We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here for ten days. Our room had plenty of storage space, a wonderful view from our terrace, was quiet and the maid service was great. The food was superb, did not repeat a dish in 10 days, the service was prompt, efficient and very friendly staff. The views must be among the best in Sorrento. The sunsets were wonderful. The shuttle bus was useful although it stopped at eleven so we walked up the hill a few times. We also met others in the hotel and shared taxis back when we couldn't face the climb. The trade off for the views was worth it. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, a great holiday made special by the wonderful views and staff. Thank you everyone at the Gran Paridiso

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christinamylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest christinamylo,

Thank you for choosing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso for your 10 days stay in Sorrento.

I would like also to thank you for recomending the hotel and hope to welcome you again in Sorrento soon.

Best regards,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    341
    133
    50
    38
See reviews for
145
625
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Really enjoyed our holiday at the Gran Paradiso. We thought the food was really good with excellent service - no waiting for tables - no waiting for food and drink and a good menu.
Managed to eat alfresco on three mornings - wish we could have done this everyday.
Great views from the rooms - watched the fireworks over Sorrento most evenings.
One of the plus points for the hotel was the mix of guests, lovely to meet people from different countries - we met some delightful people from Belgium and the USA.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiealice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest Rosiealice,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you have enjoied the food, the menues and the athmosphere of the hotel.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Sorrento very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Nice hotel. Room standards quite typical of Italian hotels. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The views were stunning - well worth upgrading to a sea view room. The pool area was lovely. I would usually choose to stay in a more central location but I think it is worth being outside of central Sorrento for the fantastic views from this hotel. The hotel offers a bus service into Sorrento which was really handy. If you miss the bus (or want to stay out a little later in the evening) the walk back to the hotel is do-able but not for the faint hearted! We only ate at the hotel one evening - the food was nice enough. Overall, a lovely hotel and a great holiday. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tandeontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest tandeontour,

Thank you very much for choosing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso for your stay in Sorrento.

I would like also to thank you for recomending the hotel as a base to explore Sorrento Coast.

I hope to welcome you again in our hotel at your earliest convenience.

Best regards,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have just returned from 10 days and I cant praise this hotel highly enough. The staff are wonderful, extremely friendly and go out of their way to ensure you are having a great time. The hotel itself is immaculate, clean and modern. The views from the pool are amazing and are worth staying here for alone. This does mean that the hotel is located high up on a hill side but the hotel offers a regular shuttle bus into Sorrento throughout the day and until 11pm which was ideal for us as we regularly went into town of an evening after dinner. The food is of a very high standard and is further complimented by the outstanding waiter service. I wouldnt hesitate in returning to this hotel and we are already planning to for an anniversary in the future.

Room Tip: They do offer an upgrade service but we were so satisfied with our room we declined.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest Sara A,

Thank you for choosing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso for Your Honeymoon.

We are glad you have enjoied your sty with us.

We hope to welcome you again in Sorrento soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

What a superb hotel, with excellent staff, all the way through from receptionists, to waiters, cleaners and, most definitely the bus driver Mariano, who has the patience of a saint dealing with the local traffic.
We have just come back from a 10 day stay and were amazed every day with the views of Naples Bay from the balcony and poolside, including some awesome sunsets.
As other reviewers have commented, the courtesy bus service is great for dropping you off in the bus centre, with immediate access also to the Circumvesuviana train station, for those important trips to Pompei, Herculaneum and Naples, which are cheap on the train.Naples return is only 8.20 euros and Pompei return is 4.40 euros.
A super trip is on the open-top red bus from the bus station, which goes off up into the hills, through some lovely villages and you can hop off for a wander and catch a later bus for the return.
Do not miss a visit to the old church in Sorrento, along the "shopping street", it really is very beautiful and a credit to the craftsmen of a bygone era.
What I would say is not to hesitate to ask at reception for advice on local trips, or information, because the reception staff could not be more helpful. This also goes for any problems or services that you require help on in the hotel itself, again because all members of the staff go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Sorrento area.

Room Tip: Definitely a front balcony, 1st floor are enormous, 2nd floor more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest Robert L,

Thank you very much for choosing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso for Your stay in Sorrento.

I would like to thank You for reviewing your stay with us.

Your satisfaction is our motivation.

Best regards,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This adult only hotel caters well for it's clients. The view from the sea view balconies are worth the upgrade fee but if you choose not to you still have trult awesome views from the pool area. The view comes at a price....you are high up, the hotel supplies a courtesy bus that runs very regularly, but if you feel the need for a taxi it will cost 22€ one way.
Because the courtesy bus drops you at the station you are a short walk from piazzo tasso and both marinas.
From where you get dropped off the local sita bus goes to amalfi along the amalfi coast drive and the tiket cost is €7.50 to ride all day....a fraction of what the tour companies charge. From amalfi you can if you wish pay for a ticket and get a boat back to sorrento via positano. Great day out organised youself at a fraction of what tour company will charge. Same for capri...get a boat from sorrentos marino piccolo over to capri then either the local bus or funicular up to the town . The hotel receptionists have timetables and maps but you do need to ask.
Would be nice if they popped them in a little welcome pack.
At the hotel the food and drinks are a little pricier than in sorrento.
The waiters in the hotel are really great and it is thier service and attention that makes mealtime special.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel for the views, the cleanliness and the attentive staff.

Room Tip: Get a full sea view even if you have to pay extra there are some that face cliffs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Mrs/Mr karryn,

Thank you for your kind review and recomendations.

We hope to welcome You again in Sorrento at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

A very pleasant stay, high up over Sorrento with fantastic views. Service from reception was very good as was the service in the dining room, in fact the service throughout our stay was perfect. The food served up was to a good standard, breakfast was self service, dinner being waiter service, there did seem to be a bit of portion control but I have to admit, I never left the dining room hungry. The room we had was not in the hotel, we were taken out to the pool area and then down into the bowels of the earth under the sun terrace by the pool, room 603 a good sized room possibly even be called a small suite showing some signs of its age, with a good sized bathroom and terrace with table and chairs and two deck chairs. The only downside was when you were on the terrace you were looked over by the guests on the sun terrace. Overall a very good stay in a very nice hotel. Do not miss the bus on the way back, the hotel is up a very big hill, pleasant walk down but after a long day a walk back that you would not want to do. One last mention, we were met from our taxi by a little man who would not let me carry one of my own bags, I think his name must have been Hercules he carried both bags to our room with no problem.

Room Tip: Room on the front, or 603
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBigdutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest TheBigdutchman,

Thank you for choosing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso for Your stay in Sorrento.

We hope to welcome You again very soon!

Sincerely Yours,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,949 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Property: Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing