We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A picturesque, relaxing, perfect setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A picturesque, relaxing, perfect setting”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My girlfriend spent a week here with her best friend last year and after speaking so highly of the place, we decided to choose it for our first proper holiday together (it also coincided with our one-year anniversary). And what an incredibly special place to spend our anniversary. The views are just breathtaking, the environment relaxing and the service excellent.
Although there is plenty to see in Sorrento and the surrounding areas, it is at times very difficult to remove yourself from the pool area - especially with such a stunning views on offer from its elevated position overlooking the bay of Naples.
What's more, it is well worth getting to dinner reasonably early to secure a seat outside and witness the beautiful sunset - words can't describe it. The terrace is situated perfectly for this.
The service at the hotel was excellent. The reception staff couldn't do enough for us, while the restaurant and bar staff - especially the charismatic Giuseppe - we're very friendly and efficient.
Although the buffet breakfast is modest, the lunch menu offers plenty of tasty options. We also too found the three-course dinner menus to be satisfactory although on several occasions we chose to dine out in Sorrento for a bit more variety.
The only minor complaint I would have with this hotel is the lack of double bed in the room - instead we had two single beds pushed together.
The shuttle bus service into the town was very efficient and also extremely necessary given the steep hill that the hotel is situated on. However, make sure you find out the exact return times and locations (return pick-up is different in the evening). If you miss the shuttle bus, cab drivers will sting you to the tune of €20 for what amounts to little more than a five-minute journey.
The picturesque views and overall vibe of this hotel have left a lasting impression on myself and my girlfriend - so much so that we could imagine staying anywhere else if we return to Sorrento.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest Dan H,

I would like Thank you for your kind and passionate review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

Your description of the stay, gives us the motivation to continue our efforts in order to provide a good service and a good hotel for our Guests.

We really hope to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    359
    137
    51
    39
See reviews for
147
662
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a great hotel to wind down and relax. What you get is a slightly out of town - 25 mins to walk in, wouldn't attempt to walk back due to the steep hill - but they have a regular shuttle bus, just wish it ran more often in the evening. We booked through Thomas Cook, flying from Manchester, and were unable to book a superior room through them, but could book a sea view room. The room was quite small but had a big balcony - 2 sun loungers and a patio type table and settee - and a great view of Sorrento and out to Capri. You get free (slow) wifi, safe and pool towels. From talking to other guests, the rooms do vary in size.The room was kept clean and towels regularly changed during our stay. Double bed was 2 singles pushed together but they were very comfy. The food was good, served in a spacious restaurant with great views across the bay. Breakfast was buffet style with a wide range of hot and cold options. The evening meal was waiter service with a choice of 4 starters, 4 main courses and 4 desserts and the quality was good to very good. This hotels greatest assets are the stunning view over the Bay of Naples. When lounging around the pool you have a fantastic scene from Vesuvius through to Capri. Its other asset is its staff who are, with the exception of the miserable pool attendant, the best we've come across. The reception are friendly and most helpful but its the restaurant and bar staff who make you feel like their favourite guest. You were all fantastic but special thanks to Giovanni, charm personified and Cero, just seemed to click with him. I would agree that some form of entertainment would be appreciated but it couldn't detract from this being a great place to stay in a beautiful part of Italy.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room, preferably a superior one. Do not book any trips through your rep. as the pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark2gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest mark2wen,

I would like Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay with us.

We really hope to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Myself and my partner had a very nice stay here last week. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The positives were that the room we were in was very good, seaview and very clean. The view from the pool was truly stunning.
We paid for half board and we really wish we had not bothered as the evening food was 2 star at best, bland and poor quality. We ate their 3 times only due to the fact that we got back late from trips on 2 occasions and had no choice. Food a million times better in Sorrento and more choice.
Good shuttle service down and back from town and entertaining it is too, but the times need to be altered.
As has been previously said, it needs some sort of entertainment on an evening as there is nothing going on at all.
Overall, a nice hotel, but we will probably stay elsewhere the next time we visit.

Room Tip: Pay for a Sea view...............absolute must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest Barry M,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and also for telling all the good parts of the hotel: room, location and views.

However what makes us very sorry, is to read that you did not enjoy the food and also that you were unable to have dinner as You were late due to the late arrival from the trips.

The restaurant opening times for dinner is from 7pm to 9:30pm and it is well mentioned in all public areas.

We will in any case take into serious consideration the low score for the food and will personally speack with our Chef in order to understand what to improve.

Thank you for your precious comment.

Best regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Myself and my partner had a fabulous first holiday to Italy. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent and quite varied. The hotel has a lovely pool, and amazing views over sorrento and mount vesuvius. The rooms did seem to vary somewhat in size, but were well equipped, and very clean (as was the rest of the hotel). Due to its high location, the walk from town is quite difficult, but fairly regular free shuttle buses are available. Sorrento and the Amalfi coast are beautiful, with plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gems_ingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest gems_ingl,

I would like Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay and that the rooms were clean and well equipped, that the food was excellent and varied, that Staff was friendly and helpful.

We really hope to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a week staying at Gran Paradiso. On the plus side we found the hotel very clean and the staff were generally friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable although our double room had 2 singles pushed together with separate single duvets.
The pool area has fabulous views over Sorrento and the Bay of Naples - a great place to relax. The views are so good because of the elevated position of the hotel up a steep hill. We're used to walking but weren't prepared to climb the hill so relied on the shuttle bus to collect us from the town centre. This runs almost hourly during the day but only twice after 6.30pm so restricts evening plans, the buses back up are at 9pm and 11pm.
Breakfast in the hotel was adequate but we found the evening meals less so and although we had paid for half board we opted to eat out after a couple of nights - half the pleasure of holidaying in Italy is the food and there are lots of restaurants in Sorrento serving great food. The hotel meals were uninspiring, though not inedible and the restaurant lacks atmosphere.
Overall we had a good holiday but would choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest Sam M,

Thank you for yreviewing your stay with us.

I will seriously take into consideration your comments in order to improve our services.

We thank you for sharing your point of view.

Best regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is the perfect place for couples young and old, the perfect position to view sorrento and the bay- for all it's glory!

It may be set up in the hills, but take this as a major positive- the free bus service will allow you to forgive the steep hill climb the hotel is nestled in, and escape the hustle and bustle of central sorrento. Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Original_Isaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest Original,

I would like Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso in Sorrento.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay with us and we really hope to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The location of this hotel is stunning with wonderful views over the Bay of Naples and Capri, and it has a wonderful pool complex - but the hotel itself proved a big disappointment. We paid extra to have a sea view and were promised a room that slept two to three people by Thomas Cook. On arrival we were given a very tiny room with a very small balcony overlooking the car park at the front of the hotel, We joined a queue of newly arrived guests in reception, who had also paid for a sea view but had been given equally unacceptable rooms. The receptionist told us that you could see the sea from our balcony if you looked sideways! However, they offered us an alternative room at the other side of the hotel again with a sideways sea view towards Capri and overlooking Sorrento which we reluctantly accepted as it was still not what we had paid for. This room was tiny, just enough room to walk around the beds, which were pushed together, but not enough room to put our suitcases on the floor. We had to stand these on end in front of the wardrobe in order to move around. The balcony, however, was fabulous, as large as the room, with settee, table and two sunbeds, a wonderful place to sit and relax. The hotel itself was average and looked as if it had seen better days. Restaurant service was dreadful, long waits for tables and for food. Meals were also average and portions were small. We enjoyed Sorrento but this hotel was disappointing.

Room Tip: Always pay for the sea view. Rooms overlooking the 'cliff' look out onto a retaining wall on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest Maureen T,

Thank you for reviewng you stay in 2013.

The hotel has continued its refurbishment program, and now the room where you have been allocated (room 323) has become a wonderful and bright premium room, with large shower and terrace.

Concerning the restaurant service, we are very sad to read that you did not like our service, we do apologise if it was not to your expectations.

We really hope to have a second chance, to show you the new features of our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,164 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,291 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Property: Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing