We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous views”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We have just had a lovely week at the Minerva hotel and agree with the previous review ( we were in the room above)! Our room in the Annexe was adequate without being luxury and we did think the road noise would be a problem but it was acceptable during the day and pretty well blanked out by the double French doors at night. Air conditioning was needed and we discovered that it was switched off at the end of September, but we just requested ours was switched on again as we found the room too hot otherwise. We did debate about upgrading to a higher floor in the hotel, but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room and it would have increased the cost of ' a little week away' by quite a bit. If it were a 'special' holiday it would be worth considering. However I would recommend opting for a balcony and a sea view even if it is in the Annexe.
The restaurant was excellent both in food quality and choice. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. The jewel in the crown was the setting - must be one of the best in Sorrento. Delightful terrace with wet weather cover ( rarely needed ) and even in October we were able to sit out for breakfast and dinner without jackets or cardigans.
We didn't use the pool as it only caught the sun until mid afternoon and I would have liked the water a few degrees warmer!
Location worked out well although it was a 10 minute uphill walk from the town. The railway station was a brusque 20 minutes walk as was the ferry terminal. We travelled everyday on public transport - bus train boat - and found them efficient and inexpensive, but would recommend an early start as queues started to build after 9.30am.
We normally book our holidays ourselves online, but arranging an airport transfer proved difficult in this case, so we opted to book through Thomson Holdays, which included transfers and half board. This worked very well as there were few restaurants nearby and eating out would have meant hassle going into town every night. Thomsons were very helpful and efficient and the rep on our coach suggested the local wine Lacryma Christi del Vesuvio! The white, rose and red were all very good and good value in the restaurant at 17 euros. Coffee was 2.50 euros including biscuits!
I attach some photographs showing the Annexe (in cream), the restaurant and lounges are up to the top left where the balustrade is. The long distance shot shows how high the hotels in this are. ( Minerva brown brick and red windows).
We are in our late 60's and reasonably fit and didn't find the walking a problem but if you do have trouble getting about this would be a difficult location, although you could use taxis or hire a car, but driving in this area looked pretty challenging!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glendeyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

We were at hotel minerva for our honeymoon. The hotel grounds were beautiful - we had a gorgeous balcony with room to lay out - as well as a gorgeous view of Marina Grande. Probably our favorite part of the hotel was the service - Antonio and Antonella (main bartender and waitress) were so fun and accomodating- and fun to hang out with :).
The only downside to the hotel was the crowd was a bit older than us - we are in our late twenties and we were the youngest there by about 20 years.
The walk to town is about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: request a balcony with ocean view - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

One of our best holidays.

Fantastic views of Naples bay from the terrace and pool areas.

Room was lovely but we paid extra for a sea view and balcony. The room was in the annex immediately above the road. I thought it would be noisy but the room had two sets of double doors, which kept noise at a minimum. The balcony was very small, but it didn't matter because you only use them to look out over the bay. I spent an hour or so before dinner each night watching the mopeds etc overtaking or racing each other on the road - you can't buy such entertainment.

I thought drinks were a bit pricey.

The restaurant and staff, particularly the cleaners cannot be faltered. Food was fantastic.

For football fans and American football fans out there, there were plenty of games to watch on the tv in the room and bar. Yes this is why I was watching the mopeds!

Loads to do in and around sorrento. Centre of town was 10 mins quick walk. I saw a review that it is difficult with a push chair, I can see why as there is a short stretch of pavement that is very thin. I wouldn't let this put you off though.

I couldn't see anywhere better to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view higher up to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at Minerva. Our room was on the top floor . With stunning views over the Bay of Naples , although we didn't have a balcony we had a window which was small,but still the same veiw . Our room was very comfortable . Bit on the small side how ever a good TV , fast WIFI which was free, good shower, very clean, plenty of wardrobe space also a free safe,the air con could have been better though . The restaurant was superb,beautiful views, seeing the sun rise and set every day. Waiters were very friendly and helpful, food was beautifully presented and tasty, not much choice but all very nice
The bar drinks were great Antonio made great cocktails . Very helpfully at reception and the door man very friendly . The walk in to town was ok once you had crossed the busy road .
Over all it was a great hotel we will defenatly be back .

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Months before we were scheduled to travel to the Sorento area we started to read reviews of hotels in the area. This hotel had terific reviews; and, when the time came to book, the hotel was sold out. We then started to scramble for alternatives. Eventually, everything in the area got way to expensive. It was at this point that I noticed a tour offered through Viator that would include an overnight in Sorrento. The fact that it included the Blue Grotto in Capri sealed the deal; so, we booked it; and, even though the tour group booked 3 hotels in the area, we got to stay at this one.

The hotel is great! Our room was on the 5th floor, with a terrace overlooking the Bay of Sorrento and the cliffs nearby. Dinner on the first nght and breakfast in the morning was included. Both were really really good. The hotel has 2 pools (1 smaller pool off the lobby area; and, a main pool with a bar at the to pof the hotel). The pool area and bar area have breathtaking views. The rooms are big, the bathrooms confortable; and, the amenities intended to make every vacation a relaxing one (books to read, a piano player plays music in the evenings and internet access is easily available). The walk into the town of Sorrento is about 10 minutes; and, there is a sidewalk all the way there (which is important). We will go back to this hotel again one day soon. A great hotel overall!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtwoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This hotel exceeded expectations in every respect. The staff were all wonderful, particularly Antonio and Antonella the bar staff and the sommelier Antonino. The most striking thing is the view, photographs quite simply don't do it justice, we have both travelled extensively and it is the best view in terms of a resort setting that we have ever seen.
The pool area and it's staff was fantastic, clean, comfortable and equipped with everything necessary. The hotel decor was full of character and colurful whilst remaining within the realms of good taste. It was very clean, even to the standard I would happily bring my cleanliness obsessed mother here.
I think the negative comments I've read about the food are subjective of the writers palate. Being a couple who have both lived in Italy for a number of years and of Italian family background we certainly know what is good Italian food and were pleasantly surprised in the standards the hotel food managed to reach. The evening meals ranged from good to excellent, the cinghiale and the rotolo di maiale ripieno being among the higlights. The breakfast was ok. The 'english breakfast' wasn't up to much but then again you're in Italy, I wouldn't expect an English hotel to serve a fantastic pizza, so the phrase 'when in Rome...' is rather apt here.
Apart fromt he hotel itself the location is fantastic in terms not only of the local amenities but the ease of which one can visit other places of interest including Capri, Ischia, the Costiera Amalfitana, Pompei, Vesuvio, Naples etc etc. There are local buses, trains and boats to take you to all of these places. Worthwhile doing a bit of research on where you want to visit before you leave then make your own way there via public transport rather than pay the expensive excursion fees.
All in all, great value for money and a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppi-FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here in september 2012 for 10 days and was delighted with the choice as we were well taken care of and the views alone were worth staying there. The entrance is not particlarly welcoming as it is immediately off a road without a pavement and the reception is then accessed via a lift.
The fact that the hotel is elevated up a hill is the reason for the stunning views over Sorrento and across the Bay of Naples to Mount Vesuvius, a scenic backdrop whilst having breakfast and dinner in the outside dining area. The breakfast was ok with excellent coffee and juices.
There is a varied choice for dinner and we had no complaints about the food, most of the staff were professional and friendly especially Nino in the dining area.
We spoke to a few people staying down in the Town who did not have a pool and because there is no easily accessable beach we were pleased to have a smallish but very adequate pool and area serving drinks and snacks with comfortable sunbeds , again with the views.
The walk from town is nothing and I can't understand why people would even mention it.
We stayed in room 709 (sea view) which had an access door with a buzzer activated early in the morning by staff and caused us to be woken but the manager arranged to sort this out for us. No problem at all with road noise.
Would I return to Minerva ? definitely!
.

Room Tip: Get room without outer access doors close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
2,511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
981 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £67 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing