We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$507
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,701
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$348
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$524
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$361
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$358
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$490
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$593
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$473
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$431
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$532
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,332)
Filter reviews
1,332 results
Traveller rating
476
507
237
70
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
476
507
237
70
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busbay of naplessea viewlarge pooltour grouppool bartinned fruitlarge hotelreception staffsky tvamazing viewsplenty of loungersmount vesuviushalf boardbreakfast and dinnersalad barpastries
Filter
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 1,332 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This hotel was clean, elegant and had the best food ever. All the staff were kind and helpful and made different food for my fussy son. The view from our room was amazing, we could see over the bay and vesuvius itself. No evening stuff for kids under 12 to do but the bus done to town and the throbbing night life of Sorrento was great and free!

Room Tip: Ask for the seaview or you won't see the bay at night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

On a previous trip to Sorrento, we had stayed at the Aminta, up the hill from the Grand Vesuvio and we were treated like second class citizens because we had booked through Expedia and thus had to be put in the Annex which was 1 km away from the hotel. No such issue at this hotel. It is clean, though the pace of the short-handed cleaning crew is often problematic. At breakfast, we had the worst coffee we've ever had anywhere, the selection was limited and there was no fresh fruit whatsoever in the buffet. Only canned fruit. Products were not of good quality. The hotel has a great pool. Staff were courteous and the shuttle service punctual.When you ask the reception to order a cab to the airport at the end of your stay, beware of the scam that they will present that is, that regular cabs cost 150 euros, buses are on strike and that the only way to get to the airport is via a private car for 100 euros. We have done the ride before (i.e., Aminta booked appropriately last time) and the price is 60 euros for the ride. Eat at Leone Rosso by the bus/circumvesuviana station downtown.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with sea view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laurie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My Husband and I, along with our 14 year old son have recently returned from an 11 night holiday in Sorrento, staying at the Grand Vesuvio Hotel. Our room number 428 was spacious, spotlessly clean and boasted the most superb view across the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. Definitely the best balcony view we've ever had. We arrived to find a lovely cold platter of meats, breads and cheese in our room as the dining room was already closed by this time. The dining experience was a pleasure each night, with pre-dinner prosecco on the terrace with stunning views followed by an a la carte 3 course meal, good wine (in plentiful supply) all served by meticulously turned out wait staff in dinner jackets! The pool area was very pleasant, with plenty of comfortable sun beds and a poolside bar serving toasted sandwiches and drinks until 6pm. Alcoholic drinks are served between the hours of 1.00pm and 11.00pm but soft drinks and tea/coffee are available from 10am until late. There was simply nothing to fault with this hotel and I would definitely return. If you are thinking of booking this hotel, do not hesitate!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stemp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have just returned from our third stay at Grand Hotel Vesuvio.
We have get what we expected, good service, good food and this time two wonderful rooms with a view to the Gulf of Naples.
After all these years most of the good things where still the same. Excellent service at the reception and restaurant. The rooms were clean and stayed clean every day.
A point that can be better is the breakfast buffet. In a region with so much fresh fruit, i cannot be difficult to offer fresh and cutted fruit every day and not only once a week. Also for the salad bar, some creativity would be welcome, after 12 days the same it becomes ....
And dear management, why don't you put some umbrella's on the nice terras ? During the day it is impossible to sit down in the sun because of this lovely sun. In the evening the terras is excellent.
Information told me that 360 persons were in the hotel, but you never saw them, always you have a sunchair or a place under in the shade the trees.
So after our third visit we still love this hotel for his service and easy and slow way of living.
We do not know when, but we will be back some day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neotrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have just returned from a week stay at Grand Hotel Vesuvio, don't understand how anyone can fault this hotel, it was fantastic. We booked with First choice at an all inclusive basis and would say it is great value for money. The choices of food was great, the quality of food was good considering how many guests they cater for, especially the amazing homemade ice cream you could enjoy all day if you wanted. The views are lovely, the bar in the evening overlooks mount Vesuvius and the Neapolitan riviera couldn't ask for anything better. The staff were friendly, polite well presented and always there when we needed something. The location is great as it is not right in the centre of Sorrento but the free shuttle bus was there when you needed it and only took about 10 minutes. The hotel was spotless with fresh linen every other day, the pool area was also always maintained and clean. I am particularly fussy when i book a hotel but there was really nothing bad I could say about this and my family would agree. Overall a fantastic hotel, with kind staff, delicious food and magnificent views can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iloveholidays17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews