We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Tonnarella(Sorrento)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$479
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Vue D'Or(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$448
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Aminta(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
522
386
156
58
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
386
156
58
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillshuttle bussea viewbay of naplespool areaevening mealhalf boardevery hourcliff facingamazing viewsrestaurant staffthomas cookhead waitershuttle servicelovely hotelreception staffour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Second year running at this hotel. Friendly service and great views. Peaceful location. Food could be better, but the only real draw back is relying on the courtesy bus to get up and down to the town centre, as once you are out it is not so easy to just pop back. It is the price you pay for the views. No kids under 15 is a bonus if you want a peaceful time round the pool.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view with a terrace or balcony on the second or third floor - balconies on the fourth are small. Some rooms are traditionally styled but the newly remodelled ones are really contemporary. The hotel seems willing to move you though if you are not happy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest adrian b,

I would like Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied for the second time your stay with us.

We really hope to welcome you again for a third time!

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just spent our honeymoon at the Gran Paradiso and we are not disappointed with our choice. We had a terrace sea view room which was fabulous, very spacious with excellent views of the sea, bay of Naples and Vesuvius.

The staff were excellent there from the reception, bar staff, restaurant, maids, porters and drivers - could not fault them! We were welcomed with a bottle of bubbly and were made to feel very welcome.

The only reason we have given this hotel 4 not 5 stars is because the vegetarian choice was a bit poor, it was risotto and omelette most nights if you don't eat fish, however we did eat out a lot as we did many excursions. We also had a faulty shower but we did see the funny side of the shower hose constantly sliding down when in use - this really does need fixing, we did report it!

Everything else was perfect though and we wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone. Even though it is up a steep hill (not as bad as you think walking down, only takes 10 mins) the views are worth it plus bus runs on the hour and drivers are friendly, efficient and reliable.

Thank you very much,

Nadine & Dave
Honeymooners, room 127.

Room Tip: Sea view a must!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nadine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest NadineL,

I would like Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are glad to read that you have enjoied your honeymoon with us.

We really hope to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Three of us stayed here for a week, on a package booked with Thomas Cook. I have to say at the start that I'd never book with Thomas Cook again, as their rep service was extremely poor. The hotel, however, offered very good service, was extremely clean and attractive and a good base from which to explore Sorrento and the surrounding attractions.

Others have described how the hotel is situated a couple of kilometres out of the centre, with a shuttle bus provided to take guests, free of charge, in and out of Sorrento. The walk in isn't entirely pleasant and we only did it a couple of times - there's a lot of traffic, accompanied by awful petrol fumes - and I wouldn't even consider the reverse, as the hill is very steep.

Our two rooms were next to each other and offered a side sea view and a view over the valley. Views from the hotel are superb and it benefits from being far enough from the main road as to be peaceful. Our room was spacious, had a lovely bathroom with big, walk-in shower and other amenities such as a safe and a frigo-bar. It lacked drawers of any kind, however (meaning we had to pile underwear, etc up in the bottom of the warddrobes) and the two narrow wardrobes were not equipped with sufficient hangers. Both rooms had pleasant balconies and we enjoyed sitting there, especially at night after dinner.

We were staying on a half board basis and found the breakfast provision very good. Like many Italian hotels, coffee was provided in the form of a pot of good, hot coffee and a large jug of hot, frothed milk to each table; tea was a pot of hot, but not boiling, water into which a person was required to shove tea bags and hope for the best. The buffet offered a very good range of cold items - cereals, fresh breads, a wide range of fresh pastries, fresh and tinned fruits, cheeses, cold meats, etc - and a more limited range of hot, including extremely good scrambled eggs (consistently good each day) and bacon or sausages. Service was very good.

Evening meals were a bit more hit-and-miss. The half board menu changed each night and offered a choice of tems over 3 courses, with at least one pasta/risotto/gnocchi dish per night. These dishes were (apart from one night when a baked pasta dish was overcooked and therefore dry) excellent, especially the risottos; other first course options included a different soup each night, which one of our party tried and enjoyed, as well as a different salad each night (these tended to be a bit dull). Main courses varied from excellent to bland or over-seasoned - we ate several good fish dishes, though my friend's sole excursion on to the restaurant's "a la carte" menu proved to be poor value for money: sea bass at 20 Euros turned out to be awful. Puddings were a different Italian dessert each night (some were all right, some over-sweet and all lathered in fake cream) , together with options for fresh fruit (which seemed to be melon every night), ice cream or cheese. One of our party chose cheese the first night and it was a pathetic excuse for a plate of Italian cheese. The restaurant offers a good, well-priced wine list - house wines are 12 Euros a bottle (the red and rose options are especially good, but the wine is eminently drinkable), but decent Italian wines are only modestly marked up. Service was good.

The hotel has a moderately-sized swimming pool which is kept scrupulously clean, as is the surrounding pool area - we were impressed by the attention to cleanliness by staff each day. The views from the pool and terrace are wonderful and it's possible to enjoy a drink there, or eat at breakfast, lunchtime or dinner if you can bag a table. The hotel would do well to try to develop its gardens for seating guests who would like to sit outside but do not want to sunbathe, and provide more deckchairs and parasols. It was difficult for many people to find shade.

Reception staff are exceptionally helpful and can offer good advice about transportation and local attractions.

In all, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenFNafplio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest HelenFNafplio,

I would like Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay with us.

We really hope to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We've just spent a lovely week at the Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We went for a "Cliff View" room, This was not a mistake, the room was big and clean with a kingsize bed. The balcony is small, but we never used it because we'd go and sit on the terrace!

The whole place is smart and tidy and all the staff are friendly and efficient.

We were happy with the food, the menus were different every night and the three courses were the right portion size for us, the waiters work very hard and are very friendly, there's even some singing from Guiseppe... They're all imaculate even at brekfast with their dickie bows, which would look naff anywhere else, but this being italy, it works.

(there is a no shorts policy for dinner, although they're not too strict about it)

As everyone has said, the views are amazing.

The bus to town is a godsend, the walk in to Sorrento is ok, crossing the street is a challenge! We found the bus excelllent. Its worth getting to the pick up in town early because it gives you a good excuse to have a lemon drink or slush from the man who parks his Paiaggio 3 wheeler opposite the station amongst the buses, his lemon drink is the best ever!

We also took the train to Pompeii and the local bus to Positano.

Wonderful hotel, we will be back sometime

Room Tip: The cliff view rooms seem to be bigger, the so called cliff is a wall with a lemon and olive farm on top, not too bad, and you can always sit on the terrace for free! The room stayed cooler because of no direct sunshine
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfistiRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest AlfistiRH,

I would like Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay in a Cliff view room, that the food was varied and good and that the shuttle bus was efficient!

We really hope to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My girlfriend spent a week here with her best friend last year and after speaking so highly of the place, we decided to choose it for our first proper holiday together (it also coincided with our one-year anniversary). And what an incredibly special place to spend our anniversary. The views are just breathtaking, the environment relaxing and the service excellent.
Although there is plenty to see in Sorrento and the surrounding areas, it is at times very difficult to remove yourself from the pool area - especially with such a stunning views on offer from its elevated position overlooking the bay of Naples.
What's more, it is well worth getting to dinner reasonably early to secure a seat outside and witness the beautiful sunset - words can't describe it. The terrace is situated perfectly for this.
The service at the hotel was excellent. The reception staff couldn't do enough for us, while the restaurant and bar staff - especially the charismatic Giuseppe - we're very friendly and efficient.
Although the buffet breakfast is modest, the lunch menu offers plenty of tasty options. We also too found the three-course dinner menus to be satisfactory although on several occasions we chose to dine out in Sorrento for a bit more variety.
The only minor complaint I would have with this hotel is the lack of double bed in the room - instead we had two single beds pushed together.
The shuttle bus service into the town was very efficient and also extremely necessary given the steep hill that the hotel is situated on. However, make sure you find out the exact return times and locations (return pick-up is different in the evening). If you miss the shuttle bus, cab drivers will sting you to the tune of €20 for what amounts to little more than a five-minute journey.
The picturesque views and overall vibe of this hotel have left a lasting impression on myself and my girlfriend - so much so that we could imagine staying anywhere else if we return to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest Dan H,

I would like Thank you for your kind and passionate review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

Your description of the stay, gives us the motivation to continue our efforts in order to provide a good service and a good hotel for our Guests.

We really hope to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews