We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have just returned from a week stay at Grand Hotel Vesuvio, don't understand how anyone can fault this hotel, it was fantastic. We booked with First choice at an all inclusive basis and would say it is great value for money. The choices of food was great, the quality of food was good considering how many guests they cater for, especially the amazing homemade ice cream you could enjoy all day if you wanted. The views are lovely, the bar in the evening overlooks mount Vesuvius and the Neapolitan riviera couldn't ask for anything better. The staff were friendly, polite well presented and always there when we needed something. The location is great as it is not right in the centre of Sorrento but the free shuttle bus was there when you needed it and only took about 10 minutes. The hotel was spotless with fresh linen every other day, the pool area was also always maintained and clean. I am particularly fussy when i book a hotel but there was really nothing bad I could say about this and my family would agree. Overall a fantastic hotel, with kind staff, delicious food and magnificent views can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveholidays17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    427
    208
    59
    37
See reviews for
295
487
34
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have recently returned from a stay here (13th August). Were a bit concerned about some of the reviews stating that staff were surley and unhelpful. Fortunately, we found the opposite. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We travelled with First Choice, this is the first year this hotel and catered for all inclusive. (We stayed here 3 years ago on half board). Food was fine, always a good choice for dinner and also buffet lunch. However, breakfast was a bit 'samey', there is only so much cheese, ham and salami you can take. Would have been nice to have had choice of fresh fruit salad instead of tinned!. Could order from an 'egg' menu, but this was not really brought to guests attention by staff.

Don't think the hotel warrents its 4* rating though, more like 3*. Rooms were kept clean, however, toilets in public areas were not always so, on three occasions no loo paper was available! and it was obvious that they had not been cleaned that day. Near pool, there is loo and shower, the whole week we were there, a dirty plaster was in shower tray,obviously not been cleaned all week. Pool area was great, no fighting for sun beds, (possibly because they are the most uncomfortable ever!!).

Overall, we had a pleasant stay, but feel that the decor and hotel have become a bit 'tired',
If you do stay in Sorrento or nearby, Amalfi Drive is a must, fantastic!!.

Room Tip: We asked for room with Garden view, got brick wall!!. Make sure get a sea view, fantastic views ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Recently returned from a week at the hotel on an all inclusive basis with Citalia,as well as the stunning views the hotel benefits from exceptional friendly staff who are a credit to the hotel. Food was of a very high standard breakfast mostly cold items but with more choice than previous hotels I have stayed at in Italy. Lunch was buffet and normally offered a fish dish and one meat option alongside pasta, veg and salad with dessert. You also had the option to order from the poolside bar its menu mainly comprising of various sandwiches. Dinner was a la carte with 5 options for starters and main course, buffet was twice weekly in the evening. Particular mention must be made of the hotels home made ice cream simply wonderful. The hotel has several public areas that are very large and spacious, it has two bar terraces that give stunning views of the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. The pool is large with plenty of sunbeds around it and in the small garden at the front of the hotel. Would not recommend walking to Sorrento the hotel offers a regular free shuttle service that you should take advantage of instead. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good value all inclusive in Italy and in this regard Citalia were faultless in their organisation from the flights with BA, the private transfer to the hotel the whole holiday was seamless.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This hotel is set a bit higher in Sorrento but because of this the views are much more beautiful than the hotels right in Sorrento. There is a shuttle to the town that leaves quite often. We would sometimes walk to town...it was a very nice walk with beautiful look-outs.The hotel was clean. We only had the breakfast plan and it is much better than the continental breakfast in Canadian hotels. I am glad we did not stay right in town and that we stayed higher up. the pool is very with beautiful views, my only complaint on this hotel is that people should not be allowed to leave there towels on the pool chairs and then leave for hours.

Room Tip: I recommend a front room with a view of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel July 2nd - 13th 2012 - All Inclusive -

Room: 365

Pros:

-Large clean room, with great sized balcony
-Great selection of drinks on the AI menu
-Good selection of food on all days (Buffet days particularly good)
-great, clean and large pool
-plenty of sun loungers
-most of the staff were great!
-brilliant WiFi coverage (although this is NOT free)
-the extra "Tourist Tax" at the end of the holiday is irritating.

Cons:

-Not a great view (but in fairness we didn't pay for a great view)
-Very small gym with no decent free weights
-Shuttle bus got quite crowded at times, bus driver a little rude not letting disabled old lady on because bus was full on the last bus home one evening.
-after 1 week the selections for meals got a little repetitive.

Just a few points to help you choose which hotel is right for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Having just returned from a fabulous week at this hotel I am really amazed at the negative comments some people have left here. We travelled with First Choice on an all inclusive package for a week for our honeymoon and had a superb time. Transfers to and from the airport were great and the rep really knew her stuff. We had a 4th floor room and I sat on the balcony every morning and watched the sun rise over Versuvius. Ok, we had to pay a little extra for this but it was well worth it. Cannot understand the comments which say the hotel was shabby - cool marble floors, beautiful dining room and excellent pool. Everything was spotless - crisp white linen in the bedroom and dining room and the waiters were immaculate. The staff were friendly and courteous at all times. We found that all the Italians we met were very warm and welcoming, with the exception of one rather grumpy barman on a boat trip we took.
No problems with the food - good selection at breakfast with the food as described by other reviewers. We only had lunch once in the week we were there but it was very good indeed - lots of it too! Dinner at night was just as good and we certainly didn't go hungry.
Kids - we originally chose this hotel because at the time of booking it had a no children policy. We wanted somewhere where we could totally relax. Nothing against kids, but as I work in a school I did rather want a week away from them. Whilst we were there the no children rule had been lifted so there were about a dozen there. I agree that there isn't much for them to do - so choose a hotel that caters for kids!
Sorrento - this part of Italy relies heavily on English tourists but doesn't pander to them. i.e English pubs and fish and chips. We saw one small bar that called itself English and offered a full English breakfast, but it was at the far end of the town.
Trips - we went on 3: Pompeii & Herculaneum, Capri and a mini cruise along the Amalfi coast. Temperatures whilst we were there averaged about 36-37 everyday so it was hot! Pompeii was awesome and a mustsee, Capri was good if you're nosey and like people watching, it also included a chance to swim from the boat in the water around Capri. In hindsight I would now recommend that you go on the day/night trip as you arrive on the island at 6pm as the 6000 other visitors are going home. Mini cruise was ok but we felt that the boat was a bit crowded.
Would I go here again? Hell yes!!!! I'll carry your bags if you want......

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

A bit far out of town but has a free shuttle bus to the town which makes staying here more feasible. Stayed here with a tour group and had included dinners at the restaurant - they were fantastic, 3 course meals, authentic and tasty, though we had to pay for our drinks. Decent sized room with a balcony, but finding the room was like weaving through a rabbit warren. Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Property: Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing