We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Nearby Hotels
US$270
US$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$345
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$222
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
US$1,067
US$892
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$481
US$449
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$316
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cesare Augusto(Sorrento)
US$220
US$213
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,317)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveller rating
472
499
235
69
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
499
235
69
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busbay of naplessea viewlarge pooltour grouppool bartinned fruitlarge hotelreception staffsky tvamazing viewsplenty of loungersmount vesuviushalf boardbreakfast and dinnersalad barpastries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
664 - 669 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

A bit far out of town but has a free shuttle bus to the town which makes staying here more feasible. Stayed here with a tour group and had included dinners at the restaurant - they were fantastic, 3 course meals, authentic and tasty, though we had to pay for our drinks. Decent sized room with a balcony, but finding the room was like weaving through a rabbit warren. Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights this week, if you have a sea facing room then the views are wonderful. Meals were great, we were on a tour from Roma and breakfast and dinner were included, good variety at buffet for breakfast, dinner was a set menu with options, all food and staff were very good. Roms were very large, compared to small rooms we have in Roma now, pool was great so was pool bar..terrace bar too..would definitely stay agin..hope we get the chance to :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tasdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Ok. Various previous reviews and 'worries' have featured before. Whats good and whats not. I was 'all-inclusive', with First Choice.
The hotel is about a 6-7 minute drive from the town centre (either to or from it!!). Walking is not recommened due to the lack of path at the road side.
FREE BUS: The hotel runs a shuttle bus to/from the town centre about 10 times a day in each direction. It stops around lunchtime, when many shops close, and re-starts for the afternoon and evening. The hotel gives guests a list of times when checking in.
ROOMS: Basic but quite acceptable. The maids kept them clean and tidy and always topped up the free shampoo's and toilet paper. The TV has SKY. The rooms all have air-con in them and they are effective and quiet, even at night. They also have a FREE safe. If all inclusive, they keep the fridge stocked up (free) with 2 water & 4 soft drinks, replenished daily.
RESTAURANT and FOOD: Twice a week they have a 'buffet' or 'Gala' night for the evening meals. It simply means you go and select what you want. The rest of the time it was chose from 5 starters & 5 main courses on a menu. Vegetarian options were some of the choices. The portions were not 'huge' but quite plentyful. Deserts were from a trolley with about 3 choices. Lunch was a buffet where you help yourself. Both lunch & dinner also had a selection of salad type items. Breakfast:- mostly cold items but scrambled eggs were available. Also fruit, rolls, ham, cheese, cereals, fruit juices & hot drinks. The staff are quick to serve and were always friendly.
DRINKS: If your all inclusive, you can't get 'free' alcohol until 1pm & it stops at 11pm. Soft drinks are available from 10am. Alcohol is served with your meals. If you order a wine, you'll get the whole bottle (NICE!!).
FIRST FLOOR BAR: situated on a terrace area looking out over Sorrento. Superb views. They have a waiter service here but it can be quite slow at times.
POOL & POOL BAR: The pool is split with a small childrens section and a getting deeper section up to 1.72m. Be aware there is a drop of about 6" about 1/3 of the way in the pool. Its not obvious at all. There are seating areas and the bar serves the basics. They also do sandwiches (toasted or not) from lunchtime. Ice cream is available all the time. Crisps on display are extra.
GYM: Small with 6 machines but, if you want a run, cycle or some light weights to work out, its there, in the outside near the pool.
ENTERTAINMENT: Not much. Nothing is done during the day. In the evening in the first floor bar about 5 times a week was someone playing a keyboard & doing some gentle singing. If you want noise, disco's and late night, you wont like it here!! If you want to relax and take it easy, its perfect.
NEGATIVES: Some people are not all inclusive so pay when they get drinks, etc. All other guests have wrist bands on but you have to sign all the time for drinks (at the Pool & first floor bar). Got quite annoying. No cocktails as such.
POSITIVES: Good food and good service from the staff. The toasted sandwiches at the pool bar can be a useful snack late afternoon (after 10 lengths of the pool of course).
TRY: Try a Limoncello and 7Up/Sprite drink, from the bar! Very tasty but, you WILL want more.
Worthly of its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I was also a bit apprehensive after reading some reviews, but glad I decided to book and stay here. The hotel was very nice and the complimentary breakfast was beyond our expectations. They also have a wonderful shuttle which drops you off near the center of Sorrento. The bus driver is always on time! Shocking for Italy! Overall fun experience for my family. Our room faced the bay of Sorrento and mt. Vesuvius. Breathtaking. Pool was clean too!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank sofigigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed at the Hotel all inclusive. Really disagree with comments that say the whole building is rather tired and in need of refurbishment. This suggests poor repair which the hotel is certainly not. Criticisms about the food are unjustified, It's all really high quality and plenty of it.
The variety of pasta, meat and fish dishes is outstanding. Veal, pork, beef,rabbit, guinea fowl, lamp, red snapper, scorpion fish, swordfish, cod, salmon, all made a showing on my stay.
The salad bar was full of lovely fennel, rocket, tomatoes etc and delicious. Can't believe anyone would describe the choice or quality as poor.
The staff are really pleasant and will do everything to make the stay enjoyable. Franco, Mario, Giuseppe and Giovani were all marvellous and many more too whose names I forget. The cleaning staff were also terrific and reception most efficient too. Miserable they are not, even when presented with rude British people who can't seem to bring themselves to say please or thank you.
I took my children and the lack of entertainment bothered them not one bit, there is table tennis, the pool, lots of outside areas to play, computers in reception, a small gym, board games behind the bar, and the bus into town. We can't stand discos and forced jollity and thankful there was none of that at the hotel. There was a man with a guitar and a Korg keyboard singing easy listening favourites which suits the mood of the hotel to a tee.
Rooms are great, views amazing, no bigger pool in the area, lovely pool bar, I could go on, but just go there and you'll love it.
In a way I'm glad some of the reviewers who knock the hotel coud not see the many fine aspects. They were too busy ticking off their sad nerdy nit-picking "is it a 4 star?" check list to notice. They won't be back next year, but I will for sure, along with other people who know a good value well run hotel when they stay in one and don't spend the whole time poking about for things to complain about.
I've stayed in the hotel four times now, I tried another in town which was not as good. Other people I've met return every year too. It's the best.

Room Tip: email them to be sure.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SimeyWimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews