We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Italian Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Brava Grand Hotel Vesuvio! We loved our stay here! The property, the accommodations, the staff, the amenities – perfetto!

Grand Hotel Vesuvio is a fabulous property that is elegantly decorated and well managed. The lobby level is spacious to say the least, with sitting areas throughout, filled with exquisite furniture. The bar level is equally lovely, with additional sitting areas, featuring entertainment (piano, Italian singer) and an adjoining outside patio.

Our sleeping room was immaculately maintained. We had a balcony overlooking the gardens and lemon trees. It was serene and lovely; waking up to the distant sound of roosters.

The staff was cheerful and genuine. Carlo at the Front Desk, was most helpful and most pleasant. (I do think the other front desk attendees could benefit from modeling his demeanor.) The dining room staff was most gracious: Nino, greeted you with a smile, Giacomo managed with such professionalism, and Maurio – my personal favorite (molto bello!) – was more than attentive.

Since the hotel was a small distance from town, the shuttle bus was a great feature as it ran on a frequent schedule. (the driver could improve his social skills though – perhaps take some lessons from Carlo!)

And finally, we loved the pool. It was so relaxing to enjoy the sun and refreshing water, with such a picturesque mountainous background. This provided a relaxing end to some of our long traveled days.

Fino alla prossima volta!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrooklynCarolT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the Vesuvio as part of a First Choice holiday on a half board basis and booked a sea view balcony, fantastic views across the bay to Naples. Upon arrival at around 23.00Hrs we were quickly and efficiently signed in and as the restaurant was now closed a very nice cold buffet was delivered to our room within 5 minutes on get in.

We found the hotel clean and the staff very efficient and helpful, the pool is said to be the largest of any Hotel in Sorrento and was never packed, most sun loungers were taken by the pool but we used those adjacent in the garden which provided some shade and had good views.

We were concerned that our daughter would not like the range of food on offer but the head waiters were very good and if there was nothing she would try (and often they got her trying new food and liking it) then they sorted her out with something else. The house wine served with the meal was very agreeable.

The hotel is located just outside Sorrento and it is about a fifteen minute walk to the town, the hotel has a shuttle bus which was fine, efficient and ran to time, the driver does take a break between 13.00 and 14,00 but then that is Italy.

We would certainly recommend this hotel t anyone.

Room Tip: Sea views need to be specified when booking, may cost a bit more but are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We just returned from holiday to the Vesuvio and had a nice time except for one thing ie. Citalia and their so called "Promo Twin Balcony" rooms.
In the Citalia brochure it clearly states "Citalia have selected rooms which benefit from lovely sea views" with no option to book a room without a sea view. So we booked on their website and the only room were offered was called a "Promo Twin Balcony" which meant nothing untoward to me. I knew all their rooms had sea views as stated in the brochure, and off we went.
So imagine my horror when we checked in and were shown to a room with NO SEA VIEW!!! Infact in turns out that the PROMO rooms are the worst in the hotel - small with no view whatsover - just overlooking the back of the hotel where there are ugly buildings and aircon machines!!! They sell them cheaper to Citalia as no one else wants to book them. However, the price Citalia charged us seems to be the full brochure price so nothing to warn you when you book. There is really no point booking this hotel unless it has a seaview room as the hotel is 2km out of town so you are only really choosing it for the view!
I called the Citalia rep immediately on my mobile (so expecting a big bill!) and they said it was my fault as I had booked the Promo Twin Balcony which has no sea view! I have since checked their website and it does NOT state what a "Promo Twin Balcony" is and certainly doesnt say it has no sea view.
We spoke to the hotel and found they luckily had a spare seaview room available, but at an additional cost of 420 euros for the week. It was identical to the photos and description in the Citalia brochure and exactly what we thought we had already booked. So after some harsh words with the Citalia rep I paid the hotel the upgrade price. Sadly Citalia refused to book the upgrade room on our behalf at their contracted rate which was very sad so we paid the full price. I am now in the process of trying to reclaim the cost from Citalia.
Logging this review immediately on our return to help others from falling into the same trap. WILL NEVER BOOK WITH CITALIA AGAIN. Thompson go to the same hotel, and I bitterly regret not having booked with them in the first place. Their website is crystal clear and their price was only £10 more for a seaview room, so we booked Citalia as it seemed cheaper .....
Also Note: Thompson run bi-weekly welcome mtgs at this hotel whereas Citalia dont do any (with them you have to ring the rep's mobile for any holiday advice!).

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have the best sea views (of Sorrento and Vesuvius).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank davibrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citalia_Holidays, Tour Operator at Grand Hotel Vesuvio, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Thank you for your post about your Citalia holiday. We're sorry to read that there was some confusion over your room type. We haven't yet heard from you directly, but we will contact you shortly as we'd very much like to talk through your comments.

From Paul (Citalia Customer Relations Team).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We booked our holiday through Citalia and on arrival at Naples Airport had private transfer to the Hotel. The driver was part of the Acampora Group for which the hotel was also part of. On arriving at Reception the staff were very welcoming and we were taking straight to our room which was a Junior Suite as there was myself, my husband, daughter and her friend. The room was very spacious and was very clean. There were three parts to our room which comprised of a room with twin beds, four chairs, table and a wooden unit. There was then another section with two double wardrobes and the bathroom opposite which was also quite spacious, this then led onto the master room which again was very large. There was T.V, Sky and a fridge. Then there was a balcony with a seaview over the bay of naples and mount vesuvio. The chambermaids cleaned the rooms daily and were very efficient and friendly.

The dining room staff were excellent, polite and friendly. There was a continental breakfast and if required eggs were cooked to order. The rest was a selection of various pastries, cereals, cold meats and rolls also yoghurts. Tea and coffee was provided at the table. Nino the Restaurant Manager and Giuseppe the Assistant Manager were totally in control of all the stalff and were very friendly. At lunchtime there was a poolside restaurant which was manned by the waiters from the main hotel. Once again service was good and there was a set menu but a lot of choice was available. The evening meal was a very good variety of a starter, main and desert and also drinks if wanted. If there was nothing on the menu that was liked the staff offered another choice in order that you always had something to eat. There was a bar for the evening if required, usually one person playing either keyboard or guitar or if inside the Piano, he was very good and played a variety of songs. Bar staff again very friendly and service good.

The pool is of a large size with plenty of choice on where you would like to sit on the sunbeds. We are no problem of finding four sunbeds together. There is also poolside service for drinks if required.

You can walk th.rough the lemon and orange groves but is a bit dark so best to do this during the day. There is a shuttle bus which takes you down to a central meeting point where you can either walk to the station for onward travel or walk to the marina to get boats or generally walk around the town in the small streets

There is a hotel shop, which sells a variety of goods from clothes to souvenirs, films to toiletry requirements.

We had a lovely time at this hotel for the two weeks we stayed there. We would not hesitate to recommend this to any friends and family.

Room Tip: If you have two teenage kids and want to share Junior Suite gives ample space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank underhillbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I visited Grand Hotel Vesuvio with my partner at end July / early August. The hotel is large with a suitably grand reception and lovely balcony bar overlooking Sorrento.

We booked a standard room with balcony, but didn't pay the upgrade for the view. The room was pleasant and fairly large with the facilities you would expect from a 4 star hotel, including a decent sized bathroom with toiletries, good storage, fridge / minibar and safe. The balcony overlooked a garden area, but the patio furniture could do with updating.

One of the best things about this hotel was the fantastic pool - large, very clean and with plenty of sunloungers. We're not sun-worshippers in any way, but it was great to come back from a day out and cool off in the pool or chill out with a book on the loungers before heading out for dinner. My only complaint was that it closed at 7pm, when the weather would certainly have supported later opening.

Overally I would recommend this hotel as an oasis of calm just outside the hustle and bustle of Sorrento itself.

My one caveat it the location: whilst it provides a wonderful view and the rooms / pool are certainly larger than you would get in central Sorrento, it is a bit of a walk uphill from the centre. We're both fairly young and fit, so 15-20 minutes up the hill from the main square was not an issue, but it may be for others. That said, the hotel lays on a decent free bus service in the morning and late afternoon / evening.

I'd also avoid the dinners. Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed breakfast, we did eat in one night and dinners are clearly aimed those on a half board package. If you're going B&B there are plenty of fantastic restaurants in Sorrento offering better food / values for money.

Overally I'd recommend this hotel to couples or families with school aged children.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Effective air conditioner in room. Small shower stall, with unusual sliding doors that were a little stiff to close. Old style hose-type hair dryer. The entire room was tiled, no carpeting. Very small bed - barely a US twin size, with one mediocre pillow. Although it calls itself a 4-star hotel, the room's furnishings were definitely not 4-star. In room safe, clean bathroom. Free shuttle bus to Sorrento (other hotels also provide free shuttle); can walk to town but sidewalk/footpath non existent for some of the way, and return trip is all uphill. Front desk staff courteous, but wait staff in restaurant tended to be surly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sequoia-design
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Just returned from a really good week at the Vesuvio. Travelled as a family with three teenage children who had their own room, they really enjoyed it and the maids were really good too. Food was great with lots of choice at both breakfast and dinner. Staff were exceptionally friendly and nothing was to much to ask, also reception staff were really helpful in arranging car hire, taxis, local knowledge etc. We had sea view rooms, which were very clean, spacious and comfortable and generally the facillities were very good. Location a bit out of town up a hill, but the walk down into town was ok but there is also a coutessy coach which runs regularily to and from the town. If I we wanted to stay in Sorrento again we would deffinitely stay here again. One tip dont drive youself unless you are experienced at driving on the right, the traffic is horrific in the town and thre Almalfi drive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nt24WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.3 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
372 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £120 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a charming position, overlooking the enchanting Bay of Naples and right opposite Vesuvius you will find The Grand Hotel Vesuvio, built and furnished in a modern style. we have: large swimming pools, gardens, extensive lemon and orange groves, wide lounges, conference rooms, garage, parking, solarium, free shuttle bus into town, restaurants, bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing