We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, amazing location, amazing service!”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, amazing location, amazing service!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We arrived in Sorrento around 9pm without a hotel (kind of an impromptu trip after Napoli turned out to be a gross city). After checking one hotel to find it completely booked (Hostel Ulysses Deluxe), the receptionist called Hotel Minerva and got us a last minute rate for the night. It was amazing. We paid 80EUR for a great room. Though we woke up late and missed breakfast, they still served us complimentary cappuccino and scones as we sat on the terrace to overlook some absolutely breathtaking views of Napoli bay, the Sorrento coast, and Mt. Vesuvius. Though our stay in Sorrento was short, we will definitely come back to this hotel for a longer stay next time.

Parking was a bit expensive: 15 EUR for the night, but it was well worth being able to hop in our car and hit the road around the Amalfi coast. The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk downhill into town, so be ready for a trek. Nevertheless, there are some buses that will take you back up the hill. Check out both pools, including a cold jacuzzi.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philly_traveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    185
    34
    13
    11
See reviews for
167
668
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

We are enjoying our stay here very much. We leave in the morning. It's a bit out of town (5minutes) so it feels a bit removed, but the hotel views are fantastic. Unbelievable, really. The food in the restaurant is very authentic and we did not miss out on anything by eating there. They offer gluten-free options. The staff is incredibly kind and nice. We have a teenager with us. They were even able to get her to smile.

I wish their jacuzzi was heated but the pool is great. This hotel is a bit out of the way for walking with a bad knee. It would be great if they had a concierge. But overall, a wonderful place. We would definitely come again! Thank you, Hotel Minerva.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usedtolikeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days. Hotel upgraded us to a balcony! It was really an amazing view and the breezes were nice for a sweltering August. The hotel is located just up a hill from the town (the main square and train station are about 1.3km away from the hotel...nice walk if you like the exercise otherwise, bus can be taken that stops outside but beware that taxis are close to 20 Euro)

Had a wonderful stay and really enjoyed the facilities. Only thing that I found a bit challenging -- wi-fi coverage was a bit spotty, so internet wasn't as high speed as I needed for work. Perhaps it had to do with the location of my room, but connection really was in and out and slow for long periods.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony on floor 5 and above -- you get an amazing ocean view and you're well above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindley, Wigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked our holiday on the last minute and took the only room left. Although we could see from pics posted on here that the hotel had lots of character and traditional features, which we prefer, we anticipated getting the room that no one wanted, without a sea view, so it exceeded our expectations. It would have been nice to have a balcony but we loved our little corner room in the loft with its small shuttered windows on two sides, traditional tiled floor and matching inlaid wooden panels on the headboard, spotless white walls and tasteful prints in good quality frames. The public areas of the hotel have the wow factor and attention to detail - good quality traditional furniture, fabulous colours, interesting ornaments, paintings and prints at every turn, red geraniums in terracotta pots on every windowsill, and amazing views. Every day you notice something else because there's so much to see. The thing that really sets the Minerva apart is the magnificent terrace, with its red and buff terracotta tiles and red inlaid walls, which runs the full length and has spectacular views of the bay and Vesuvius. There's a sunbathing terrace and immaculate jacuzzi at one end and a semi-circular spacious dining terrace at the other, with beautiful furniture throughout and pristine table cloths on the tables. An adequate breakfast is available self service and a choice of evening meals, with something to suit everyone, waiter service. The soups are wonderful and the main meals exceptional, but the sweets let it down as they are repetitive and unimaginative, but good nevertheless. It's a place where you can dress for dinner if you want to and every evening feels special. We didn't venture into Sorrento unless it was necessary, day or night, because it was too busy and too hot for us, plus it would be a pity to miss the sunsets and views from the terrace and the entertainment most evenings was preferable to that available in town, which was virtually non existant. The small pool and cafe is on the roof with good quality sun loungers and parasols. Again it is appointed beautifully in different shades of blue and is kept spotlessely clean by Franco, who insists on guests showering before entering his pool :-) Towels are provided free at the beginning of your stay and you hand them back at the end. The room safe is also free. The price of the lunchtime snacks are comparible with cafes elsewhere as are the drinks. Despite being on a busy road the rooms are so high up the rocks that it is surprisingly quiet, apart from the ocassional screech of a scooter and the shutters keep out the noise at night. The beds are firm as are the pillows which I struggled with a little and the air conditioning is adequate and not as noisy as we have experienced in the past. We can't praise this hotel or it's staff highly enough and may even make an exception and go back one day, if we fancy a relaxing holiday instead of our usual walk in the mountains. Other people have complained about the 15 minute walk into town along the crazy busy road and it being up hill, but there is an adequate footpath wide enough for two to walk side-by-side most of the way - you just have to walk single file when passing other people. It could be difficult with children but there were very few children in the Minerva and most of the guests were over 30. It is uphill on the way back from town but is not strenuous for those of average fitness, even in the heat of the day. If I was being picky I would paint the shutters in our little room and bathroom blue to enhance the other colours and I would put some new backrest cushions on the whicker terrace furniture in shades of red ... and then it would be perfect in every way.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fridayschild57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two weeks from 17 - 31 aug 12. I cannot say one negative thing about this hotel. It has bags of old world charm. The rooms are clean & spacious. The views are stunning, but most of all the hotel staff are outstanding. They were attentive without being intrusive. Friendly & accommodating. The whole holiday was excellent & I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

What a top hotel, old italian style with bags of character, the most fantastic and friendly staff who are always there to advise and accommodate . Antonio in the bar with Antonella what a team! Niño in the restaurant really knows his wine and is thoroughly adorable . Franco in the pool bar - what a star!!!! We had a fabulous holiday and would not have wanted to stay anywhere else and the views are to die for .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel 27 July for a week. We were lucky to have a seaview room in the middle of the hotel. This had large automatic shutters which opened on to the most breathtaking view, covering the bay of Sorrento, Vesuvius and further afield. Staff were welcoming on arrival and we thought the hotel had managed to retain an old world charm, with the modern conveniences. Rooms were lovely and spotlessly clean. My only small moan would be the air conditioning was just adequate, it was 36 degree when we were there. The main hotel areas were kept immaculate as was the roof top pool, which had a small bar serving snacks etc. This was a nice place to return to late afternoon after days out exploring.

The thing we liked most however was the main terrace. The views were absolutely stunning, to sit here having drinks before dinner was lovely. Meals are taken outside on the terrace and I can honestly say I don't think I have ever stayed at any hotel with such views. The staff at the hotel were all attentive, very welcoming and friendly with special mentions for Antonio, and the exceptional Maitre de, at breakfast and dinner. The food was very good with choices for each course. We had intended to eat out on several occasions but only managed twice as we found it difficult to leave in the evening, especially after various excursions.

As stated in previous reviews it is around a 10 minute walk into Sorrento which once you have crossed the road is quite a pleasant walk down and a slightly harder one coming back but not too onerous at all.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and when we return to Sorrento will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joanne580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing