We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!! Views, great food and service, great staff, great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2009

This hotel is amazing !!! Great location, Great views, Great rooms and very helpful staff.
We lucked out finding this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronhsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2009

We've had such a wonderful time here at gran paradiso, we were given a wonderful renewed room overlooking the bay of Napoli. The room was a Superior room with balcony.
The mornings at the pool were great, although in the afternoon it was a bit too hot!
The snack bar is good, reasonably priced and they serve huge portions of pasta in many ways.
We've had dinner, it was normal, we spoke to the manager and were told that next year a lot things will change in the dining room, they will remodernate the interiors of the dining room and the way of serving dishes,that at the moment are served in a old style way.
In any case we've had a wonderful time, people at the hotel are very kind and funny, and I think that Sorrento is a very nice resort.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snake1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I loved the magnificent view over the bay and the sea, the beautiful sunsets every night.
A unique place where to spend your holiday in Sorrento.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xtravellerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Generally a very pleasant hotel, tucked away at the top of a hill outside the hectic touristy town of Sorrento. Clean hotel with a pleasant atmosphere. The staff in general were short and abrupt in the expected italian manner. I certainly dont think that some of the workers should be in tourism! The hotel offers a shuttle bus, but firstly the bus is always late (every time) and the schedule is not very good for evenings (every 2-3 hours). As we are youngish we walked the very steep hill to the hotel as we got annoyed with waiting for the bus, but i feel that a lot of people simply couldnt do this. Overall good hotel that could be vastly improved by offering an efficient shuttle bus. Service with a smile would also help.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benthewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Need to check out Courtesy Bus timetable to get it down pat as it only runs a few times per day. When we arrived we had a drink by the pool and the view was to die for. Sunsets absolutely beautiful. Would recommend a room with a view. They have huge balconys but the rooms were a little tired and cramped but once you went outside you forgot all about them. Loved the whole experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyGAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

We stayed at this hotel in late September, we were given a large room with a large sun terrace, the views across Sorrento and the bay of Naples were stunning. The breakfasts were 'adequate' and you made your choice for the evening meal at the same time, which was a good idea. The evening meals were excellent and served up with real old world charm. Being used to travelling independantly we walked up and down the hill into Sorrento several times with no problems. This gave us freedom from the rather ristricted minibus timetable and allowed us to catch the earlier trains to Pompeii and 'Sita' buses to Amalfi. By mid morning both these services were crammed with people, I dred to think what it must be like in high season. To visit Vesuvius we caught the train to Ergolana ( I have never seen so much graffitti ) then the minibus up to near the crater and walked the rest of the way, an amazing experience. If you are going to Pompeii don't bother with Herculaneum, it is just the same but tiny in comparison and costs the same,11 euros. Capri was amazing but absolutely blighted by the crowds of visitors.
We had perfect weather, about 20 degrees and mostly sunny which gave us a perfect holiday to remember.
Chris & Carol, Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kenneth41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Before my wife and I booked our stay at the Gran Paradiso I was bewildered by the conflicting reviews of the hotel. But now, having just returned from a week at the hotel, I believe I can explain the widely-different opinions. The hotel is situated half-way up a steep mountain, looking a long way down on the buildings of Sorrento. For some holiday-makers it is enough to ensure a good time for them to plonk themselves down by the swimming pool and enjoy the view and the conversation of their friends and family. These reviewers would tend to overlook or at least minimise the deficiencies of the hotel, which are real. For others, and these would be the less-happy clientele, a good holiday includes using the hotel as a base for exploring the neighborhood, sampling the delights of the local town, and taking trips further afield. And precisely this is made difficult by the hotel's position, making the use of the hotel shuttle bus compulsory. Among the hotel's bad aspects are firstly, the approach road. It really is very narrow, busy with cars, vans, and mopeds. To make it worse, many cars are parked along it, making for frequent instances of vehicles needing to reverse to allow another to pass. Nobody in their right mind would willingly walk along this road. It is also very steep, so that only the supremely vigorous could happily undertake to walk up it. One relies completely on the hotel shuttle bus (old and shaky) which has a ludicrously inadequate schedule: the late afternoon shuttle back to the hotel runs at 6:20 p.m., convenient for dinner at the hotel at 7:00. But it makes a trip out of town (for example, a bus ride to Positano and Amalfi) an ordeal of worrying whether the bus will be late and making you miss the shuttle up to the hotel. There is then only one more shuttle, at 11:00 p.m., turning a dinner at a restaurant in town into an ordeal of a long wait for the ride back. Taxis, as others have pointed out, are prohibitively expensive in Sorrento -- 20 euros for the few minutes ride up the mountain back to the hotel is typical. (In fact, most things in Sorrento are prohibitively expensive, e.g. the ferry to Capri is 29 euros for the 20 minutes crossing.) The hotel dinners are reasonably good, though not at all taking advantage of the fresh seafood abundant in southern Italy. But breakfast is a disaster -- buffet style but set out in a far-too-small space, with people unavoidably jostling one another and trying to stay good humoured. There is no boiling water for tea, although the majority of the clientele is British. All drinks are dispensed from a machine, and are too cold and lacking in taste. This is unforgiveable. And the cups are tiny compared with British breakfast cups -- imagine a tea bag in a small cup of tepid water. But the views are magnificent, and the swimming pool a delight. On the other hand, there is nothing else to do at the hotel -- no exercise machines, just a few dog-eared junky novels, nothing except sitting by the pool and admiring the view. OK if this is all you want, but for others . . . The staff are helpful and willing. The head waiter is a shmoozer, ingratiating himself with the ladies who, at the end of their holidays, come to him for a kiss on each cheek. The best part of my holiday was a half-day session at the nearby Sorrento Cooking School (ask at Reception) -- highly professional and excellent teaching. But: I will never return to the Gran Paradiso. Its failings, for me, are too great to ignore.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AlBedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelGranParadiso, Responsabile reception at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso. We value the opinion of our Guests and we hope to welcome you soon again in Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £93 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing