We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balcony highlights Oct 19-22, 2011”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Hotel Minerva was a wonderful value in Sorrento. We booked a room with balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples. Our room (303) had a king bed, pullout sofa and a 180 degree unobstructed view of the Bay. Our room was clean and spacious and had exceptional water pressure. Each day, we would purchase bread, cheese, wine, pears, jarred artichokes, and olives from local shops. In the evening, we would enjoy our feast overlooking the Bay and the twinkling lights of the coastal Campaigna region. (There is a corkscrew in the little fridge.) There were fireworks in the distant cities on the horizon each night. Our last night they were fired from a boat in the Bay...spectacular. Breakfasts were tasty and expansive (by Italian standards) with fruits, breads, yogurts, cereal, meats and cheeses. Thank you, Hotel Minerva, for making our 3 night stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank finditwithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
There are newer reviews for Minerva Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here in October as part of a wedding party (20 guests stayed at the hotel). We were treated like family and looked after so well, from the room, the food and the entertainment in the evening arranged at the request of my mum.

We stayed on the third floor overlooking the Bay of Naples. What a beautiful view to wake up to! The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We had trouble trying to get the rugby on the TV, reception were there in 2 minutes to help us fix the problem. There is a road below the hotel, but it is very quiet at night, we slept with the doors to the balcony open and were not disturbed.

The walk to Sorrento is not far - in fact it assists in walking off all the pasta! Yes it is a busy road, but watch where you are walking and it is fine. There is a shop half way down the hill that sells very cheap water, and as there is a fridge in the rooms, this was ideal.

The sitting areas in the main part of the hotel are comfortable, and although it was a little cool to sit out the pool area and pool around the lift area looked very relaxing.

The food was amazing. we ate in the hotel every evening and the food was delicious, the service amazing.

Thank you to all at the Minerva for making this a very special place to celebrate such an occasion.

We have already booked to go back next year in June. Cannot wait!

Room Tip: ask for a view - it is worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

From 30 September to 5 October, my wife and I stayed at the Minerva Hotel. It was really great. The staff was very helpful and friendly (Nello at the front desk and Nino, the waiter in particular) and the location was the best. The room was spacious, modern, very clean and the views from the balcony and side window were breathtaking. The top side pool was wonderful. We have already started recommending this establishment to family members and friends. It is an ideal location to visit the Amalfi Coast, Capri, Napoli as well as the Vesuvius and Pompei. Should we ever visit this region of Italy again, we will certainly stay at Hotel Minerva.
Raymond and Louise

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The service we received at the bar and in the restaurant was excellent and nothing was too much trouble with a good choice of dishes served at the table with huge portions just to start with!.The views from the Hotel were stunning though road noise could be obtrusive at night. Our only complaint was that we were put in the annexe which had balconies so small that you could only sit sideways whilst subjected to the roar of the traffic just feet away.The main Hotel balconies were big enough for a sunbed and much higher up from the road, so having paid extra we felt hard done by.Overall though a great Hotel for our first Italian trip.

Room Tip: Avoid the annexe and the higher the better
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gav43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary with a trip to Italy and our last destination was Sorrento. We thought we would spend a little more money for the last three days of our stay and we were not disappointed. We were on the 5th floor with a beautiful view of the bay!! We sat out on the balcony and sipped our Italian wine. It is a 20-minute walk into town and up on the hilll. Nello at the front desk was a great help, too, with anything we asked of him. We would recommend Hotel Minerva!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view room!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Well, what can I say?
It was my 2nd time to Sorrento, and my mum's first time abroad.
I did a fair bit of research before deciding on the Minerva, and at 30 years old, so far in my life I have made some pretty poor decisions BUT this was the best decision I have ever made.

From the moment of landing, the holiday was just a dream.

To be fair, it is on a bit of a fast road into Sorrento, but this is made up for the outstanding views you have every single day. There was a lovely wedding on at the time of our visit, which we had the good fortune of enjoying too.

The staff - Antonio is a legend and a gentleman and Franco on the roof is hilarious and wonderful, there was no one I encountered during my stay who I can say a bad word about, everyone was like an extended family.

The food - A good choice but trust me, if there is nothing you fancy, you WILL be fed!

The room - We had a twin room and it was kept clean and fresh, and when we had an issue with the room it was dealt with with no problems.

My heart has ached every single day since returning from the Minerva, we are already looking to go back next year for 2 weeks.

If you choose the Minerva you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoe_Firth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This hotel overlooks the Bay of Naples with stunning views of Vesuvius and Naples and Sorrento,and Capri. We stayed on the top floor and our room had a spacious balcony with room for a table and chaises. The room was very spacious and decorated in the typical rustic italian decor. Nice antiques and bright colors. Very relaxing. There is a roof top pool with a bar and snacks available, the spa is on the lobby level and was not working when we were there. There is a public internet computer available, no wi-fi. The breakfast buffet was very good with many choices. Love the al fresco terrace. Great public areas with many spaces to find a nook to read and take in the gorgeous sea views. Walking distance to the main center of town for nightlife and restaurants. Would definately stay again and recommend to friends.
We booked our trip through Aventure Bellissime, based in Venice, Monica is the owner and very helpful. Our private driver and tour guide, was amazing Antonio Maresca. If you can afford a private tour it is so worth the money. We could stop where we wanted to and he would accomodate our needs. We were traveling with our 3 children, ages 20, 16, 12.
We will be back to Sorrento. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view completely worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#15 of 100 in Sorrento
2,461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £121 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing