We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved this hotel and Naples too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Wayne, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We loved this hotel and Naples too”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel was wonderful and the location on the bay is perfect. We were greeted warmly and our room was lovely with a balcony and view to Vesuvius. The hotel gave us great recommendations for places to eat pizza and we enjoyed the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and view of Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    434
    214
    61
    38
See reviews for
296
497
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of an 'All-inclusive' package from Shearings. The package included flights, transfers from/to Naples airport and all meals and accommodation.
The hotel is situated high up from Sorrento and overlooking the Bay of Naples. Our room with balcony overlooked the bay (we paid extra for this) and was right opposite Mt Vesuvius...stunning. Around the hotel are lemon trees, olive trees and general sub-tropical plants.
I was unsure of the language situation but we found that all staff spoke English, as did most traders in Sorrento town.
The rooms were well furnished with tiled floors and air-conditioning. The standards of housekeeping were excellent with attention to detail and the mini-bar was kept replenished with soft drinks (all included).
As for the restaurant, this was nothing short of excellence. The waiters were immaculate, attentive and efficient. All were under the watchful eye of Guisseppi, the restaurant manager and his 2 head-waiters, who made one feel welcome and feel like a valued customer for whom nothing is too much trouble. One evening, there was a convention at the hotel which meant a very full restaurant. This did not compromise service one bit. Oh!, the food was good also, but beware of the desert trolley...calories on wheels, but if you are really strong willed, there is fresh fruit.
The hotel has a swimming pool which is clean and very well maintained. There are sun loungers around the pool and there is a bar, although we were there in a quiet time so the bar was not open.
When we first arrived, late in the evening, we were very pleased to see cold meals with fresh fruit had been left in our room. Likewise since we had a late departure, the hotel allowed us to use a room in which we could have a wash and have a change of clothes before departure.
The hotel is about 3km from the centre of Sorrento and the hotel has a courtesy bus. The road is narrow and does not have a pavement for about 800m, therefore walking is not an option. One downside is that the bus does not run regularly especially around mid-day.
So to summarise, this is a very good hotel indeed and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Why cannot more hotels be like this.

Room Tip: If you want a view to remember, go for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulKStowmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A really good holiday. Lovely hotel… great views of Vesuvius from the windows. terrace and roof, and fantastic food! - We couldn’t fault the hotel and it deserves its rating.
We generally walked into Sorrento , ( downhill) and caught the hotels complimentary shuttle bus back. We also had no problem reaching the all the tourist sites on our own, rather than embarking on conveyor-belt -organised tours and could spend longer at Pompeii for example than we otherwise may have done. We also would recommend the audio headphones there, rather than a guided tour for the same reason.
We didn’t have a room with a sea view, and did find the rear of the hotel a bit unpicturesque, but as we spent little time in our room, that was no problem.
The room was spacious, very clean , and had everything we needed, including a safe for valuables ( no extra charge) and unexpectedly, free wifi in our room. The staff were brilliant, especially the restaurant manager and head waiter.. friendly, efficient… simply the best we have ever encountered. Highly recommended.
We would not have liked to stay at hotels IN Sorrento and found the quieter location of this hotel, perfect . Thankyou all !

Room Tip: if you have an option, get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My wife, young daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights during a Cosmos tour. When we entered our room, we were pleasantly surprised at how nice and homy the room was, and when we opened the full window . . . . wow! What a view! It was Mt. Vesuvius with a classic Italian countryside near us.

We needed laundry service and it was supposed to be a no-laundry day, but somehow they made the service available for us and some of our tour companions. Although we did not really use it, it was good to know that there was a shuttle bus provided by the hotel to get to town.

Internet was not free but with good speed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a couple in May.
First of all I must warn you, taxis are very expensive, €25 euros for a journey of 2kms.(all uphill so walking is a tiring option) So please use the free shuttle bus whenever you can. The driver of the bus is very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is grand by name and grand by nature. Very big with views over the bay that are to die for. The room was large, clean and sadly missing a few things that one would expect from a 4 star. There are no coffee or tea making facilities and no iron, even though they advertise they have an iron in every room. The dining options state 4 restaurants. But only one was open. The menu was good, but there was no indication of prices anywhere. A 3 course meal... The only alternative to a la carte , was €30 each. Drinks are expensive too. But there are plenty of dining options out and about. Two within a ten minute walk. The hotel was host to a large conference and home to 4 racing teams of the giro d'italia. Needless to say they got all the attention and service.
In summary. This hotel is very nice and I can't really think of anything to put you off staying here, however there are many alternatives closer to the centre of sorrento that more than hold their own.
We also recommend the Amalfi drive tour with lunch.. Amazing views with a great commentry from our guide.
Pompeii and Vesuvius are a must. We did this across two days and used public transport... Much cheaper!!! Finally, take the hydrofoil to Capri . €35 return each, then there are many options to see the island. Hire your own boat, moped, buses, private tours, all good options. Stunning views.
If we were to go back to sorrento, there wouldn't be anything we would change, other than getting a hotel closer to the town centre..

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GrahamB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and i recently spent a week in Sorrento, staying at the GHV. I can't fault them one bit! Staff were all friendly and very very helpful. The courtesy bus from the hotel into Sorrento and back worked superbly well and was so handy. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, and we had an incredible view overlooking the pool and panning out over the Bay of Naples with the volcano, Vesuvius, directly opposite. The resturant was great, food was delicious and the head waiter (Giuseppe) was so very helpful, and made dinner time a joy. We are longing to go back again, and wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAG786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This hotel was first class we were there for our Grandsons Wedding it was glorious we could not fault the food the waiter service was 1st class Head waiter Guisseppe and his staff were really friendly also we really got on really well with the Head bar person and staff the whole hotel was spotless we had a Seaview room which was a great view overlooking Mount Vesuvio and the Bay of Naples we were lucky to get great weather for the time of year Sorrento itself is a beautiful place we would recommend it to anyone for a holiday.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kendo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Property: Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing