We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I loved the magnificent view over the bay and the sea, the beautiful sunsets every night.
A unique place where to spend your holiday in Sorrento.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtravellerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    359
    137
    51
    39
See reviews for
147
662
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Generally a very pleasant hotel, tucked away at the top of a hill outside the hectic touristy town of Sorrento. Clean hotel with a pleasant atmosphere. The staff in general were short and abrupt in the expected italian manner. I certainly dont think that some of the workers should be in tourism! The hotel offers a shuttle bus, but firstly the bus is always late (every time) and the schedule is not very good for evenings (every 2-3 hours). As we are youngish we walked the very steep hill to the hotel as we got annoyed with waiting for the bus, but i feel that a lot of people simply couldnt do this. Overall good hotel that could be vastly improved by offering an efficient shuttle bus. Service with a smile would also help.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benthewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Need to check out Courtesy Bus timetable to get it down pat as it only runs a few times per day. When we arrived we had a drink by the pool and the view was to die for. Sunsets absolutely beautiful. Would recommend a room with a view. They have huge balconys but the rooms were a little tired and cramped but once you went outside you forgot all about them. Loved the whole experience.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyGAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

We stayed at this hotel in late September, we were given a large room with a large sun terrace, the views across Sorrento and the bay of Naples were stunning. The breakfasts were 'adequate' and you made your choice for the evening meal at the same time, which was a good idea. The evening meals were excellent and served up with real old world charm. Being used to travelling independantly we walked up and down the hill into Sorrento several times with no problems. This gave us freedom from the rather ristricted minibus timetable and allowed us to catch the earlier trains to Pompeii and 'Sita' buses to Amalfi. By mid morning both these services were crammed with people, I dred to think what it must be like in high season. To visit Vesuvius we caught the train to Ergolana ( I have never seen so much graffitti ) then the minibus up to near the crater and walked the rest of the way, an amazing experience. If you are going to Pompeii don't bother with Herculaneum, it is just the same but tiny in comparison and costs the same,11 euros. Capri was amazing but absolutely blighted by the crowds of visitors.
We had perfect weather, about 20 degrees and mostly sunny which gave us a perfect holiday to remember.
Chris & Carol, Yorkshire.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Transport
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Before my wife and I booked our stay at the Gran Paradiso I was bewildered by the conflicting reviews of the hotel. But now, having just returned from a week at the hotel, I believe I can explain the widely-different opinions. The hotel is situated half-way up a steep mountain, looking a long way down on the buildings of Sorrento. For some holiday-makers it is enough to ensure a good time for them to plonk themselves down by the swimming pool and enjoy the view and the conversation of their friends and family. These reviewers would tend to overlook or at least minimise the deficiencies of the hotel, which are real. For others, and these would be the less-happy clientele, a good holiday includes using the hotel as a base for exploring the neighborhood, sampling the delights of the local town, and taking trips further afield. And precisely this is made difficult by the hotel's position, making the use of the hotel shuttle bus compulsory. Among the hotel's bad aspects are firstly, the approach road. It really is very narrow, busy with cars, vans, and mopeds. To make it worse, many cars are parked along it, making for frequent instances of vehicles needing to reverse to allow another to pass. Nobody in their right mind would willingly walk along this road. It is also very steep, so that only the supremely vigorous could happily undertake to walk up it. One relies completely on the hotel shuttle bus (old and shaky) which has a ludicrously inadequate schedule: the late afternoon shuttle back to the hotel runs at 6:20 p.m., convenient for dinner at the hotel at 7:00. But it makes a trip out of town (for example, a bus ride to Positano and Amalfi) an ordeal of worrying whether the bus will be late and making you miss the shuttle up to the hotel. There is then only one more shuttle, at 11:00 p.m., turning a dinner at a restaurant in town into an ordeal of a long wait for the ride back. Taxis, as others have pointed out, are prohibitively expensive in Sorrento -- 20 euros for the few minutes ride up the mountain back to the hotel is typical. (In fact, most things in Sorrento are prohibitively expensive, e.g. the ferry to Capri is 29 euros for the 20 minutes crossing.) The hotel dinners are reasonably good, though not at all taking advantage of the fresh seafood abundant in southern Italy. But breakfast is a disaster -- buffet style but set out in a far-too-small space, with people unavoidably jostling one another and trying to stay good humoured. There is no boiling water for tea, although the majority of the clientele is British. All drinks are dispensed from a machine, and are too cold and lacking in taste. This is unforgiveable. And the cups are tiny compared with British breakfast cups -- imagine a tea bag in a small cup of tepid water. But the views are magnificent, and the swimming pool a delight. On the other hand, there is nothing else to do at the hotel -- no exercise machines, just a few dog-eared junky novels, nothing except sitting by the pool and admiring the view. OK if this is all you want, but for others . . . The staff are helpful and willing. The head waiter is a shmoozer, ingratiating himself with the ladies who, at the end of their holidays, come to him for a kiss on each cheek. The best part of my holiday was a half-day session at the nearby Sorrento Cooking School (ask at Reception) -- highly professional and excellent teaching. But: I will never return to the Gran Paradiso. Its failings, for me, are too great to ignore.

  • Liked — Clean. Comfortable bed. Pleasantly large double room.
  • Disliked — Balcony was useless, giving a view of a high wall ten feet away with vegetation growing on top. Chair was creaky and fit to disintegrate.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AlBedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Fantastic views and service to match! We found the staff on reception, in the restaurant and the porter to be particularly helpful. We booked half board and, at our first meal, the restaurant staff knew us by name as we arrived. 3 of our party of 5 are vegetarian and, whilst the menu was a little limited, they made every effort to accommodate us. Breakfasts were good, with plenty of choice.
Our party had 2 rooms - one with a sea view. The other was at the back of the hotel, but even this had views of the mountains.
The pool was great and there were always plenty of sun loungers available.
The courtesy mini-bus was a bit crowded at peak times, but we always had seats and it was better than walking - we had planned to walk back from town, but be warned, whilst it is not very far, the hill is VERY steep.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank KevWiltshire_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Booked a week beforehand - maybe there's a lesson in that. From the brochure the hotel looked fine but what a ghastly room with a frightful view. The hotel (classed as a four star) was three star but the room was one star and despite asking on several occassions we were unable to upgrade. If you are staying here you must insist on a north facing room with sea view. The pool was good and there were stunning views of the bay with Vesuvio as a back drop. The hotel is situated about 10 to 15 mins from the bus/rail station (aging courtesy minibus - no aircon) and another 5 minutes walk to the main square - Piazza Tasso. No bus back to the hotel between 18:20 and 23:00 so if you miss the 18:20 you have to wait until 11pm and if you miss 11pm a taxi is 16 - 20 Euro. The food was acceptable and occasionally good but fish was from frozen stock-why? Sorrento is a great place to visit but not in the last 2/3 weeks of August as this is when Italians take their holidays so a 30 minute bus ride to Positano resulted in an hour long return, standing all the way. The locals say the best time to visit is November and despite our problems we'd visit in Nov and stay in a better town centre hotel.

  • Liked — The pool and the view
  • Disliked — The rest.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McHooligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgpac, Owner, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 30 August 2008
Dear McHooligan,

Thank you for posting your thought.
Unfortunately I am unable to see your name to check if the reservation was made for a sea view room, but i can assure you that if it was for a sea view room the reservation was honoured.
If you had a room without view is because you booked from the catalogue a standard room.

The sea view rooms are limited and the rate is different

To answer you about the bus between 18:20 and 23, there is the bus coming back to the hotel at 20:50 from supermarket pollio.

I can assure you that the best time to visit Sorrento is not November; the period you stayed was during national holidays and if we had the opportunity to give you an alternative room it would have been our pleasure, but the hotel was fully booked.

I hope you can understand our situation, I remain at your complete disposal for any further information.

Best regards,

Alberto Colonna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,991 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,164 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Property: Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing