We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,244)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveller rating
555
419
166
60
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
555
419
166
60
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillshuttle bussea viewbay of naplespool areahalf boardevening mealevery houramazing viewscliff facinglovely hotelrestaurant staffreception staffshuttle servicehead waiterour honeymoonalways on time
Filter
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2008

I have never written a review for trip advisor before but having read some previous reviews felt that I had to do so. I went to the Gran Paradiso this year for the second time and it was even better than the first time two years ago.

The hotel is spotlessly clean with rooms being cleaned and towels changed every day. The food is excellent, but Italian breakfasts generally are not what we have here in the Uk. There is no fried breakfast, but a good continental style breakfast with a choice of cereals, breads, cold meats etc. The dinner is excellent, the first course is a self service salad choice, the second course is a choice of two pasta dishes, risotto or gnocchi, a creamy soup, consomme and a vegetarian option. Similarly there are at least five courses to choose as a main. The dessert is either cake, fresh fruit, ice cream or cheese and biscuits and our party of five enjoyed each meal. Apart from the salad course it is all waiter service and Guiseppe and his team of waiters were really friendly, efficient and attentive. The gala dinner held each Tuesday is great fun.

The bar area is pleasant and well stocked and Michele, Nella and Guisseppe ensure that all guests are well looked after. They also serve the lunches on the terrace. However if you would like to visit Sorrento the a courtest bus runs several times a day. Additionally if you book an excursion that does not coincide with the times of the bus, then the bus will come down to pick you up, Mariano's driving skills and patience are awesome.

If you are looking for a lively holiday then the gran paradiso and maybe Sorrento is not for you. The only entertainment is a rather cheesy singer twice a week who is nonetheless really entertaining with a wide repetoire of songs. So, if you are looking for a relaxing, quiet holiday being well looked after, with excellent food and wine and fantastic views then it certainly is.

Our party consisted of two fourty year olds, two twenty year olds and a teenager and we are all looking forward to booking again for next year.

The Gran Paradiso is the most relaxing hotel that we have ever stayed at and would not hesitate to recommend it to those who want to get away from it all. If your idea of heaven Playa de las Americas or Benidorm then it is certainly not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LadySharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

stayed at the Gran Paradiso Hotel in May, 2008. It was a very relaxing experience.
This hotel had everything you can ask for. It has a very wonderful view i ever seen.
The staff is friendly and willing to answer all of your questions. The rooms are clean and fresh and the chambermaids were there to assist you for every need. The beds are very comfortable, and they give you plenty of pillows.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank adasmith80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

This hotel is amazing, the views are stunning and the food is authentic and beautfully prepared. If anyone from the hotel staff reads this I would just like to say a huge thank you for making our holiday so special. Sorrento, and indeed Italy, is a beautiful place and the staff at the hotel complement this. Giuseppe, the head waiter, was charming and a true gentlemen. He made us feel very at ease and treated us with courtesy and politeness, so it's worth going just for him! All the staff were a delight and we will definitely be back in the very near future!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank UKAmyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

Just returned from a family trip to Italy which included 3 nights stay at the Gran Paradiso
The staff were very accommodating and offered personalized attention and care. They worked with our local tour agent and helped with transfers and tour arrangements. They were very courteous and friendly in all of our exchanges. The rooms on the sea side are awesome with beautiful and picturesque vistas. The shuttle to the city center was reliable and continental breakfast service was very good. It is a bit out of the way of the city center -which I felt was a good thing but, that's not for every one. I would definitely return to the Gran Paradiso.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NYCgal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful stay at the Gran Paradiso Hotel near Sorrento. I also must admit I also was a little concern about the reviews. However, I also know that working in the service industry, that some people are never satisfied no matter what. The first day we arrived, we were checked in promptly and the staff was very gracious and warm. Our room was right over the pool and we could look out at the sea from our bedroom. Our stay was booked through Cosmos and there were about 20 people in our group. Every day when we went to breakfast and dinner, the staff was very friendly, professional, as well as funny. The dinners were fine, but I did get a little tired of the same breakfast everyday. However, it was a budget tour and we could not complain. Nevertheless, the staff here was wonderful. They made my husband and I feel like we were celebrities. They always went out of there way to see that we were happy with our accommodations and that our stay was enjoyable.

We would would like to give special acknowledgment to the staff in particular: Georgio, who was always there to answer any questions that we had. Giuseppe, who is the epitome of a excellent host. Conchetta, who made who always did wonderful job with keeping our room comfortable and clean. She even brought our clothes inside that we washed one day, so that it they would not get wet from the rain. She is a real sweetheart and to her I say "Ciao." And last but not least , we would like to thank our wonderful waiter, Alessandro. He continuously asked us if everything was fine and always made us feel special every time time we sat down for our meal. Charming and very sincere, he and the other staff made our stay in Sorrento a beautiful experience. We would also like to give a special thanks to the driver of the shuttle. We are sorry that we did not get your name, but my husband and I always made sure that we let him know that we appreciated him picking us up on time everyday.

To the people who did not like their stay, and said that the staff was rude, you might want to take a look at yourselves. We've heard the way how some of the staff was spoken to and treated. These people are trying to make a living a take care of their families like everyone else. Sometimes tourist think that the can say or do anything they want because they are spending their money. When that happens then you will occasionally get someone who is not going tolerate being treated like a second class citizen. We have found that in our travels and simple "Ciao", "Grazie." and a smile will go a long way.

Oneita Evans and Zack McKinney, Los Angeles, CA.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lagirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews