We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Minerva The best resort-hotel I have ever stayed in !”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Minerva The best resort-hotel I have ever stayed in !”
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Although existing reviews of this hotel are good I was a little worried because of the few critical reviews, I need not have worried.
We booked through Airtours as it was by far and away the cheapest package, again I was concerned, worrying that maybe they bought up the cheaper rooms, once again I need not have worried - We had a fantastic 3rd floor room (302) with large balcony and sea view. Views from everywhere in this hotel are it's crowning glory; go to the huge terrace, the dining room or the pool terrace and you will have a simply breathtaking view of Vesuvius, the bay, Naples (in the distance) and Sorrento below and to the side. I don't think you could get a better view.

The service throughout the hotel was 1st class, all the staff speak excellent English and are genuinely helpful and friendly. We were half board and the food was very good with plenty of choice, drinks were reasonably priced too.

A short 10 minute walk will take you to the center of Sorrento which is a beautiful and thriving town with plenty of small shops, bars and restaurants.

In summary a great hotel, well maintained and spotlessly clean with lots of space and the best staff imaginable. We had the best holiday and this was largely because of the hotel.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — I cannot fault the hotel at all
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BadBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    191
    34
    13
    11
See reviews for
171
683
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

We had an excellent stay. The room had breath taking views and the service was fantastic. The terraces and pool are beautiful

The hotel does seem to be more popular with the older set. We are in our mid-30s and were the youngest ones there by far.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10centcoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2008

What a great hotel, fantastic views and food to die for,so don`t expect to go home without gaining a little weight. The staff are really friendly and are always willing to help(especially NINO one for the ladies ). Don`t worry if you can`t get a room with a balcony as there is a large terrace to take in the views of the bay of naples whilst sipping a glss of vino.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank taff53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2008

My parther and I stayed in the Hotel Minerva, Sorrento for a week in April 2008. We'd decided to stay here because of the beautiful views described on tripadvisor and the Minerva's own website and we certainly weren't disappointed.

We had a double room with a balcony, which had fantastic views (Sorrento, the bay and Vesuvius), sun in the morning but shady in the afternoon which is perfect to avoid the hot sun. The room itself was quite nice - traditionally styled rather than particularly modern (which we usually prefer) and a fair size. Breakfast was nice, with helpful waiting staff who spoke excellent english but also made the effort to understand my struggling Italian which made a big difference. However, again, the amazing view of Sorrento was the big winner here, which really was worth any extra price paid here.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk outside of the town, up a fairly steep hill, with quite a narrow path in places. The road was really busy with traffic, no matter what time of day, so it really wouldn't suit people with children. That said, we really enjoyed our saunter to and from the town, and found that dodging the traffic added an extra layer of italian authenticity to our Sorrento experience., especially after a bottle of Prosecco. The noise from the busy road did not disturb us on our balcony because most of the hotel is 5 or more floors up... There is actually a bus stop directly outside the hotel which goes straight to the center of Sorrento so you don't actually have to walk - we just preferred to. The bus round the Amalfi coast also stops there too - if you signal determinedly!).

The staff were very friendly, helpful and smiley - although the internet was not always working while we were there, staff made no charge when it finally was working as compensation.

On the negative side, the room doors needed to be slammed shut, which was irritating when other guests left early morning - we almost got up to comment about this... almost!

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay in this hotel, and I would not hesitate to recommend it. It definately gets an above average for the hotel itself and a 'wow fantastic' for the view.

  • Liked — Unbelievable views!
  • Disliked — Noise from other guests slamming hotel doors on their (early) way to breakfast!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JandD_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

We have just returned from a week at Minerva hotel. It is lovely hotel with stunning views. We had a room with balcony & sea view. The hotel was spotless, staff excellent nothing was too much trouble & their english very very good. Location very good, about 10 mins walk to bars & restaurants.
Thanks again Minvera hotel for great holiday in Sorrento

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CorkRoseW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2008

We were very happy with our stay. The view is amazing and the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and charming - make sure to reserve one with a balcony.

If you're arriving from the train station, I recommend a taxi to the hotel. Catching the bus is tricky and it's hard to know your stop the first time.

I recommend this hotel if you want to stay on the via Capo.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyducktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2008

My husband and I stayed there on our honeymoon, what a hotel, location, staff, food. everything was excellent. If I won the lotto I would live there. We arrived there and the owner asked what brought us to Sorrento, explained we were on our honeymoon, A few hours later when we returned to our rooms after a few blue lagoons in the beautiful bar terrace, the waiter arrived with a bottle of champagne, which we both enjoyed on the balcony. We had the most wonderful week in hotel. On departure we asked about a taxi back to Naples, the owner arranged a taxi, which was like a guided tour. The driver explained every little place of interest on the way to the train station. It was all just breathtaken. Would highly recommend this hotel.

SUPER

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laineyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
2,395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing