We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & Reserved Break.”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Reserved Break.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is located on the very edge of town, 3-4 minute walk into town down a very narrow sidewalk. Not a hinderance at all. It gives you that little extra time to appricate the sun.

The staff at the hotel are all bilngual and friendly, not invasive on your chat but attentive to your needs. They are constantly on the move and making sure that everyone is looked after.

The meals are limited and if you get bored and quick walk into town and you have a mutlitude of choice at your disposal.

The room we had 402 was adequate but may need an update soon. Wi-fi signal was varied and weak at most points. All ways clean and fresh. The main issue that we had was that you have to have the balcony door shut in order for the aircon to work.

Its a beautiful place to stay and very relaxing. Perfect for couples and families with teens.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthonySmith27UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    191
    34
    13
    11
See reviews for
172
684
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Beautiful hotel in Sorrento with an amazing view! We had two rooms with balcony's as we were travelling with our 3 kids and they weren't able to accommodate us with one room big enough for a family of 5 at the time of our travel. Our 2 rooms were essentially side by side so it worked out fine and the girls managed fine (and actually preferred) in their own room. The food at the hotel was great and service was very good. Really the only thing I could say that needed improvement was the power of our air conditioning in our room. We prefer a cool room at night to sleep and although we had air in our room it was VERY hot outside during the time we visited Sorrento and it seemed that our room never got cool enough for us at night. A minor complaint to say the least because the rest of our stay at the hotel and in the area was fantastic.

Room Tip: A room with a view is worth it. It's gorgeous. A balcony would be nice but not necessary as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Just wrote a long review of the Minerva and the website locked up..... so here's the short version as I'm not doing it again -
Perfect authentic Italian hotel with brilliant staff, great food and a view and location which you will struggle to better. Upgraded as it was our honeymoon and got room 715 which had an awesome duel aspect view from the large balcony. My Wife and I will certainly be returning.
Only gripe was that the weather was better back in Manchester at the time of our vist................. pool guy said it was the worst weather for 25 years.... take's more than that to ruin the Minerva which was still very very good ..... mind Vesuvius might do it : - )

Room Tip: 715.... what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

we have run out of superlatives for this home away from home. to be truthful I wish our home were half as beautiful as Minerva. & as for the location-nowhere in the world as stunningly beautiful. look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: for God sake reserve a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackglavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liss, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I am feeling very depressed after returning home from the Minerva! We stayed in an annex room but the traffic noise was fine and having a balcony and a view made getting up in the morning a lot easier which was fortunate as we went on excursions every day and some of them started rather early! The food at the Minerva was exceptional and I had nothing to worry about as a vegetarian. The staff are lovely, particularly the drinks waiters, and the highlight has to be the astounding view of Vesuvius! If we ever return to Sorrento, we'll certainly stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JennyHP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-le-Dale
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

What a wonderful week! From the plate of cold cuts waiting for us on our late night arrival, to the fondness of the farewell on our last day, it couldn't have been better. All the staff are so professional, friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble and it seemed they took pleasure in providing an exceptional service. The room was big by Italian standards with a full bathroom, kept spotless. Air conditioning worked fine, and the little balcony with the view to sooth your soul was perfect. Mini bar was not overpriced, neither were the drinks from the bar. The food was probably the best we have ever had on a half board basis in Europe. The views from the public areas, well everyone has already mentioned them. The pool is beautiful, we don't usually do pools, but when we saw how clean it was and that it had a jacuzzi at the shallow end, we just had to cool off in there. There is a small gym with what looked like brand new equipment. Entertainment on the terrace in the evening was lovely, and made us smile. The walk into Sorrento was easy for us, you just need to take your time when passing other people as the pavement is quite narrow in places and the road really is busy. The hotel is a quirky mix of styles, which really works, and if you forget your book, there are plenty to chose from all round the place. But the staff and service really made our week, would not hesitate to return, so Ciao for now!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbados_Rum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-le-Willows, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I have just completed our sixth stay at the Hotel Minerva in Sorrento. Our first stay was in 2008 and we have returned every year since then. It goes without saying that we enjoy holidaying there. The view of Sorrento and the bay of Naples from the Minerva is truly breath-taking; new guests alighting from the lift stare open mouthed and walk in a trance like state to the front of the terrace gently mouthing the words “Oh my God” as they see the vista for the very first time.
The rooms are comfortable, light and airy and are kept beautifully clean by the pleasant and cheery house-keeping team.
The terrace restaurant is a delight and is staffed by a team of waiters who do their utmost to make your meal a special occasion; the menus for breakfast, lunch and dinner are varied and of a very high standard serving local, national and international dishes that leaves one feeling very satisfied cum the end of the meal.
Spending our evening on the terrace while listening to the charming singer as we sip a glass of our favourite wine was the perfect end to the day.
One of the reasons we return each year is because all the staff, both front of house and back room, are friendly, polite, helpful and they do all they can to make your holiday a memorable one.
grazie mille e ci vediamo l'anno prossimo!
Thank you very much and see you next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mersey_Jazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,062 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#15 of 100 in Sorrento
2,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing