We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poached, fried or boiled?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
manchester
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Poached, fried or boiled?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just returned from this first class hotel with the best views in the world. We had a wonderful time and can not understand some of the petty gripes some of the visitors seem to have.
1) The Restaurant: Guiseppe, Pedro and Luigi run a tight ship and couldnt do more for the guests. Not everything is on view but ask and thou shalt receive. A wonderful continental breakfast in the morning including hams, cheeses, jams etc. The best freshest rolls, some with sesame seeds which have to be tasted to be believed. There is scrambled eggs laid out but you can order on demand eggs as required on toast eg "Poached , fried or boiled".
Lunch is a buffet and then a 3 course a la carte dinner. There is normally 4 choices of starter or main course but once again if there is nothing to your taste, ask and the next night Guiseppe will arrange something to tickle your taste buds. The pastry chef at Vesuvio is of the highest standard and produces 5 star food and some. ALL the food here is of a very high standard. Twice a week there is a buffet one of which is also a barbecue including whole salmon, sides of beef, turkey, veal. If on all inclusive ask for wine and a bottle of good house wine will appear.
The waiting staff are very friendly and very good at their job.

The Bar: Beautiful view across the bay of naples and drinks brought to your table. Micelle and his staff work very hard. The drinks are often premium spirits depending on what you are ordering and the measures generous. Entertainment is minimal and perhaps leaves a little to be desired. Not to our taste. There is also a pool bar during the day with free home made ice cream and drinks. If on all inclusive alcohol only avail from 1300 till 2300 but you can pay outside these times.

The Room: PAY FOR A SEA VIEW. Its worth its weight in gold. What a beautiful view of Vesuvious and the Bay of Naples. We had room 354 which is one of the best looking out over the pool and then the bay beyond. Some of the others could be noisier in the evening as overlook the road and bar but do have a sea view. The room was very comfortable, huge bed, and a mini bar stocked with soft drinks every day. Kept spotless by our maid who was always very friendly. This is definitely a 4 star hotel despite some reviews. UK hotels could learn a lot from the Vesuvio.

Reception staff are very helpful and go the extra mile.

Top Tips: When using the sky tv, select INFO on the channel you are watching and usually will give you the option to revert to english from the dubbed italian.
Best coffee bar in town is by the railway station. All the locals use it and very good coffee.
Best view and bar is "Foreigners" in Sorrento on road to the port. Has to be seen to be believed.
Top Excursion is the 4 x 4 up Vesuvious with views across the crater and then lunch at a local vineyard after. Excellent!!

Overall very impressive and a shame that First Choice dont appear to have in their brochure next year. Their loss i think.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor sea view with balcony overlooking the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graham999Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    424
    208
    59
    37
See reviews for
295
485
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hotel itself is lovely, nice rooms, lovely pool and very clean. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast was typical continental style with scrambled egg thrown in as a hot option. I only found out 2 days before leaving that you could also order boiled egg and toast if you wanted. There were no tea, coffee making facilities in the room so if you wanted anything you had to go to the pool bar or opt for room service at an extra £3 per person. The tv in the room has only news channels in english unless you pay but i still could not find any.
There were no information leaflets to advise on places to go or see, although they do have some under the reception desk but you have to ask. The hotel is about a 25 min walk into Sorrento but it is down a very dangerous road with no pavement. The hotel runs a shuttle bus but it is a free for all to get on with people shoving and pushing whether you are there first or not.We missed the bus home a couple of nights because of this and was 15 euros for a taxi so be prepared to forget your manners and push in like everyone else.
We decided to take a mini cruise we saw advertised which looked wonderful. It was called Marina Club Blu mini cruise, dont do it. The boat is about half the size it looks in the advert and was very overloaded. We did not realise it was Italian holidays so everyone and there children were there. The adults reserved seats for the children with bags etc although they were never used which left many people standing. We were lucky if you could call it that to get 3 plastic chairs to sit on then were climbed over and jostled untill we and many others had enough and got off the boat at Positano and got the local bus back to Sorrento.
Despite all the bad bits we did enjoy the holiday . The restaurants in Sorrento are wonderful and the scenery gorgeous. I would advise anyone to find out about the local transport as it seems to be the best way to see the area and is very cheap and reliable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honestannie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had some reservations having read some of the recent reviews, but in the main, these proved to be unfounded.
The hotel is situated about 2km from sorrento centre, and set well above the town. We don't normally pay extra for a view but in this case, I am glad we did as the view was stunning over the bay of Naples.
Whilst the hotel is decorated in a slightly "old fashioned" style, it is in good order and has that classic Italian feel.
The pool and it's surrounding area is superb, and was never over busy.
We stayed b&b, but we're with family who were on all inclusive. The food was very good, but for us, there were lots of restaurants in sorrento, and we preferred to eat out. The town comes alive late at night and is family friendly.
The only down sides to the hotel is the lack of entertainment and the need to use the courtesy bus to get into sorrento, as this gets quite busy.
Not many facilities or entertainment for children, other than the pool.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay for a view. Our b&b rooms were better than the all inclusive rooms ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyBernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

We visited this hotel last week. Provided everything we needed. Food was fresh and good quality, with a nice bottle of wine to top it off. Room was spacious and had a mini bar with soft drinks stocked daily. Pool was clean with good number of sunbeds. Pool bar was good and staff friendly. Regular coach into Sorrento centre was excellent if not slightly oversubscribed in evening - 11.15 was last one back which was a little early. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dseward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We started staying at the Vesuvio in 1998 and have been back most years since. The staff, the food, the cleanliness, location and views are all second to none. We always travel in a family group of at least 6 including grandparents , parents and grandchildren, and although Sorrento itself doesn't offer much on paper for young kids, our kids are happy to play in and around the beautiful hotel pool all day at the Vesuvio and love mealtimes. The food suits us all - we are all really fussy eaters! - and we always receive impeccable service and an incredibly warm welcome. I can not fault this hotel.. it is perfect for us as we prefer to stay slightly out of town, though not too far for the odd shopping trip. Best of all worlds. Thank you to everyone who looked after us so well again this year. All the staff were as helpful and professional as ever.

Just for the record, we did miss Nino!

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jinglebundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I would not recommend for couples or a quiet holiday, screaming babies everywhere! this would have been a five star but the decor is very outdated, looks like it was last decorated in the 1950's, these 2 things are such a shame as this is the only thing that let the hotel down.

Great points; Amazing fresh handmade food, so much choice, best ai experience. Staff couldn't do enough for you, so helpful, friendly and lovely. Great pool, national drinks, very expensive have to pay for alcoholic drinks after 11pm so make the most of everything!

The views are to die for, stunning!!!! Would go again for the views and service, but would go out of season to try get a more peaceful holiday as I went with my boyfriend and crying babies every 5 minutes is not our idea of relaxation or romance! There is no entertainment either which is fine for couples so was surprised there were so many families with such young children as there isn't anything in the hotel for them to do!

Room Tip: Always go for sea view, will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Superb hotel, stunning views, food, wine and service. Rooms clean and spacious, pool large with plenty of sunbeds. Pool bar area large and shaded, terrace bar absolutely stunning views across the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. Not much in the way of evening entertainment, but a free bus service into town is very good as taxi's are quite expensive.
I would definitely return to this hotel, very good value for money on an all inclusive basis, food absolutely wonderful and staff very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#9 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Property: Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing