We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for the view of the Bay”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best hotel for the view of the Bay”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Minerva Hotel for two weeks during September 2012. What an amazing view from the hotel. To have your breakfast and dinner on the terrace overlooking the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius each day was just brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the hotel was kept exceptionally clean. The hotel is a ten minute walk down the hill to the start of the road to town. We would not hesitate to stay at the Minerva again but would request a sea view room next time as we were in the annex with no view.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanandjohn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    191
    34
    13
    11
See reviews for
171
683
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We booked initially "room without seaview" due to price. This was a mistake as the room had no view whatsoever. A window to the underside of a staircase and bricks and stone wall with a carbage container in sight. Fortunately they were able to change our room the next day which did wonders for our marriage situation. Next room was spacy and nice with a window to the sea and the vacation was saved. 2 last nights we had to change again and now with a balcony and re-furbished very nice room. This of course came with a double price tag so it did not turn out to be a cheap week after all. The staff was very helpful and understanding about this.
The hotel has a wonderful view from the restaurant but to last 2 nights on the 2. floor was very noice from the street below.
We did not find the breakfast very special, not much to choose between and the same every day. Eggs overcoocked and overfried. No omelets made to order. Dinner was ok I guess but much more exiting in the downtown restaurants. A choice between view or atmosphere.
Hotel had a nice library kind of atmosphere. Books of all nationalitys lying everywhere.
All considered a nice hotel but dont plan on a room with view to the back garden, there are none.

Room Tip: Sea view but not to low due to noice from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dagmyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The Minerva Hotel has the most fabulous views of the bay, the town, Marina Grande and Vesuvius. We had a lovely spacious bedroom with balcony overlooking the view. I loved our balcony as it was the end one of the section and had virginia creeper (I think) trailing up the walls and under the roof and had good wicker chairs to sit on. We booked with Thomson and it's quite expensive if you upgrade to a balcony with sea view room in the main building, but having heard negative comments about rooms without sea views and balconies from other holidaymakers, it's probably worth it. Also liked the fact that the bedroom had a bath as well as a shower, as if you do a lot of walking up and down the hills and steps in Sorrento and then Vesuvius, it doesn't half tell on your calves so a good soak in the bath was welcome.

The service in the hotel was very good and we never had to wait for anything at mealtimes. I liked the fact that you were put at a different table every meal, rather than having one allocated table for all week. If you got there on time for meals, you were sure to be given a table right on the edge of the terrace overlooking the view. Good choice at breakfast and also good choice for evening meal, though maybe could have done with more choice of a sweet. Food was very good.

I thought the hotel was lovely and was impressed with the interior including some artwork and antiquey ornaments - felt it gave the hotel more of an italian homely feel rather than just a bogstandard hotel.

A few things to bear in mind are that it can get quite noisy in the bedroom at night with road noise, plus as has been mentioned previously, if you're on floor 4, you'll hear restaurant chairs being dragged round on floor 5 as early as 6.30 a.m. and quite late at night! The pavement down from the hotel into the town is quite narrow and some scooters, cars and coaches drive quite fast past which is a bit unsettling. If you walk down to the port, it's quite a long walk of about 30-40 minutes and down a lot of steps! There's a little bus you can catch which goes up and down from the port so we always used that for going back up to the centre of town.

The hotel overlooks Marina Grande and you'd think it would be an easy matter to get down there, but in actual fact it isn't. We were advised that we could "sneak through" the camping park, but on doing that we saw a sign at the end which said that anyone found walking through the camp who shouldn't be there would be "denounced as housebreakers" so we decided we wouldn't go through there again! We discovered two other ways to get to the Marina but they're both quite a walk. Once you get there though, it's worth it. We hired sunbeds on one of the piers over the sea a few times which is 6 euros a sunbed and is in a lovely location. There was even a foreign lady who couldn't speak english doing massages at 10 euros a time and she really helped my aching calves when I had a lower leg and foot massage so was well worth it. Saw quite a few others having the same treatment too. I just loved the wild kittens in the harbour too and wanted to bring them home with me. There's some good restaurants and places to eat there to, so it's a place you could stay all day and chill out.

One little recommendation I have is that if you book a boat trip to Capri yourself (not with a rep) and an italian gentleman comes along and asks if you want to go along for a tour of Capri with him for 35 euros, then go with him. We were a bit dubious in case it turned out to be a con or disappointment but it most definitely wasn't. He took 12 of us to a lovely little air-conditioned coach with a driver which took us to the Blue Grotto (wonderful and no queue unlike the large boats from the port where the people had to wait ages for a rowing boat to take them into the Grotto) (extra charge for Grotto) and then to Anacapri where we had free time and lunch and then onto Capri with more free time and then we were taken back to the port to catch the boat home. He pointed things out as he went along and gave us a choice of going to lunch or going on the chairlift. Most of us picked lunch, but it turned out that the few who went on the chairlift had time for lunch too before we had to get back to the coach. The guide pointed out how packed the little local buses were with people packed like sardines whereas we all had our own seats. Other holidaymakers who went to Capri by themselves but didn't go on a tour said they wished they'd taken the guy up on his offer as they just wandered aimlessly round the bottom of Capri so missed a lot of the island.

If we returned to Sorrento in the future, we'd definitely stay at the Minerva again.

Room Tip: Balcony and sea view are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TillyFloss_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My Husband and I have just come back from a holiday at The Minerva Hotel Sorrento, it was simply amazing! The views are the best along with the staff and the food! The reception staff on the whole were very friendly as were the porters. The restaurant staff are very hard working always polite and quite friendly. The most helpful of the restaurant staff was Nino who taught us some Italian phrases he always greeted us with a smile. Antonio and Antonella in the bar were brilliant! We had a laugh with them but they were always professional. Antonio does the best cocktails and seems to know everything about everything, so we nicknamed him The Oracle! The atmosphere in the hotel is quite sedate and entertainment is a bit boring for my taste, so if we got bored we would go into Sorrento for a bit as it's only 10 mins down the road!

The main hotel is decorated in typical Italian style, lots of tiled floors and art on every wall more or less. The Terraces are beautifully tiled with plants everywhere which is nice. The pool area is NOT concreted it's tiled and yes it does get hot but that's the whole point of a sun terrace! The only concreted bit is the other bit of the roof away from the pool which is also believe it or not another sun terrace! Franco who works at the pool is very friendly and keeps the pool and the surrounding area very tidy, again lots of plants around by the bar and he even has a herb garden which is sweet!

Our bedroom was on the small side and low ceiling which was a pain as we are both 6ft! The bedroom was clean and tidy didn't really like the wicker furniture but that's my personal taste. The bathroom was the worst part of our holiday, it was tiled in hideous yellow tiles and the grouting was black especially in the shower. It basically needs refurbishing or deep cleaning! When we were checking out we had access to a courtesy room which highlighted the fact that our room was small and our bathroom horrible. This room was beautiful and the furniture much more up to date and bathroom tiles less dingy and no mould!

In conclusion we had a brilliant stay and planning to go back next year but not in Room 701!

Room Tip: Rooms above the restaurant but not the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink_Penguin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This hotel was probably once one of the best but for reasons that are difficult to pinpoint some areas seems now to be somewhat faded and dilapidated. It's very difficult to say exactly what's wrong, the staff are friendly and helpful in a way that only the Italians can be, almost to the point of unctuousness, but something just isn't quite right.

It may be the rooms. Generally clean but sparsely furnished but there are little bits that need attention. In our room, the bathplug is operated by a rotating knob with chrome plating curling back lethally just waiting for someone to rip their hand open on it (the knob was impossibly stiff anyway and hard to rotate) and this was symptomatic of much of the room decor, desperately in need of touching up. Our room had no balcony, fair enough, but there's no provision for a washing line inside - and nowhere to which to attach one of your own if you've brought one. There wasn't even a towel rail, clean towels were left on a stool. Whoever's heard of a modern hotel room without a line to dry your smalls? Small things like that make the difference between a good hotel and an adequate one.

On the other hand, outside the bedrooms the public rooms were very comfortable, nothing spectacular but more than acceptable.

We loved eating outside for all meals. The food was excellent and above all, tasty with plenty of variety. And the view of the Marina Grande and in the further distance, the town of Sorrento from the terrace is something that holiday dreams are made of. The whole eating experience was enhanced by the friendliness of the staff.

The sun areas are good. The lower (jacuzzi) pool area is good, clean and pleasantly decorated with tubs and hanging baskets. However the upper pool area is nice only if you like baking on concrete. Now I know that hotels in Sorrento tend to have their pools on the roof if only because of the pressure of land. This area had comfortable sunbeds, clean towels supplied FOC and umbrellas but I do wish the designers of these hotels would recognise that concrete reflects heat and makes for a baking oven. A few plants draped artistically to cover the raw walls would help.

All in all, we find it difficult to criticise the Minerva as somewhere to stay. Just be aware that there are some shortcomings with the rooms and your stay will be a pleasant one. Recommended, with minor reservations.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RA&RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West linn, Oregon, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Put your feet up and relax. This is the place. Watch boats in harbor, view of mt. Vesuvius and bay and feel your stress drift away all from a beautiful private balcony. Room and view beyond expectations. Wow x 10.
This is a very sweet spot. Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antiquecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Our first stay at this hotel and we can honestly say it was brilliant. The whole hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly. The bar staff are excellent and Nico in the restaurant are real stars!
The hotel is on the main road but there is not much in the way of noise coming up from the road.
The hotel is well situated being a short walk from the centre of Sorrento. Excellent views of the Bay of Naples.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAYBEE2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
2,395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing