We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most civilised.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Excellent stay. I prefer English breakfast but the continental was good only criticism was no fresh tomatoes ( in Italy of all places!.) Was a bit wary of waiter service for dinner but my fears were unfounded as this was the best service I have had any where I have stayed. Decore and cleanliness through out the hotel was 5 star. A first for a holiday stay was the pool as there was always beds available any time of the day. The bar area was very inviting and comfortable, the entertainment was nice and relaxing. The free bus shuttle in Sorrento was always on time and punctual. To cap it off the sea view from our room was to die for across the bay of Naples to Vesuvius. Most civilised hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmac1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

No barking dog's (plural). Just the one dog who was doing his job by barking but only if someone looked over the Swimming Pool wall into his garden.
While we were there, the Hotel hosted a Conference and to be honest, we felt that regular guests had been pushed a little out of the way to cater for the Conference delegates at mealtimes.
It is worth noting, the Hotel is not ideally suited to youngsters, as there is very little there to keep them amused. Some evenings, the pianist/guitar player entertained us while we sat outside enjoying the fabulous views over the Bay of Sorrento and Vesuvius. It really was most peaceful and relaxing time.
If there was no hotel bus service into town and back, some guests may feel somewhat trapped as there was no safe footpath for pedestrians and the road is quite busy.
I got the impression that the concept of all-inclusive was still a bit of a new challenge for the Bar staff, but they were eager to please and seemed genuinely keen to help.
We found the food to be excellent, plenty of choices, adequate portions, varied, and well presented. I have to say, the Restaurant waiting staff are the most polite and helpful it has been our pleasure to meet.
The swimming pool is one of the best features of this hotel as it is bigger and deeper than many hotel pools. The fitness room is quite basic, but the equipment works and appears to be resonably well maintained.
Bottom Line = Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat, yes.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms on Floor 2 have no garden view at all. Looking from the bedroom we were faced with a 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Sea view a must, rooms nice and cleaned every day, maids very friendly some waiters should take a lesson from them! Too far too walk to the centre of Sorrento the courtesy bus is a must, taxi would cost 25 euro each way. The hotel is still not really catering for the all inclusive guest the food was okay some nights better than others, breakfast was poor, lunch slightly better. You have to sign for every single drink. We enjoyed our stay but the hotel is for older couples, we would return if it got more geared up for all incusive and some waiters could smile

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trace-b-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have just returned from a nice week at the Hotel Vesuvio. Very very clean hotel, rooms spotless, fresh linen/towels everyday. Food improved as week went on, limited variety, breakfast poor. In general food was fine just not typical buffet style that all inclusive normally offers. We got the impression that the 'all inclusive' guests were a bit of an inconvenience for the hotel in general, with special attention given to you if you were single or tipped well!!! Some of the bar staff very rude to say the least, with the odd exception. Everything you order has to be signed for, and you can only order 2 drinks at the bar at a time, so if you and your partner fancied,for example,a coffee with a glass of wine after dinner you've had it. The bar also stop all inclusive drinks at 11pm sharp even if you have been in the Q for 10 mins.

Shuttle bus great as road into Sorrento very dangerous and no pavements, the walk would take around 1/2 hour if you want to risk your life!

Beach towels awaiting you in your room on arrival which was handy, but 5 euro charge to change them.

The pool was great, very clean and plenty sun beds and umbrellas, however, a dog in a garden next door was left tided up for long periods and barked non stop.

We asked for a sea view and paid extra on arrival for this. We were in room 233, lovely room above terrace with Hugh balcony, the view was spectacular, and would recommend an upgrade o sea view.

Finally, do worry if you have booked this hotel as we had an enjoyable holiday, despite the hotel not being geared up for all inclusive. We are really fussy when booking our holiday and the only thing that let this hotel down was it's ability to welcome the all inclusive guest, it is very clean and well kept, just remember to book a sea view.

Room Tip: 233! Sea view & large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XlynnylooX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I am just back from my annual trip to the Grand Hotel Vesuvio, Sorrento. This is my families favourite hotel and other hotels that I have stayed in all over Italy just fail to match it's high standards. If you are looking for something that little bit ' upmarket', chic or posh, or just feel like treating yourself to a bit of pampering this is the hotel for you.
We know every year what to expect & look forward to our two week holiday every year. But to my absoloute surprise this year it was better than ever. The main reason is because there is a new Managment Team in the restaurant. Out with the old in with the new, and it makes a BIG differnce. Gusippie & his team, led by Tony & Luigi are fantastic. There is a quiet, confidence in the restaurant, most noticably that the staff are very relaxed & working very well together as a team. Food standard it fantastic, plenty of choice, five starters, five mains, and two types of cake, fresh fruit or ice cream ( sorry gelato!) for dessert. Nothing is too much bother for them. I have to say that no matter what your preferences are, Guisippe, Tony & Luigi will all accomodate you with something to tempt you. During our stay there was a group from Israel & Japan & they all were very happy with the food provided. It is amazing to see how much effort that the restaurant staff & kitchen staff put in to safisfy guests from all over the world. This year with the additon of all inclusive there was a lot of extra work for all of the staff in the hotel, but they just carried on with it like the true professionals that they are. I have to say that the previous restaurant manager, Nino, whilst good at his job, is not missed at all. Which is as it should be for a hotel with such a high standard.
The bar staff, Franco, Michele, & Vincenzio were rushed off their feet this year, continually suppliyig the high demand for drinks for the all inclusive guests. It was interesting to note that it was only the British guests that consumed the most quantity of drinks. Some English wedding guests were at the bar from 14.00 to 23.00 drinking non stop. Certainly getting their money's worth from the all inclusive. Franco was as cheerful as ever & he & his team give the very best of service to the guests in the hotel. The bar is imaculate, & they showcase the hotel beaufiully. We chose not to have all inclusive, mainly as we are not big drinkers nor do we want a large lunch. The protions in the hotel for breakfast & dinner are hugh & we were happy with a snack in town or lunch at the pool if we wanted to treat ouselves. It was fabulous to sit at the side of the large pool & bask in the heat & sunshine. Pool area is large & spacious. But it depends what you are looking for in a holiday.
Hotel rooms are spotless, with a lovely fresh clean smell every day. As are the public areas & I must say that the maids - the two Anna's on floor 3, are tireless workers who looked after us so very well.
The only down side I have to say is that I feel that this year for the first time I noticed how badly some people dressed in the evening for dinner. This is atop of the range four star hotel ( in some holiday brochures it was a five star) yet people still think it is appropratie to wear shorts, a Tee Shrit & flip flops to dinner. Would you wear this in a posh restaurant at home? I certainly wouldn't. I'm not suggesting that men should wear ties, jackets or women long dresses, but I think it might be an idea if a rule was brought in that men wear long trousers in the evening in the dining room. It speaks volumes that the hotel staff are dressed much better than the guests staying in the hotel are ( even when they are going off duty ) & to be honest again it was the British guests that were the worst dressed of all. All of the other Eurpoean's dressed for dinner, as did the Japanese & Israelies. I could actually see different nationalaties of people looking astounded at some of the clothes people were wearing.. So come on people, take a pride in yourselves & dress appropraitely as the occassion mertits it. Tee Shirts, Shorts & flip flops are ok for day wear, but not for dinner at night in a four star hotel. I'm quite sure this will cause an uproar, but it is honestly what I saw & my own personal view. I'm sure lots of others will disagree & they are entitled to.
But the standard carriers for the hotel are the reception desk. They were so helpful to us before & during our holiday. We arranged it ourselves with the hotel & Patrizia, Tonino F, Tonino D & Carlo were fantastic. No matter what you want day or night they are there to help & they really do.
If you are looking for a good class hotel, with excellent food, drinks,spacious public rooms, a high standard of cleanliness & staff who really put you first, this is the hotel for you. It certainly is for me & my family & I hope to go next year again to spoil myself again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back can have a garden view & can get the sun in the afternoon, which is perfect fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Carolyn061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel has many nice features such as a beautiful view of the sea. The accomodations are acceptable, even though the place has clearly seen better days. However, it is located, cheek by jowl, next to a residential community. The sound of barking dogs never seems to stop. I would not recommend coming here if you prize peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just returned from this hotel one week ago on an all inclusive holiday with First Choice. This was one of the classiest all inclusive holidays we have been on and it was perfect. All the staff were excellent, the food was superb and the location fantastic. View from the terrace is breathtaking.
We had a garden view which was overlooking a lemon and olive grove and it was lovely and peaceful with the only noise being the birds singing!! There is a shuttle bus which takes you down into Sorrento and if you fit in your visits with the timetable this it works perfectly. Some people did walk down the hill but personally would not advise it due to the Italian drivers!! Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 185 in Naples
1,504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,040 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £124 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a charming position, overlooking the enchanting Bay of Naples and right opposite Vesuvius you will find The Grand Hotel Vesuvio, built and furnished in a modern style. we have: large swimming pools, gardens, extensive lemon and orange groves, wide lounges, conference rooms, garage, parking, solarium, free shuttle bus into town, restaurants, bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing