We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“views to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“views to die for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed here for four days in september during an escorted holiday. As we were only staying for a short time, and knew that we would be out each day, we decided it was not worth paying extra for a room with a view.Our room faced the lemon grove at the rear of the hotel, had a lovely large terrace and was well equipped, clean and comfortable.
Pre dinner drinks were taken on the terrace on the front of the hotel with a view towards Vesuvius, truly magnificent.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, especially in the Dining room and the food was of a high quality with something to suit all tastes. The buffet evening was especially good.
The hotel has a large swimming pool with plenty of loungers and a very pleasant garden.
One very slight problem is the distance from Sorrento, it is all uphill , but the Hotel does run a courtesy bus if you don't fancy walking.

Room Tip: The front rooms have wonderful views but are much more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pip768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    429
    208
    59
    38
See reviews for
295
487
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed here at the end of October, the weather was rubbish, other than that it was a lovely holiday.
The staff at this hotel are really freindly and efficient. Rooms are dated but in good condition and the views from our sea view room at the front are second to none, who would'nt want to wake up looking across the bay of Naples with Vesuvio behind.
Surrounded by Olive,orange and lemon trees
The free bus shuttle in to Sorrento is very welcome and reliable.
The waiter served food was excellent.
If you are looking for peace, great views, good service, good food this hotel could be for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwindonMaggots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stayed there for a week from the 15th Oct 12. What a great place. Super views across the bay, great service from all the staff, the food was excellent and the room was very nice. We had a room on the front of the the hotel which was not noisy as some reviews had said. Overall a really nice hotel. Free bus service into Sorrento was a welcome benefit as the roads are to busy to walk along. Sorrento is such a nice place just to sit relax and watch the world go by. There were plenty of shops and alley ways to explore and just pass the time away. A trip to pompeii is a must and is not to far away. Rome is a good 4/5 hour trip but the sights are just amazing. We stayed all inclusive which was well worth every penny as we found Italy expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank captaineasylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here in August. The hotel is just outside Sorrento, there is a regular bus service to town which is recommended as there is no footpath, the roads are narrow and it is not safe to walk along them. Reception staff are helpful. Waiters are very helpful and pleasant. We were all inclusive, we were very happy with the food, alcohol drinks were available by the pool from 1pm. Pool area was very nice with an outside restaurant overlooking the pool as well as the closed in restaurant which you could chose where you wished to have lunch. Our room had a fridge and was stocked with soft drinks and water every day. Toileteries were provided. We had a balcony. The room was very clean. We noticed the cleaners were doing the rooms early. Bar area was large with an outside area where you were overlooking the Bay and across at Naples which was beautiful. Entertainment was very poor, the only entertainment while we were there was a pianist one or two evenings and that was it. This is something they need to consider.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rosiemLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed here in May 2012 with Titan Holidays with a female relative. We loved everything about it. Hotel was spotlessly clean. Room overlooked lemon and orane grove at back. Was very quiet and peaceful. We loved watching the birds in the trees in the morning. Had electric shutters with ventilation so we could have them down at night with vents open for fresh air. Food was fanstastic with a great choice of buffets and meals in evening when you were waited on. Shuttle bus into the town (gap in times from 1pm to 4pm which could do with changing but I suppose it is siesta time and when in Rome as they say) we stayed half board but ended up eating there by pool terrace at lunch time as food was so good. Would go back anytime!

Room Tip: back of hotel peaceful and overlooks an orange and lemon grove
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

stayed in this hotel from 12 Oct until 26 and have to say the staff couldn't have been more attentive and friendly. The standards of cleanliness couldn't have been higher either. There was the odd whinger in the hotel, fanning up his case for compensation from his tour operator, but his comments were out of order. The views from hotel were amazing

Room Tip: During the heat of summer the rooms on the front of the hotel will be more shaded and of course have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anniethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

spure of the moment jobbie for us --best hol we ever had- what a ball
two ladies who had all round service and smiles -- we loved it. to all that made our time in this hotel we say bella hope that means thank you xx

Room Tip: our room was 4th floor overlooking the lemon groves- lovely quite- take myour pick x
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maz351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Property: Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing