We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sailing under false colours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #50 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“sailing under false colours”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I booked this hotel by mistake. It has the same name as the Grand Vesuvio in Naples, but there the comparison ends. The Naples hotel is one of the world's great hotels, whereas the Sorrento copy is a pale imitation. In Naples guests receive a warm welcome whereas in in Sorrento the surly grunts of the reception blend well with the stench of tobacco in the lobby.
As the restaurant was closed I was directed down an unlit road to a pizzeria.
Breakfast was average.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose the correct hotel in the correct city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanzibar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    454
    218
    64
    42
See reviews for
308
523
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and so glad we chose the Vesuvio. I'm always wary of a hotel's photos of its swimming pool as they can sometimes be 'deceptive' but how pleased were we to find that the pool here is actually bigger and better than the photo ! Excellent pool in beautiful condition with loads of sunbeds and no crowd. The room was spacious and clean and had a terrific view from our balcony. We always ate in town except we had dinner here on one night and it was well above local average. The breakfast buffet was very good with choice of eggs cooked to order, - the staff very efficient and friendly. The edge of town location may be a downside for some but we preferred the peace and quiet of being away from downtown Sorrento. It's probably walkable at 30 minutes or so but we found the free shuttle was perfect at about a 5 minute ride. Only twice in 4 days did we cab it as the shuttle has a mid afternoon break and it's about 15 euro each way, so just cater for that. The value of the hotel more than makes up for any taxi costs.
We left our hire car in the hotel's free car park and just used the shuttle - much less hassle.
In the past we've stayed at one of the top 'chain' hotels in town but the Vesuvio was as good as that if not better. We'll definitely plan to stay here for our next trip to the Amalfi coast and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary747801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The view from our 3rd floor room was gorgeous and the hotel was spotless. Although the bed was comfortable the pillows weren't. I asked for some softer ones but they were no different. A few of the staff on reception and the dining room would have benefited from customer service training as their attitude left a lot to be desired. Breakfast was OK and on the final day there was actually toast! Dinner was mostly disappointing apart from the sweet course. In fact, we dined out a few times because of the poor quality. The pool area was nice and even better when they opened the pool bar on the last 2 days of our holiday. The courtesy bus was really useful as it was too dangerous to walk on the road to the town. If improvements on the above were made it would be a really lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

If you are staying here, make sure it's in a room with a sea view, which also comes with a view of the volcano. Oh my gosh, this was my favorite party of the trip. Our room had a balcony which we used to eat olives and drink wine. Cute lemon-yellow curtains and local decor (lemonwood headboard!) really add a lot of charm. The hotel has a free shuttle down the cliff side to the main shopping/ dining district.

Only small downside was the bed, which was a little soft for my taste, but still a very enjoyable experience. Take advantage of the tub!

Room Tip: Sea view room or bust!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FormerPatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We enjoyed our two stay at the Grand Hotel Vesuvio. Part of a group of 37, we found our room was very comfortable and clean. The free shuttle into Sorrento was very efficient and drop off and pick up times were convenient. The last time my wife and I were in Sorrento, we stayed at a place close enough to walk into the city. However, given the easy shuttle access, I believe we would stay at the Grand Hotel Vesuvio again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The reception desk employees were fairly helpful although there was a bit of an attitude. I didn't expect to have to pay €5 for three hours of internet usage. Don't expect to make any calls on your cell phone. The reception was non existent until you got down to the lobby. Breakfast was good. I was not impressed with dinner at all. The beef tasted like pork. It was pre paid for but for some reason I still had to pay for my drink (water). Also, the waiters were a bit rude. The view from the balcony on the first floor was GREAT!! You could see the bay, Mt. Vesuvius, and the city. The shuttle bus into town was very convenient. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. If I stayed here again it would be just for the view.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ree8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

You could be forgiven for thinking that the bar and reception staff were there against their will, such was their attitude and mood. On several occassions I even had to go looking for staff in order to serve me a drink.

In contrast, I couldnt compliment Guiseppe and his restaurant team enough. Food and service was faultless.

Views from our sea view balcony were breathtaking and free bus to and from the centre of Sorrento was frequent and helpful. Rooms were always clean and cleaners were friendly and polite.

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaznut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,062 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara
0.6 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Property: Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing