We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but beware if you are on all inclusive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but beware if you are on all inclusive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed for 11 nights and was very pleased with the service and the staff friendliness. We had a bedroom with a garden view, which overlooked the lemon groves...the room was beautiful and very very clean. Food was top class and there was a very good selection available, the restaurant was silver service and waiter service. There is a grand buffet twice a week, which really was grand!If you go on day trips you can ask for a packed lunch instead of lunch on all inclusive. Shuttle bus was good but there was a big gap between the hours at certain times, If you were on all inclusive the timings meant you had to either be back at the hotel by 12,30pm or miss the lunch.If you stayed for lunch you then had to wait till 4pm to get the shuttle bus into Sorrento,the road is very dangerous and the drivers are idiots, so not advisable to walk into Sorrento.Beware if you are on all inclusive because there are LOTS of things not included and all inclusive local alcoholic drinks are only available from 1pm-11pm also snacks around the pool from 10am-6pm.....only snacks available are ice cream and cheese sandwiches..............its all very misleading.....lots of people staying when we were there were presented with big bills on check out as they were not aware of the NON all inclusive items...........The local rep was not very helpful either when people tried to enlist her help. Sorrento is a beautiful part of Italy and the views from the hotel were stunning. We had a very good holiday and would recommend this hotel but feel that they need to sort out the all inclusive things!! Also the hotel charge 3 euros tax per room up to a maximum of 7 nights, which is presented to you on check out, something we were not aware of before, so check with your travel agents when booking.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room as the views are amazing, but the hotel charges a supplement for these...r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tobyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    424
    208
    59
    37
See reviews for
295
485
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

overnight stay only
Hotel was probably grand in it's prime, but it's prime is past as it appears to have many rooms but not very full - maybe it's early in the season.
Stayed as part of a group tour. Excellent buffet breakfast and set menu dinner - best gnocci I've ever had.
Wait staff are very friendly and helpful. Front desk staff are a bit abrupt and perfunctory. Not much tourist guide information. Computer available but have to pay for internet connection.
Large bathroom with bath/shower which is unusual to have and a positive.
Shuttle bus is handy but check the schedule as it is irregular. Otherwise long windy walk to centre.

Western facing rooms had motorised roller shutters to block sun.
Excellent pool area and rooftop terrace for clear views around.
Great choice included in the tour but would check out other hotels closer to centre.

Room Tip: Can't really choose a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pauste1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My mother sister and I stayed at the Grand Hotel vesuvio for 5 nights in April. Unfortuntately it rained the whole time we were there so we didn't get to use the lovely pool area. We had a tripple room nice big enough for the three of us with great views. A few things that could have improved our stay would be some information about the hotel in the room.There was no information at all about the hotel and it's factilties. The shuttle bus doesn't run all day there is a big break in the middle of the day and it is quite a walk to the town centre. We had to get a taxi twice during our stay. The front of house staff were friendly enough but not to forecoming with information.On our first day there we were waiting in the lobby for the shuttle bus with another couple. It was raining outside so we were waiting just inside the door. The bus didn't and doesn't stop at the door you must walk out to the drive. That's fine if you know, the front of house could see that we were waiting for the bus but didn't bother to tell us that we had to wait outside. So we missed it and had to get a taxi as the next shuttle wasn't for a while. The staff were ok but not overlyn friendly or helpful. I would not stay there again I would stay closer to the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarasmithNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed here two nights as part of a seven day tour... This hotel was by far my favourite! The rooms are very spacious and had excellent views of Mount Vesuvio and the town. I'm not sure how far the hotel was from the heart of Sorrento, but they did offer a shuttle bus which ran till quite late.

The breakfast spread was one of the better ones we encountered, but the dinners were fantastic! I highly recommend guests to try the restaurant in the hotel, it also has great views of the ocean and town. Each night the menu changes, and you have a choice from four entrees, four mains, and then a selection of desserts from the dessert cart.

We also had some drinks in the bar and found the prices to be the most reasonable of anywhere we stayed. We had two very large cocktails for only 13 euros.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sara_mynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I and my husband stayed at this hotel as part of a booked tour of the area. Sorrento & the surrounding area is absolutely stunning as is the view from the hotel - it is set on the hillside & Vesuvius can be seen clearly across the bay. All the staff were pleasant, polite & helpful. The rooms were functional, clean & comfortable. We didn't have a sea view but this didn't detract from the enjoyment of the trip. We could however here a generator running (air conditioning possiby) from the room, but it did stop over night. The food served in the restuarant was varied, plentiful and tasty. Outside areas were well kept & very clean, the pool isn't heated but then the Mediterranean is notorious for its warm temperatures. . . so what is there to complain about? Nothing as far as I can see. We loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms without a sea view face onto an orchard of orang/lemon trees. This is where the generator can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Get a room with a balcony, otherwise it probably isn't worth it to stay here. The view from our balcony was pretty amazing, definitely the best thing about the hotel. It was a nice room, I didn't mind the tile floor and the shower was good. I was disappointed by the pool though. It's big enough, and there are lots of places to lay out, but it was freezing. The pool pictures made it look like they have a huge jacuzzi but it's just an enclosed area of the pool itself. The terrace overlooking the pool was very nice though, it's a cafe with reasonably priced food and waiters. Wifi only seems to work in the lobby, not in the room. Quick free bus ride to the center of the town, full of toursts. Easy to get back on the same bus.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here for a week in Sept 2011, having put off a trip to Italy for many years we pushed the boat out and spent a lot of money on a top quality hotel - half board for a week.
It started badly and did no improve, the restaurant manager was rude, unhelpful and surly. The food was poor, breakfast was a selection of tinned fruits, bread, poor quality cereal and scrambled eggs, cake (from the night before on occasions) and meats. There was bacon etc as well but that was only served to guests that needed special service as they looked like big tippers ! It made you cringe the way the manager would throw everything at 'special' guests including waiter service at a self service meal.
The evening meals were poor a swell, poor selection, small portions and served by lacklustre staff. A sweet trolley finished the meal with a 1970's style selection of fruit, a cake or a pudding - that was all you got a choice of.
The room was old fashioned and VERY noisy from the road outside, it had a very dated (1960's ?) bath suite and a dirty bedspread with curtains from the 1960's as well. It was a big room but sparse with a huge TV taking up 1/2 the dressing table.
Overall this hotel appears to be used for American tourists who stay 1 or 2 nights on a coach trip then are never seen again. This typifies the service you get from the staff, cold and unfriendly. Not somewhere you want to re visit.

Room Tip: If you must go here be warned, sea view rooms look over the busy road in front of the hotel. It is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#9 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Property: Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing