We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff were pleasant and always helpful. Everything was clean in our room and around the hotel. The views are fantastic. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. We also had our evening meals there and enjoyed them. Shuttle bus was handy although it is a nice walk into Sorrento. We would stay at this hotel again if we visit Sorrento,
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a sea view and it was a spectacular view over the bay, Really worth watching the sunset from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest Christine G ,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you found the hotel clean and that the breakfast and dinner were good.

I hope to welcome you again at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso,

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    343
    133
    50
    38
See reviews for
145
628
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dingle, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Lovely hotel, only downfall was the distance from the town however they do provide a free shuttle bus up until 11pm, after that you will be required to get a taxi which can be 20euro. It still is a beautiful hotel with a brilliant view and lovely rooms, and I highly recommended it especially because very reasonably priced. If, like us, you intend on staying out late a lot of nights then maybe something closer to town would be needed. Other than that we had no fault with the place, staff extremely nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhanmconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Valued Sab187,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you found the hotel lovely and the staff nice and welcoming.

I hope to welcome you again at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso,

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here in September, had a fantastic time loved everything about the hotel, this was for our 25th Wedding Anniversary.
We had a Standard Sea-View Room 104, which was amazing! The room was very modern with a King-size bed that was so comfortable. The room also had a flat-screen television, along with a dressing table & chair although not a huge room we found it sufficient for our stay. The Shower room had a lovely spacious shower with complimentary toiletries and slippers. Balcony was more than big enough for two to sit out on in the evenings with amazing views.
Everyday our room was cleaned to an outstanding standard with clean towels daily they even provide your pool towels, the cleaning staff at other hotels we have been to could do with tips from the staff here the best I have found in a hotel top marks.
The Hotel is very high up but then that’s why you have the wonderful views, it is walk-able mind, and we walked up and down a number of times with no trouble just take it slowly, and avoid late at night if poss as its very dark. The shuttle bus is very good the driver really knows the roads first class driving on the tight roads. On arrival you are given the shuttle pick up and drop off times its also tells you where to pick it up on your return trip this differs in the daytime and evening. If you decide to walk into Sorrento as we did many times its about a 10-20 min walk depending how fast a walker you are. The roads are narrow but it’s an easy and pleasant walk. Sorrento is lovely with plenty of restaurants, it comes alive at night with markets and street entertainers and shops open till late. We loved Sorrento and loved the hotel.

To sum up a great hotel, great staff Lovely City what more could you want.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest sid13,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay with us.

We really hope to welcome You again in our hotel during your next stay in Sorrento.

Best regards,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

The view of the Bay of Naples from the pool/bar area is extraordinary, helped with the position of the hotel being up a hill. There is a regular shuttle bus available if you don't fancy the walk up it, but the descent to Sorrento is easy and about 20 minutes at a leisurely pace, although not particularly scenic!

The food available is excellent and we were always satisfied with the variety and quality of the menu. The drinks are a little over-priced, with the position of the hotel ensuring a captive market, but comparable with Sorrento town centre.

The pride taken in the communal areas of the hotel shows and everything is of top quality, making you feel that bit special. The room we were allocated did not have a view of the bay, which was unfortunate, but the biggest disappointment was the room itself. Although the art work was novel, the furnishings were poor; wifi coverage - although free when available - was patchy, and the bathroom a major let down. It was dark and dingy, the shower cubicle was tiny and the doors were broken, and the whole room was overdue a refurbishment to bring it to an acceptable standard. If it wasn't for the poor quality of the room - brought in to sharper contrast with the quality of the rest of the hotel - the stay would have been perfect and received five stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Valued Sab187,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay with us.

We are so glad to read that you found the views fantastic,that the food was excellent and that the comunal areas made you feel good.

However I am so sorry to read that You did not like the room You were allocated; I do apologise if you found the bathroom dark, we are renewing more rooms for next year, and we hope to have an other chance in order to give us a better rate on tripadvisor.

I really hope to welcome You again in our hotel during your next stay in Sorrento.

Best regards and happy new year!

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

After spending 2 nights in Rome, the idea was to come and relax in Sorrento, and take in the scenic view of the Almalfi coast. It was our first time opting for a boutique hotel, having read the previous good reviews of this hotel, and managing to snap up a good deal on the hotel from booking.com. The prices direct seemed extortionate so I was pleasantly surprised with the price I got. I realised the rooms I had booked were not sea view so I sent a speculative email direct to the hotel, enquiring on how much an upgrade to sea view would be. The response was a very reasonable surcharge so I pressed ahead and booked superior sea view, and I was not disappointed.

The rooms were comfortable, clean, interesting decor, and had very large spacious rooftop terraces with stunning views of the pool and sea.
The ensuite was ok, the shower not particularly powerful but I guess that was to be expected from an eco friendly hotel.

Breakfast was a decent choice between hot and cold options. Always better to go early to get a seat on the terrace to enjoy the incredible view whilst eating.

There is a large infinity like type pool with plenty of sun loungers to chill out on the terrace.

There are also spa facilities which my sisters used and enjoyed.

The free hourly shuttle bus down into Sorrento is much needed facility, such is the location of the hotel. There is a very thin, steep and winding road up to the hotel, and I do not recommend anyone to opt to walk up and down when leaving and entering the hotel.

Sorrento itself is a nice town, thought a lot more traffic then I expected, and in the peak of summer you do get fume type smells as you venture through the town.
If you are travelling from Rome, I highly recommend the Metro bus which takes about 3-4 hours direct from Rome into Sorrento. This is the most convenient method of travel. We decided to take a cheap train into Naples and then jump the London tube equivalent for the last leg of the journey - not recommended when travelling with large suitcases!

All in all, a good hotel, with unparalleled views, and located above the hustle and bustle of Sorrento.

Room Tip: Get sea view rooms if on special deal. Though if not on special deal, probably not worth the extensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sab187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Valued Sab187,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you found the views fantastic,that the pool was comfortable and that hotel was far form the hustle and bustle of the town.

I hope to welcome you again at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso,

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Lovely hotel at the top of steep hill. Don't be put off by the location, though its a steep walk, its worth it. The views are fantastic. Staff very friendly and helpful. The pool was pretty cool though.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest Greg W,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you found the views fantstic, that the Staff was very friendly and helpful and that the hill was not a problem.

I hope to welcome you again at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso,

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne Dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Sorry its the good, the bad, No ugly !! i am pleased to say ! the good points are these the position,
stunning views across the Naples bay, the staff all of them down to a man & women are superb.
plentiful sunbeds, good bar service .
the bad, room was small problem with the shower which was fixed, beware the walls are all paper thin you can hear everything , and i do mean everything !!. the seating around the bar area need 's cushions the seats are metal and very hard. we agree with other reviews the food quality is good, but not the quantity, also choice is very poor. breakfast is not brilliant if you want lots of choice, well you need to go to hotels, in Crete,Rhodes or Cyprus to see how it should be done. first night i ordered a fillet of pork & vegetables, the pork arrived with 2 yes !! 2 hand cut chips & a small spoonful of cauliflower. so i waited for the dish of vegetables to arrive , but they never did , indeed on any night, i am sorry but if you are on slimming world or weight watchers you will be fine!!, sad to say we had to go to Sorrento to get filled up.please don't get me wrong i am no glutton, but there small and there's small. the walk to the hotel is very steep and indeed very dangerous, the bus service is good but for us the hotel was too far away from the centre , and i am sorry to say its a good 3 star not a 4 star. if you want to just sit and sunbathe, great, but beware. 2 must do's are Pompei & Capri both trip were quite amazing .

Room Tip: get a room on the front overlooking the bay .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulbennett55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest paulbennett55,

Thank you very much for writing a review on tripadvisor.

We are sorry to read that you did not like the room, the food and also the seating around the pool.

We hope to have an other chance in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Property: Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing