We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back from Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just back from an 11 night stay at the Grand Hotel Vesuvio with my wife and daughter. We had stayed there before 3years ago so knew roughly what to expect.
The main feature this hotel has is it fantastic views of the Bay of Naples, so ask for a room with a sea view if your given the choice.
Our room was looking slightly tired but was clean and a good size as it had the three of us in it.
Pool area is large and we never had any issues getting sun beds but the pool towels as other contributors noted is a bit of a joke with the €5 charge to change them!!
The restaurant is good with views overlooking the Bay of Naples service is good and the set menu varied daily.
There is a shuttle service with a set timetable which is good as you need your wits about you of you walk into sorrento. Another tip here is that the reception also sell tickets for the service bus which stop outside the hotel( only discovered on the last day).

Room Tip: Do not get rooms 252- 259 if you want a lie in as above the kitchen and they start early in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cwab64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel offers glorious views so ask for a room with a sea view. The triple room was huge. The hotel decor has not been renovated so is quaint, almost retro, but in good condition. The pool is large but not heated. The shuttle to town is free but infrequent during the day, and walking involves blind corners with no footpaths. We had a late flight so the hotel let us access a room to freshen up even though we had already checked out. The wifi is hopeless, the food overpriced and dull. The breakfast is continental but plentiful. The shuttle bus will often leave the hotel late, but leave the town early - just to keep the tourists guessing.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank CanberraAussieMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here as part of a tour for two nights. If you can get an ocean view room then try to do it. I stayed one night in a room with no view and one night in an ocean view room. The rooms have tile floors which is not super uncommon, the problems is that you can hear a pin drop on the floor above you. You can also hear everything in the halls. We had problems with our WIFI and TV at different times but not uncommon in Italy. The pool was nice and was really deep with no lifeguards and the tile around it was super slippery with wet feet and I slipped and hurt my back a little.

Pros: Nice views from the restaurant, bar deck and oceanfront rooms.
They have a shuttle into town although the roads can give you motion sickness.
Front desk personnel were nice by Italian standards.

Cons: Food is not good at the restaurant for dinner or breakfast.
Rooms are incredibly loud due to the acoustics.

I don't get how the star system works in Italy, my 3 star was better than my 4 star in many ways.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room. Try to get a top floor room as you can hear everything above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLAS313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent 7 nights at Vesuvio. We should have been warned by the “Grand” in the title that would mean it was grand sometime last century – and so it proved to be. We should also have checked Trip Advisor and not trusted our tour company - there is a reason this is 75th out of 93 Sorrento hotels!

It is billed as 4 star, but that covers a wide range of hotels of different standard, and this is not at the top of it’s class. First off, we had an argument about the assigned room, which was small and cramped, with short twin beds – not at all “grand”. We eventually got a slightly less cramped room, and agreement to make the beds up as a double. The result was a wide enough bed, but still short and a very uncomfortable, lumpy mattress. We spent the next 7 nights thinking longingly about the lovely genuine 4 star Hilton beds in our previous 2 hotels. After a lot of complaining by us and the holiday company rep, a thick blanket between the sheet and mattress improved things somewhat.

Part of the problem with the hotel is it is constantly filled with large tour groups, who stay a night or two and move on. We came down to breakfast at about 8.30am the first morning, and it looked as if a flock of locusts had been at the buffet tables. No fresh fruit left and the remains of breakfast were being cleared away, with 90 minutes left! The dining room has a lovely view over Naples Bay, but the staff kept trying to “save” the front tables. Eventually we told them to get lost and sat where we wanted not at the back where they tried to put us. Breakfasts, after the first morning’s disaster, were pretty good, with nice fresh bread and pastry. (I think our tour rep intervened here also!)

We had dinner included the first four nights and the food turned out to pretty good, with very good service. The only really poor service throughout was by the surly, unsmiling bar staff, who are clearly in the wrong job!

Main problem at the Vesuvio is it is dated. Situation is lovely and the gardens are very nice, with loungers on the grass looking out at Vesuvius. The bar terrace is spectacular, but uninhabitable owing to an archaic smoking policy. Rooms are sparse however; bathrooms badly need a refurbish; and the pool deck is boring – just an expanse of concrete with a pool in the middle. Shuttle service to town is quite good – which is useful as the taxis are expensive and the roads too dangerous to walk (crazy Italian driving).

As an aside, you only get one pool towel, which you must keep for your stay – (one night or seven!), or pay (€5) for “laundry”. Which planet are these people from? Did not notice a sheet change either.

Room Tip: Nothing to choose from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here 6 years ago and loved it. Service was great, rooms in good condition. Returned with family and was disappointed this time. Still good value and can't beat the view. Rooms were ok but getting tired. The main issue was the service in the restaurant and poolside cafe. In attentive most of the time. Average breakfast. Communication issues with staff. A pity!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Seems like a hotel that had seen its heydays in the 80s. Well run by charming staff. I think its more suited for large families or for the aged. We had a room with a fantastic view and are quite satisfied but the cleanliness of the room can be improved.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrJtravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nice little hotel up the hill from Sorrento.

They have a free shuttle bus operating to a schedule which takes you down to the shops in Sorrento and brings you back again. Clean, tidy rooms. I had a single room and the shower was tiny with the old style plastic curtains.

Pool at the hotel is great. Get there before 2pm if you want to grab a sun lounge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KylieIsTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,287 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 185 in Naples
1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#69 of 100 in Sorrento
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £123 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a charming position, overlooking the enchanting Bay of Naples and right opposite Vesuvius you will find The Grand Hotel Vesuvio, built and furnished in a modern style. we have: large swimming pools, gardens, extensive lemon and orange groves, wide lounges, conference rooms, garage, parking, solarium, free shuttle bus into town, restaurants, bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing