We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Minerva Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$507
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,701
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$524
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$361
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$348
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$358
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$490
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$593
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$473
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$533
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$431
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,159)
Filter reviews
1,159 results
Traveller rating
896
203
36
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
203
36
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay of naplesrooftop poolvia capowine waiterfantastic viewsbreakfast and dinnersea viewtop floorbalcony roombusy roadmount vesuviushalf boardmy husband and i have justour honeymoonwalk into townlarge balconyup hill
Filter
Updating list...
805 - 810 of 1,159 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Could have been more impressed with Minerva. This was my favorite hotel on our 2 week honeymoon in Italy. All the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming especially Nello! They went above & beyond to make us feel special for our honeymoon. The included breakfast was good, I had a cappuccino, parfait & toast with nutella with an incredible view every morning which is just a good way to start the day (the eggs were overcooked, but we appreciated the effort since you don't see eggs anywhere). The pool, though not heated was beautiful and warmer than most Italian swimming places. The internet was fast & free (use the 4th floor one, the 5th floor one is slower). And then the room was just spectacular - the view from our terrace on the 6th floor couldn't have been beat! Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: There is a special Rick Steeves rate
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MilwaukeeMeghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My partner and I have just spent an absolutely perfect week at the Minerva Hotel - our first, and certainly not last, visit to Sorrento. When visiting in future we will only choose to stay at the Minerva - perfect staff, food, scenery, rooms, pool area, gym, service.....what can we say? Breakfast and dinner were served on the large terraced area overlooking the Bay of Naples, Capri and Mount Vesuvius and with entertainment laid on in the evenings, there was no need to leave the hotel in search of 'nightlife' in the town which is only a short walk away.

The staff are all immaculately dressed, very polite and attentive. My partner surprised me on our 2nd night, proposing on the terrace. Once the staff were made aware by other guests they had the band perform special songs for us and everybody danced the night away with fine wine and champagne. Absolutely perfect - I will always thank my fiance for choosing such a beautiful place to propose, it was so romantic, and made all the more special by the wonder staff at the Minerva.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRahmanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our room overlooked Sorrento harbor, the water was an amazing turquoise color. In the distance we could see Mount Vesuvius. In house restaurant had delicious food and courteous waiters.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timsmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Minerva Hotel.

After reading reviews on here, we were looking forward to the trip and we weren't disappointed. We had the quickest check-in ever and within a few minutes the porter had delivered our bags to the room.

We paid for a sea view with balcony and couldn't believe the balcony we were given (room 501). It was plenty large enough for the 2 sun beds, table and chairs and 'sofa' with fold down sun screen. We were directly over the reception/jacuzzi and although it meant some noise from the terrace etc..... it didn't detract from our enjoyment. It also meant that we could pick up the free wi-fi in our room which helped.

The room itself was small but well equiped. It was cleaned daily and the cleaning staff were very friendly. One downside was no tea/coffee facilities in the room. There is a free safe in room and you have a fridge (mini bar) too.

All the staff at the Minerva were very friendly and attentive. Antonio the bar man was brilliant, the waiting staff were first class, especially Nino (not 100% on spelling) who always remembered your room number and previous nights orders of drinks! The views from the terrace whilst eating is second to none in Sorrento.

We found the food to be excellent. Breakfast was the usual continental style with lots of choice.

We had read some bad reports about the evening meals but we found them to be excellent. The choice of 5 or 6 starters and the same in mains meant they catered for most tastes but be warned, the portion sizes are HUGE! The deserts are lovely, especially the tiramisu. We had the pleasure of the Grand Buffet (unsure if this is a weekly thing) but wow what a spread!

The pool area is great with even better views. The attendant (apologies but cannot remember his name) cannot do enough for you. The free towel hire is helpful too. Although the jaccuzi was freezing cold, and I echo another review on here that said it looks good but not that useful.

The location of this hotel means a 10 minute walk into the town and although this is along a narrow pavement on a busy road, we didn't find it too much trouble.

As a side note, visit the Kiosk bar in the first Piazzo after the hospital. Very friendly and will advise on anything to do with Sorrento.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony (or ask for 501!)
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Minerva, a smallish hotel with lots of character, and views that are difficult to tear yourself away from. The staff are very friendly and courteous, and we had no complaints with the food, in fact the choices were quite varied, together with a quite comprehensive wine list. Our room was on the 7th floor (handy for the pool area), and was of a good size with a small attic style window overlooking the Bay of Naples, so we were less affected by any road noise, the downside was the less than comfortable bed, probably not enough hangers in the wardrobe, although I did make the mistake of waiting until my wife had finished hanging her clothes! The access to a safe in the room (free) was handy though. We found the walk into Sorrento was not as bad as we thought it might be and it was well worth the effort, as we found the old town to be fascinating,lots of interesting shops, viewpoints and plenty of places to eat and drink. We don't very often return to a place a short time after an initial visit but Sorrento and the Minerva could well become an exception in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mal023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews