We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent every year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I would not keep going back to a hotel every year if it was no good. Stayed for a week this year and once again all staff wonderful from reception, bar staff, cleaners, waiters. The menu changes daily with a great variety. For example beef cheek, rabbit, guinea fowl, lots of veal, duck, many different fish, and of course excellent pasta. Not really an egg and chips place so all inclusive people expecting chips and burgers may be disappointed. If you fancy eating out there is an excellent budget restaurant verde mere just down the road. Breakfast is standard buffet and they'll do bacon and eggs on request. The kids loved the hot chocolate. The pool is one of the best in sorrento with a lovely bar area and plenty of loungers. Nice swing chair areas too with really well kept grounds and table tennis. You can walk into town downhill which takes 20 mins. The first bit has no pavement and can be a bit hairy, we have done it with a pushchair and all survived. The hotel coach runs until 1pm has a break until 4pm and if it's full will come back so don't worry about that. A taxi from town to the hotel is about twenty euro. There are som nice walks to nearby joannas baths, a cave that opens into th sea and a bar on the coast. We went on a boat trip organised by he hotel to Amalfi which was great. If you want to know anything just ask any of the wonderful staff, they can recommend places to eat and sites to see. Above all the hotel is really well kept, clean, quiet, roomy, and has all you'd want to unwind. I didn't try the wi fi though. I was reading or spending time with the family to bother with the outside world. I'll go again next year and I know I'll sing it's praises again along with others who go back time and time again.

Room Tip: Sea facing or pool facing is a must ! top floor to avoid noise from rooms above!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SimeyWimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Vesuvio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Great service!
Great food!
PERFECT VIEW!
This place is beautiful through and through! We loved everything about being here and recommend it anyone who is in town! We stayed 2 nights as it was a tour of Italy and this was by far the best hotel and view we had our whole 2 weeks we were on vacation!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeR03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We've just returned from 7 nights at the Vesuvio and were very pleased with it. We had 2 rooms with balconies overlooking the pool and with a fantastic view of the bay and Vesuvius. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a typical buffet style one, the coffee was a bit lukewarm sometimes but otherwise fine. The pool is great, not too crowded and not much sunbed reserving going on. The pool side bar is fine but a small range of snacks, however you can eat along side the pool where a bigger range is available.
The shuttle bus into Sorrento is great as the walk looks a bit dicey as there isn't much in the way of pavements (and it's all uphill on the way back) although there is a gap in the service in the afternoon. We had no problems getting on it. The restaurant is excellent for evening meals and there was a good choice every night. The buffet on Thursday was the best.
The wifi signal is not great in the rooms but okay in the bar.
Overall we really enjoyed it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 250 and 251 which have adjoining balconies over the pool and with a great view of t...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had an amazing trip to Italy In early June and didn't go with a tour group. We were amazed at how easy it was to get around on our own time and pace. Sorrento is a beautiful seaside town with hundreds of shops and fabulous restaurants and little grocery stores. The hotel is minutes from the town and provides a shuttle all day and in the evenings for dinner. It's great to have dinner in town with wine and be shuttled back. The rooms are pretty basic but extremely clean and were cleaned daily if you liked. Try to get a seaside room because the view is spectacular. The balcony was lovely and a great place to sit and have a cocktail before dinner or a lovely lunch. Breakfast is included every morning. It is Euro style so mostly cold meats,cheeses, toast muffins and pasteries. You can order two eggs any style cooked if you like. Hot coffee and pots of tea and juices. There is a fridge in the room and saved us a lot of money. We would always take our small duffels in to town and pick up cheeses,olives,salami and amazing bread and crackers for the room. My hubby would pick up cans of beer and a couple of bottles of great inexpensive wine. We always had drinks in the fridge as the bar in the hotel(as everywhere) was more pricey than outside the hotel. There is a fabulous pool area and really large pool with plenty of seating and great on the hot hot days when you wanted a break from travelling. You can have lunch out on the pool terrace. We only had a salad and soup there but they make the best mushroom soup I've ever tasted. In the bar off the pool you can get cold drinks or a delicious whipped coffee. You could walk in to own distance wise but not safely. There really isn't a lot of room for pedestrians and the cars and scooters whizz by.Yes we did do it once but take the shuttle. You will do plenty of walking in Sorrento. Dinner in the hotel was good and if you chose to stay in it would be OK but going into town was spectacular. I have to shout out the two best restaurants were Il Pozzo and GiaGino. Italian dining at it's finest. Grab a sandwich or pizza anywhere and you can't go wrong. GiaGino has a man making giant calzones in front of you and adding anything you like and bakes them in the stone oven in minutes. These can be taken out an back to the hotel. The ferry docks are seaside in Sorrento and you should take a beautiful boat ride to the Isle of Capri. Ver hard to desribe the beauty of this famous island. There are very high end stores and very average priced stores for everyone. The bus to the top of Anna Capri is an experience in itself or take the funicular to the top of Capri. All restaurants are to die for. Try gelato if you never have and if you love ice cream. The ferry to Capri is about 35 minutes and views are gorgeous and Mount Vesuvious is beautful on a clear day. We went to Pompeii to see the ruins and again easy. There is a train station in Sorrento called the Circuvenzia (maybe spelled wrong) that was sort of like the subway or tube. It was partially above ground and partially below. Very fast and in Pompeii in less than an hour.Worth doing and seeing and we recommend that you get a guide there to explain everything.We all just paid him whatever we wanted when the tour was done. The train is very cheap under 10 Euros return. This train also goes to Naples and that is where the big train station is for trains to Rome and the airport is there. At the small train station you can get a bus to Positano or Amalfi. Positano is about an hour away and is a breathtaking holiday beach town and is better to visit on a weekday to avoid crowds. It's so nice to stay in one place and leave your bags while going on excursions. We were flying back to Canada out of Rome and the hotel called our shuttle and reminded them of our pick up that morning. The coach (bus to Rome ) was about three hours but mostly all on nice big highway. They stop for a bathroom stop and snacks half way. This is a great location on the coast and I would highly recommend it for a comfortable and convenient stay. I would also recommend an night or two in Rome before flying back for 8 or nine hours. Rome is so spectacular! A shout out to Air Transat for this hotel and transfers and the best flights ever.

Room Tip: Seaside for sure
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Sharyl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stood here because we were on a tour. Make sure you get a room with a view and not a view of a brick wall like I had. Rooms started off clean but there were tiny ants in the bathroom and we had no idea where they came from. Pool area was nice and courtesy shuttle into town.

Room Tip: get a room with a good view and watch out for little ants!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lisa101572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just returned after a week at this hotel. We had a room at the front with absolutely brilliant sea views over the bay of Naples and onto mount Vesuvius we could have sat and watched tthis view for ages. The teenagers were at the back of the hotel opposite us and slept well appreciating the electronic black out blind.
The staff at the hotel were all helpful particularly our maid , the swimming pool was a really good size and stayed open until 6.30pm while we were there. It was such a relief not having to fight for sun beds
Sorrento is a great base for a holiday and the free bus quickly took us down into the town. It would have been useful to have an extra bus back in the early evenings but the walk back is fine as long as you are careful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jane476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in this hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and in reality look a lot nicer than the photos on the website. The view from the front of the hotel is spectacular and the staff are really helpful and friendly.
One of the highlights was the fact that they run a courtesy shuttle bus down and back from the town centre, which really was essential as the walk would be a bit steep and dangerous on the narrow busy road with hairpin bends especially in the dark. The only issue with this is that they could do with providing a slightly earlier bus going in the morning to accomodate people going on days out and trains going to Pompeii etc.
Another highlight was that they allowed us to have a courtesy room to shower and change in on the day that we checked out as we had a late flight and enjoyed a last morning relaxing by the pool.
Yet another highlight was that on the last day, my husband lost his wallet and the staff found it and are sending it back to us.
Our package was for Bed and Breakfast but on the days that we decided to spend some time by the pool we found the food served by the restaurant to be excellent and reasonably priced. The waiting staff were very friendly, professional and attentive.
Overall we were very happy with our choice and would be really happy to go back there again.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony and sea view are spectacular. We did not go to bed till later as we are a fam...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#9 of 185 in Naples
1,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £142 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing