We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Minerva Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$527
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$503
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$516
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$536
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$515
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$490
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$584
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$507
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,159)
Filter reviews
1,159 results
Traveller rating
896
203
36
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
203
36
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay of naplesrooftop poolvia capowine waiterfantastic viewsbreakfast and dinnersea viewtop floorbalcony roombusy roadmount vesuviushalf boardmy husband and i have justour honeymoonwalk into townlarge balconyup hill
Filter
Updating list...
826 - 831 of 1,159 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2011

My friend and I stayed in Hotel Minerva for 1 night. Our purpose for staying in Sorrento was solely to check out Pompei. This hotel is about a mile from the city center so you have to take a short bus ride to get to the restaurants and shopping areas. Most of the guests were much older than us, which I didn't like. I don't recommend this hotel for a or group of friends but maybe better for a couple. I thought the rooms were very big as compared to other Italian hotels and the balcony was an added plus. The hotel was quiet. However, I didn't find the staff to be friendly or accommodating. I was spoiled by the over friendly staff in Capri, Positano and Ravello and didn't enjoy this city very much and glad I only stayed at the hotel for one night!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We thought the photoes of the hotel were good but the real thing was even better. Definitely worth paying extra for views. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Food was great and so was the wine. Location allowed easy walk in and out of Sorrento town. Excursions available from hotel to local attractions and is in ideal location for walking hikes around bay area. Wonderful walk along the olive trees to local shore. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLD_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I love this hotel, and can only echo all of the other rave reviews. The views are incredible, the staff is first rate, the breakfast was excellent, the hotel is clean and well decorated. Location is perfect, being just a short walk to town. No negatives whatsoever.

And best of all it is quite a bargain.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

My wife and I were in Sorrento on vacation, and really enjoyed staying here. Food was very good, the room was spacious, clean, with a very nice balcony overlooking the water. We found this hotel and booked it based on Rick Steves' recommendation in his travel guide, and it did not disappoint!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Admiral_Zheng_He
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Husband and I had 2 weeks in May 2010 at the Minerva. The hotel was lovely and had plenty of original features and a relaxing lounge with books scattered around. Our room wasn't large, but very clean, and we'd paid extra for a balcony with sea view, which was stunning - as the hotel is halfway up the cliff road we could see right over to Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. Staff were very polite and helpful, although a little reserved. We stayed for dinner each night as part of our package - excellent food but in retrospect I wouldn't do this again - we'd been warned off eating locally as it was so expensive, but in the little market streets we found there were plenty of reasonably-priced restaurants and it would have been fun to have eaten out every other night or so. The only downside was the walk to the hotel - a hilly cliff road with a very narrow pavement and traffic constantly roaring past, which was a bit unpleasant. The Hotel Bristol next door [people staying there really liked that place] had a private back entrance, so you could walk down the track behind the hotel which was much quieter and safer - we used to ask to be let out of the back of our hotel so we could do the same, but we didn't see anyone else doing that and we only knew we could do so because we went for a walk one day up the path, and found ourselves at the back of our hotel, although we couldn't get in because it was a security entrance. They really could do with making a pleasant back entrance as it's fairly tatty at the back, being where the storage and garage is. The other downside to our stay was that we had a fair bit of rain during our two weeks, despite its being May, and the hotel didn't seem to have any heating so was a bit chilly at times. We also didn't get to use the rooftop pool as it was unheated, which was a shame, and one of the reasons why I chose the hotel. But I have to say, having a relaxed and delicious breakfast on a sunny day on their lovely tiled terrace, with little boats racing across the gleaming sea and Vesuvius in the background was really hard to beat! All in all a good hotel, but not for anyone who can't walk far up a hill - unless you can afford to take cabs although having said that, during the daytime the buses were fairly frequent and cheap, and tickets could be bought at the hotel with no mark-up. We used the local buses and trains to visit Herculanium, Naples and Pompeii - frequent trains and much cheaper than the coach tours [some tours only allowed about 2 hours in Pompeii]. You need at least half a day there, and there's a cafe too so you can have a break.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OxfordSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews