We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a view? Stay here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Want a view? Stay here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

My wife and I spent a week here, returning October 19th. The view across the bay towards Vesusius with Sorrento to the right can only be described as stunning. We stayed in room 601. The 7th floor rooms seem to have small windows facing the bay. You need to be on the 5th floor to get a balcony but as the front of the hotel doesn't get the sun, we weren't disappointed. However, if you want to relax on a balcony, ask for room 501 as that room has a large balcony. Caution ladies, our room did not have a mirror though there was one in the bathroom. The room was not very big but had very good storage - a large double wardrobe and several drawers (8?). The shower is drench style and works well. No problem with pressure and hot water. Bathroom also includes a bidet. The hotel position is great if you are able to walk without too much difficulty. There is a pavement into the town - around a 15-20 minute walk but beware it's downhill to the town and uphill back! The swimming pool is on the roof with a couple of secluded sun bathing areas. We saw a pod of dolphins from here! The staff are excellent. Tonino runs the small restaurant. He was fantastic. Breakfast is simple continental style: fried eggs and bacon one day, scambled and sausages the next, cold meats, cheese, cereals, yogourt, chocolate tart! etc. Dinner is 3 course, served, not buffet. Food is good and served quickly. This is a small hotel. There was no evening entertainment and we don't recall any music being played at meal times. You'll find books to read everywhere though not all are in English. We stayed in Sorrento 6 years ago at the Grand Vesusio. Would we stay there again? No though they have an excellent pool but we may stay at the Minerva again as we found nothing negative about it. Four star? A bit generous but certainly a high three star.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, ask for the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    183
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
166
659
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Booked this hotel for a short break towards the end of the season. Having had an extremely negative experience in Venice earlier in the month we were a little apprehensive of hotels in Italy. However we loved everything about the Minerva, from the doorman helping us across the road with our luggage to the welcome from reception everything was done to make our stay the best.

The hotel is quite individual and I loved the decor and the tiles everywhere. Public areas are very spacious and we enjoyed the roof top pool and the terrace outside of reception, both with stunning views of the coastline. As the hotel was not full we were upgraded to an attic room with a sea view, the room was very comfortable and suited our needs well.

Breakfast was also served on the terrace and it was a pleasure to sit and enjoy the views whilst planning our day. The town of Sorrento is a short walk down the hill and we had some great meals in a variety of restaurants all recommended by other Trip Advisor reviewers, Leone Rosso, Lanterna and Di Gignio were all very good and reasonable in price as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishmishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Everything about this hotel is splendid. The staff, the service, the location, the view, the layout, the food, the facilities. And there's a bus stop right outside. Again, splendid. 5 stars from me.

I was going to add a photo of the view, but I wouldn't like to spoil it for first time visitors.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinLaRoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toledo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Everything about this hotel was excellent. Quite a hike from rail station with baggage (would recommend Taxi or bus) but easily convenient to explore otherwise. Boat to Naples vs train to naples worth the price. Train was like the Tokyo or NYC subway at rush hour.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sblack3412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I chose this hotel based upon the Rick Steve's guide book review and it was great. The view is amazing and the service was very good. The front desk helped us book a couple day trips (to the Isle of Capri and a bus tour down the Amalfi Coast). They also helped us make dinner reservations at several places in town. The room was spacious and the out deck was huge with a wonderful view of Sorrento, the bay of Naples, Mt Vesuvius, and Naples.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodrich73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

When we arrived it was dark, the place did not look much from the road. Once you get up to reception you see the views.
We had a room for 3 and it was at the very top of the hotel, it was a big room. Everything about this Hotel is understated, the Staff were great and everyone of them made our stay very special.
The location was perfect, and although the Hotel is up a hill from the town centre it is a gentle hill and a great way to walk off the calories. Maybe its not what some people would expect from a 4 star, but I would not change anything about it. Would I go back? Yes I certainly would.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donellad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I read lots of reviews, but don't really write many. However, after reading a recent one I felt compelled to tell you about the beautiful Minerva.
We have visited this hotel twice, the last time was at the end of July this year. It is captivating and will leave you with wonderful memories on your return home. The location can't be beaten, and the view from the terrace is unbelievable - in fact we could have quite easily spent the whole day and evening on the terrace it is so wonderful.
The waiting staff are all excellent and are so helpful and friendly. Antonio and Antonella are equally wonderful, and Franco at the pool is the best! He keeps it very clean and well organised and we like that! The chambermaids really were like magic - we couldn't believe how our room was tidied without always seeing anyone about. It was, without doubt, a pleasure to see all these familiar faces again.
The hotel is very nicely decorated in cheerful Italian colours. We have had rooms with balconies each time and wouldn't do it any other way, as to wake up with a view of the Mediterranean, Mt. Vesuvius and the town of Sorrento below (and hearing it's church bell telling us the time), is unbeatable.
It all added up to the stuff that dreams are made of.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3loveitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing