We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I would not recommend for couples or a quiet holiday, screaming babies everywhere! this would have been a five star but the decor is very outdated, looks like it was last decorated in the 1950's, these 2 things are such a shame as this is the only thing that let the hotel down.

Great points; Amazing fresh handmade food, so much choice, best ai experience. Staff couldn't do enough for you, so helpful, friendly and lovely. Great pool, national drinks, very expensive have to pay for alcoholic drinks after 11pm so make the most of everything!

The views are to die for, stunning!!!! Would go again for the views and service, but would go out of season to try get a more peaceful holiday as I went with my boyfriend and crying babies every 5 minutes is not our idea of relaxation or romance! There is no entertainment either which is fine for couples so was surprised there were so many families with such young children as there isn't anything in the hotel for them to do!

Room Tip: Always go for sea view, will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Superb hotel, stunning views, food, wine and service. Rooms clean and spacious, pool large with plenty of sunbeds. Pool bar area large and shaded, terrace bar absolutely stunning views across the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. Not much in the way of evening entertainment, but a free bus service into town is very good as taxi's are quite expensive.
I would definitely return to this hotel, very good value for money on an all inclusive basis, food absolutely wonderful and staff very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This hotel was clean, elegant and had the best food ever. All the staff were kind and helpful and made different food for my fussy son. The view from our room was amazing, we could see over the bay and vesuvius itself. No evening stuff for kids under 12 to do but the bus done to town and the throbbing night life of Sorrento was great and free!

Room Tip: Ask for the seaview or you won't see the bay at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

On a previous trip to Sorrento, we had stayed at the Aminta, up the hill from the Grand Vesuvio and we were treated like second class citizens because we had booked through Expedia and thus had to be put in the Annex which was 1 km away from the hotel. No such issue at this hotel. It is clean, though the pace of the short-handed cleaning crew is often problematic. At breakfast, we had the worst coffee we've ever had anywhere, the selection was limited and there was no fresh fruit whatsoever in the buffet. Only canned fruit. Products were not of good quality. The hotel has a great pool. Staff were courteous and the shuttle service punctual.When you ask the reception to order a cab to the airport at the end of your stay, beware of the scam that they will present that is, that regular cabs cost 150 euros, buses are on strike and that the only way to get to the airport is via a private car for 100 euros. We have done the ride before (i.e., Aminta booked appropriately last time) and the price is 60 euros for the ride. Eat at Leone Rosso by the bus/circumvesuviana station downtown.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laurie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My Husband and I, along with our 14 year old son have recently returned from an 11 night holiday in Sorrento, staying at the Grand Vesuvio Hotel. Our room number 428 was spacious, spotlessly clean and boasted the most superb view across the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. Definitely the best balcony view we've ever had. We arrived to find a lovely cold platter of meats, breads and cheese in our room as the dining room was already closed by this time. The dining experience was a pleasure each night, with pre-dinner prosecco on the terrace with stunning views followed by an a la carte 3 course meal, good wine (in plentiful supply) all served by meticulously turned out wait staff in dinner jackets! The pool area was very pleasant, with plenty of comfortable sun beds and a poolside bar serving toasted sandwiches and drinks until 6pm. Alcoholic drinks are served between the hours of 1.00pm and 11.00pm but soft drinks and tea/coffee are available from 10am until late. There was simply nothing to fault with this hotel and I would definitely return. If you are thinking of booking this hotel, do not hesitate!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stemp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have just returned from our third stay at Grand Hotel Vesuvio.
We have get what we expected, good service, good food and this time two wonderful rooms with a view to the Gulf of Naples.
After all these years most of the good things where still the same. Excellent service at the reception and restaurant. The rooms were clean and stayed clean every day.
A point that can be better is the breakfast buffet. In a region with so much fresh fruit, i cannot be difficult to offer fresh and cutted fruit every day and not only once a week. Also for the salad bar, some creativity would be welcome, after 12 days the same it becomes ....
And dear management, why don't you put some umbrella's on the nice terras ? During the day it is impossible to sit down in the sun because of this lovely sun. In the evening the terras is excellent.
Information told me that 360 persons were in the hotel, but you never saw them, always you have a sunchair or a place under in the shade the trees.
So after our third visit we still love this hotel for his service and easy and slow way of living.
We do not know when, but we will be back some day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neotrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have just returned from a week stay at Grand Hotel Vesuvio, don't understand how anyone can fault this hotel, it was fantastic. We booked with First choice at an all inclusive basis and would say it is great value for money. The choices of food was great, the quality of food was good considering how many guests they cater for, especially the amazing homemade ice cream you could enjoy all day if you wanted. The views are lovely, the bar in the evening overlooks mount Vesuvius and the Neapolitan riviera couldn't ask for anything better. The staff were friendly, polite well presented and always there when we needed something. The location is great as it is not right in the centre of Sorrento but the free shuttle bus was there when you needed it and only took about 10 minutes. The hotel was spotless with fresh linen every other day, the pool area was also always maintained and clean. I am particularly fussy when i book a hotel but there was really nothing bad I could say about this and my family would agree. Overall a fantastic hotel, with kind staff, delicious food and magnificent views can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iloveholidays17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
1,357 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £121 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a charming position, overlooking the enchanting Bay of Naples and right opposite Vesuvius you will find The Grand Hotel Vesuvio, built and furnished in a modern style. we have: large swimming pools, gardens, extensive lemon and orange groves, wide lounges, conference rooms, garage, parking, solarium, free shuttle bus into town, restaurants, bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing