We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you want from a holiday at a reasonable price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel - although it had been some ten years since our last visit and previously we had visited with our teenage children

We had high expectations as we had returned twice within three years previously as the children loved the hotel and the area. However it was time for a more relaxed and leisurely paced holiday as a couple and we were not to be disappointed.

Whilst the hotel was basically the same the pool area had been revamped and together with the superb views this area remains the highlight of the hotel. It was also pleasing to recognise so many faces amongst the staff despite the ten year gap in visits - Guiseppe and his team continue to run a well organised restaurant and the food is enjoyable albeit nothing fancy. Breakfast was good with a wide variety on offer and it was a joy to sit outside on the patio area both at breakfast and for evening meals as the views are spectacular. The Gala Dinner is very enjoyable especially with a nice reasonably priced bottle of Orvietto.

On our earlier visits we had a large family room with sea view and we were expecting to be facing the cliff on this occasion as we had not booked a sea view - however we were very pleased with our room which had a side sea view.

Whilst we love Sorrento itself it can get very busy and we would not wish to stay in the busy hustle bustle of the town centre. The Gran Paradiso is located a short distance out of town at the top of a hill which gives you the sense of space, fresh air and fabulous views towards Capri, Ischia and Vesuvius whilst looking down on the terracotta roofed buildings/churches of Sorrento and St Agnello - stunning!

If there was a disappointment during this visit it was the weather which changed after a heat wave giving us quite a bit of rain, however we still enjoyed a very relaxing break and will certainly visit again - hopefully without the ten year gap!

We were a bit surprised to learn that the hotel is to become 'child free' from 2013 as the staff were great with the children present during our visit and also with our 11 and 13 year olds when we previously visited.

Overall good value for money - a great base to explore the stunning Amalfi Coast and definitely well worth a visit as the hotel gives you a very warm welcome and delivered everything we wanted from a holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Huder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Mrs/Mr Huder,

Thank you for writing your opinion about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, Sorrento.

I am glad that you have enjoied Your stay with us again for the third time.

It is a pleasure for us to read that You are satisfied, this motivates our efforts in order to enhance the facilities year after year.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, during your next visit to Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
There are newer reviews for Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel as part of a wedding party. The location, although it does make for great views, isn't convenient. The hotel is at the very top of a huge hill with a winding narrow road leading up, which in the humidity isn't a leisurely stroll, not to mention risky, and on one occasion of torrential rain we were walking through a down flowing stream as we walked back to the hotel completely drenched!
The hotel does provide a shuttle service between there and the town centre, but these are fairly small with no air con and the ride is very bumpy!

The food at the hotel was great however, with a buffet at breakfast with a good choice of English and continental food. There wasn't a lot of variety for the evening meal, there would be a choice of two or three dishes, usually a pasta dish then a meat or fish dish, however they were all lovely and the portions were a good size.

The pool area was great with plenty of beds, nice views and a bar/snack area (which served decent food), however the pool never warmed up, even on the days we had a full day of hot sun. Our party barely did any swimming as the pool was always freezing, which was a bit of a downer, especially as quite a few in the party had children. The hotel wasn't child friendly at all, with no children's menu and only one high chair in the whole dining room that had to be shared! One of our party had to ask reception to change the travel cot they requested as it was dirty and torn and one had to be borrowed from another hotel.

All the staff were friendly enough, but we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BaboonandBabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest BaboonandBabu,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay.

I am sorry if You did not like the location of the hotel, which normally is a plus, far from the noise of the centre, with the possibility to enjoy the best view over the coast and also if you reputed that it is not child friendly.

In 2013, starting from May, the hotel will become an adult only hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for our first holiday together as a couple. Fantastic hotel tricky to get to so would advise planning in advance. Cannot fault the staff in the restaurant who worked tirelessly. Couldnt help to be relaxed and have a wonderful time. Did not have a room with a view, but had a lovely room with terrace and friendly Italian gentleman who said hello everyone morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineP2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear CarolineP2205,

Thank you very much for staying at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, Sorrento.

Your satisfaction is our pleasure, I hope to have the chance to welcome you again to our Hotel, during the next season.

Best Regards and Happy New Year,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We were about to visit the Ariana Villa in order to see the view from way up high when we came across a lovely hotel.
"Art Hotel Gran Paradiso".
Big smile for a warm welcome and great service !!!!!
Great upgrading for fair price .
Parking.
The view is - out of this world, breathtaking!!!!
Breakfast, in the Italian standards, better than other places.
The interior is very modest since they display works of artists in their premices
a great idea.
A shuttle to the center of the city by the hour.
And above all- so so pleasant, because of the people. Remember the name Vivyana.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayamendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Dear Mrs mayamendel,

Thank you very much for choosing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso for your stay in Sorrento and for writing about us.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel during your next visit in Sorrento area.

With our warmest regards,

Viviana and Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The staff are very welcoming, the hotel is very clean and the food is good. The bar menu is varied and fairly priced. The shuttle bus is a life saver, we made it up the hill and decided never to do it again! They even picked us up after one of day trips. The only thing I would say is the pool should be heated!! If you do decide to stay say hello to the ginger cat who likes to try and sneak in during dinner for us!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest Chloe M,

Thank you for your kind review and for staying at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, Sorrento.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel during your next visit to Sorrento.

With my warmest regards,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We chose the gran paradiso over other hotels for its views, knowing that other central hotels wouldnt have such easy access to the sunsets and views.

What you gain in views you sacrifice in location. The hotel is not close to the town centre and up a hill. There is a fairly regular bus service that ships you around but this doesnt run in the early afternoon and after 11pm. So if you miss the 1pm one or stay out later than 11pm you're left with an expensive taxi fare or a walk back.

I walked up the hill 4 times and back from town once. The walk up the hill isnt that bad (but I am a relatively fit 31 year old) but i didnt enjoy the walk back form town at all. The pavement was narrow, cars and scooters were noisy and whizzed by and the road just seemed to go on and on.

So anyone wanting to stay out in sorrento past 11pm would need to steer clear of this hotel.

On the plus the terrace by the pool and views at night were ample company and I didnt feel like I missed out on much by not being in sorrento every night.

The hotel itself is a bit past its best, the exterior is a bit odd, and elements of the rooms and decor need modernising. It seems that rather than re decorating the whole hotel and bringing it upto date, they instead chose this "Patron of the Local Arts" tag and stuck modern art everywhere. It still means you have out of date furniture and decor in your rooms. But to be honest I am not bothered by stuff like that, my room was clean and tidied well so I was happy.

In our opinions, given the hotels great views, the hotel would be made amazing by spending some serious money modernising it all and making it feel quite special.

The pool area was very nice, amazing views and well kept. It was very nice wathcing the sun go down in the distance over a bottle of local prosecco.

As I say above the hotel was clean and tidy in all areas. The staff were helpful and smiled, (most of the time!) - the waiters too were pleasant. The food was fine considering it was made en-mass. It sometimes looked at a bit 'slop' ish but I thought it was always tasty. The menu choice was good and service was always quick and efficient. Breakfast was good too - selection of meats and cheese, yoghurts, eggs and bacon, toast and james cerals and patries. Plus their brewed coffee was to die for. I don't drink coffee in England coz its mostly freeze dried crap or weak and overpriced - but the stuff they served was amazing!

Overall I like the fact that they made an effort with everything. Its not a 4 star hotel by the standards you expect in England, its more a 3 star hotel - but anyone who has been abroad on a package deal knows that these gradings are a little generous.

If we came back to sorrento we would happily stay here again. The views and peaceful, location far outweighed the negatives.

If the hotel was within walking distance to sorrento it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lju00dt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear lju00dt,

Thank you for staying at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso and for sharing your opinions about your stay.

I am sorry if our shuttle bus s ervice did not suit Your expectations, it has been studied to match the need of our Guests (trains etc.).

I would like to inform you that apart form the art exposition the changes every year, we are renewing step by step the hotel decor and interiors and also the room bathrooms, but the renovations take place in wintertime as during that period the hotel is closed for this reason.

I hope that during your next stay togheter with us, we will be able to rise Your perception.

I hope to welcome you again very soon at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I have just returned from the Grand Paradiso hotel Sorrento, after spending what can only be described as a perfect weeks holiday.
The hotels location is perfect, high on a mountainside with extensive views over the town and out over the Bay of Naples.
The hotel is ver well run, the staff are extremely pleasent and very helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The food is good and well presented, and always a good choice of menue. The rooms are spacious and and the whole hotel is very clean. I would certainly have no problem in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms on three sides all have excellent views, I travelled with seven friends and between us we...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Harry L,

Thank you for staying at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

It is a pleasure for me and all the Team to read that You have enjoied your stay with us, this is the most important for us.

I hope to welcome You again in our hotel during your next visit in Sorrento.

Best regards,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,388 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,328 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £99 - £771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing