We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minerva Hotel Sorrento”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Minerva Hotel Sorrento”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We are so glad we chose this hotel. The views are outstanding but it's also only a ten minute walk down to central Sorrento with easy transport links to the Amalfi coast, Herculaneum, Pompeii, Vesuvius etc... The waiters, cleaners, pool attendants and the hotel owner are extremely frendly and accommodating. Especially as we were the only ones who had children! The high chairs were always prepared for every meal. Child friendly meals and drinks were provided. The hotel owner even took the 6 month old baby away at mealtimes and entertained him to enable his parents to eat undisturbed! I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to people of any age.

Room Tip: The attic rooms only have small windows, but you can see the bay of Naples from the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    189
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
169
675
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Minerva in July and it was our favourite hotel of the entire month in Italy. The very friendliest staff, especially the gentlemen at breakfast, the most spectacular view and a lovely room with frescos! The terrace for breakfast and dinner is unsurpassed and the food was great. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBCall2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect being about 15 minutes walk away from the town centre and being situated a little up the hill it makes for stunning views of the coast and the town. The rooms are of a decent size and have a really nice, traditional feel whilst also being immaculately clean. The staff were fantastic and extremely friendly and welcoming, the guys at the pool and the waiters were all great and all the maids always had a smile on their faces. The only thing that brought the place down a bit was the food. The breakfasts, lunches and starters were generally fine but often the main course at dinner was a little under-par. It was nothing terrible as there are so many places to eat in the town but I would recommend this place for everything other than an evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar Fife
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just returned after a wonderful week, being totally spoiled by the wonderful staff in the Hotel Minerva, we can't thank them enough for making our stay just perfect! The hotel has an enviable situation in Sorrento giving the most fabulous views of the bay of Naples, but only a short stroll from town. Our room was perfect with all the amenities we could want, and our bed linen was changed daily. The restaurant and bar staff were wonderful especially Antonio and Antonella !! We were half board, and intended eating out one evening, but the food was so good that we ate in every evening. We stayed in this hotel many years ago and intended to return before now, but wont leave it so long until our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view on an upper floor, and with balcony if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiaoraCuparFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I don't know where to begin with this wonderful hotel! My mom and I just came back from a two week stay in France and Italy. We wanted to visit Sorrento as I'd heard great things and frankly I can not imagine staying anywhere else!! The views, the staff, the FOOD! It was all magical. It was beyond anything we could have imagined. They made our stay so wonderful, I never wanted to leave.

I emailed the hotel about a week before as I'd been researching hotels and this one was top on my list. I asked for a sea view room and luckily they had one free balcony/sea view room. We arrived around 12 our first day and were stunned by the location, it's right on the highway literally across from Mt. Vesuvius. We went in to a beautiful lobby and up to the 5th floor where we were greeted by Antonella (whom we loved so much we want to take her home!). The lovely porter took our bags up to our room as we checked in. Antonia, the loveliest woman, the owner I believe, was the nicest and greeted us and made sure we were comfortable and looked after during our stay.

The room we stayed in was just breathtaking! It is beautifully decorated in bright jubilant colors.The tile on the floor is beautiful! the amenities are top notch and the room itself was big and pristine, not one corner of that had any dust - this was especially nice as my allergies got a break, they were horrible in Rome! Back to the room, as I said the decor is fabulous but all this built up to the moment we opened our beautiful french door balcony. WOW! Mt. Vesuvius is staring back at you and the Bay of Naples is at your fingertips. I never did tire of looking at that view during our entire stay. They have lounge chairs and a table to have your breakfast or dessert in the comfort of your own balcony.

Since we were tired from all of our sightseeing we decided not to do anything while in Sorrento and just eat and relax! And we did just that, there is a FABULOUS rooftop pool in the hotel, which again has stunning views! We ordered some wine and swam, had some gelato, and took in the views. Is there anything better in life? After we were tired of laying in the sun we headed downstairs to their magnificent restaurant and yes, it also had the stunning view! the food was DELICIOUS all fresh and seasonal! The service is exceptional, the best we had in all of Italy! Antonio, our waiter was patient and attentive. Did I say the food was delicious!?

At night, there is dancing and singing in the roof of the hotel. A little music, a little wine, and Sorrento at night - just when you thought it couldn't get better. The breakfast is also great, with a great variety of food and all fresh and delicious. After breakfast we headed out into the town for a bit which is only a 10 minute walk. It's the perfect location as it is far away from the hustle and bustle but not too far from it either.

All in all, my mom and I were so happy with this hotel! The people from the management to the cleaning ladies were amazing, so friendly and warm and caring. They even arranged a taxi service from the hotel back to Napoli for us. They also have tours they can arrange to Capri and Pompeii but as there were so many tourists the weekend we went and we wanted to relax we just stayed at the hotel. We had everything we could have wanted there and more. We decided to make this our family hotel and plan to come back very soon to Sorrento and stay at this wonderful establishment! If you have the chance to visit Sorrento go to Minerva GO, GO, GO!!!

Room Tip: The balcony room is a bit pricier but worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miluska29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at The Minerva for our honey moon and dont have a bad word to say. The hotel and the staff were absolutely amazing.
We paid extra for a sea view and balcony and were so glad we did. The view is superb and having thr balcony was wonderful to be abke to sit out and enjoy the view with a glass of wine!
We were on half board basis and found the food to be excellent. There was a great selection for breakfast and the dinner choices were diverse too. The standard of the food was superb and the portion sizes were large ro say the least.
A truly wonderful stay and we woukd rate this hotel as 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FearnFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks holiday in Sorrento in the Minerva hotel with our nine month old baby. We were rather apprehensive before going as we had booked a standard room (as on a budget attending a wedding out there) and had read several reviews on here that had said these rooms were not great. My wife ended up emailing the hotel prior to our visit to question a few things such as if there was room for a cot and could we have a kettle etc. We always got a pleasant response and we also booked a private transfer from the airport through the hotel as we didn't fancy the drive in or the €15 a day parking fee.
Once we arrived at the hotel and to our room (610) we were pleasantly surprised and feel we must defend the standard room! The room was larger than we had imagined and very clean, they had also put a kettle in our room even though we only enquired about it which was nice. We had a large window with no view but that was expected and we had the shutters shut to keep the room dark for our baby's naps! The best part about our room was it was tucked away at end of corridor and round a corner- many other reviews mention traffic noise/noisy doors etc but in our room we heard none of this!! It was perfect for our baby sleeping. We could hear a light hum that we think may have been the swimming pool generator but it was no louder than air con and did not disturb us. As long as you know what to expect with a standard room (no view or balcony) it really is perfectly adequate for the price we paid.
The views from the hotel really are breathtaking and we didnt find any other place in Sorrento with better ones! Breakfast was fantastic, a range of meats, cheeses, eggs, bread, cakes and pastries all with fresh coffee and juice sat over looking Mt.Vesuvius. The staff were always very helpful in setting up a high chair for us.
The pool was extremely clean and very well kept by the pool man who clearly takes pride in his work. Towels were available for the sun loungers which we had each day without trouble, once again brilliant views from the pool. There was no baby pool but there are steps to the pool and a bench at one end with jacuzzi jets which our baby liked. We had our own baby float but I noticed the pool man lending another family one.
The rooms are cleaned daily and new towels provided, A/C worked well for us although admittedly our friends that we were with did have a bit of trouble with theirs.
We only ate in the hotel once for dinner but we enjoyed it. The other nights we walked into Sorrento and used our baby carrier - the walk next to the road is fine, the road is busy but its really not that far into the centre. On our final evening we were given a bag of food for breakfast the next morning as we were leaving early, we found this a really nice touch. We also thought it was very honest of the hotel to refund a 9euro charge tax to us they had mistakenly charged us for our baby - we hadn't even noticed but they sought us out to make sure they gave it back.
Overall we had an enjoyable time and would definitely recommend the hotel to others, not only for couples but for families too.

Room Tip: If you want a good standard room, 610 was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamespotter1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,066 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing