name but he lives out in the Lubusse area) nothing was to much trouble,and when we had to inform the reception that our shower head had come off my partner had only just returned to our room when the maintainance man was there to fix it. We had clean towels every day,and our room was always spotless.The food in the restaurant was always good( the soup gorgeous) and even if i thought there was'nt much choice what i did order i enjoyed. Would i recomend this hotel..... Definitely.

Room Tip: always ask for sea veiw or side veiw room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear liz b,

Thank you for recomending our hotel.

We are glad that you have enjoied your stay with us.

I hope together with Michele (the barman) to welcome you to Sorrento again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
#62 of 100 in Sorrento
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £91 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing