We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back to Minerva!!”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was my first trip to Italy and this was my first hotel of the vacation. Prior to booking, I did tons of internet research before I finally committed to a hotel. I always received prompt and courteous responses from Antonietta - before and after booking.

It was my honeymoon and when I booked, a sea-view room was not available. I emailed Antonietta to see if an upgrade was possible and she was quick to assist. When I arrived at the hotel and saw our room, I was amazed! We stayed in room #620 and I cannot imagine a room with a better view of the bay and Mt. Vesuvius. It was, by far, the best room out of the 5 we stayed in during our Italian honeymoon!!

We didn't eat at Minerva restaurant except for breakfast. Italian breakfast is not a typical American breakfast... But we enjoyed the selection of meats, cheese, breads and pastries.

I loved the short walk into town and the town of Sorrento. Especially at night, when the main street is closed to vehicular traffic and everyone, including locals, is out for a stroll. I will definitely be back to Hotel Minerva.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2TakeMeAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Minerva. Lovely hotel, extremely clean, spectacular views from their terraces, and very helpful and kind staff.[especially Nello] Unfortunately we were not able to book a room with a sea view, so the room was very close to the street. [Very noisy from the traffic] It didn't bother us too much because we spent most of the time on the terraces for breakfast and cocktails. Price of the hotel is very reasonable. Location is excellent ...about a ten minute walk into Sorrento. I would definitely go back to the Minerva. I'm missing it already. .Also, save your money and pass on Capri...a tourist trap.

Room Tip: Make sure you do get a room with a sea view away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranMB4838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Minerva hotel for a few nights during our honeymoon. The views from the room and rooftop pool are spectacular and the room itself was incredibly spacious with a lovely balcony. The location was also great; a short walk to town and restaurants but not right in the middle of the tourist craze. We were a bit disappointed with the service, however. We were very used to accomdating concierge service from other Italian hotels and unfortunately at Minerva we instead felt like we were pestering with every question we asked, particularly restaurant recommendations. The hotel helped arrange for an in-room massage but the fold-out beds they provided were not sturdy and slipped/squeaked throughout the entire massage, making it hard to really enjoy. Additonally, the therapists they provided did not speak English (which I understand is to be expected) but chatted and giggled in Italian throughout the entire massage. Again, not exactly relaxing. While the pool and rooftop area are beautiful and spacious, it does get a bit crowded and loud at times. This was fine as we had a few nights in Positano at a more adult-friendly hotel and the service at the pool was great at Minerva. Just somethign to keep in mind. Overall, I would recommend Minerva to anyone looking for a beautiful view and prime location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and 12 year old son enjoyed five nights at this lovely hotel. Our room was bright, airy with a lovely patio overlooking the sea with a view of the town and Mt. Vesuvius. The atmosphere was relaxed and charming.The breakfast was awesome with great service. We had an exciting time visiting Pompei, Naples exploring Sorrento, as well as lounging at the pool. We were greeted with chilled prosecco and fruit for our anniversary. We have wonderful memories and would love to return one day.

Room Tip: There is a new part and and older part of this hotel. We were in the older part, one floor above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvialuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was our second trip to the Minerva Hotel this time for longer and it was again perfect! The staff were all the same and again friendly and helpful! The pool area has been refurbished since we were there last year the pool was much brighter and Franco was very funny and engaging! Big shout out to Antonio and Antonella on the bar again a great double act and kept us very entertained!We love this hotel and will be back again next year!

Room Tip: Although the rooms on the 8th floor are attic rooms they are the best for low noise and good views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pink_Penguin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Before booking we read all the reviews and thought surely some are an exaggeration. They are not. Wonderful staff from front of house to the cleaners, wonderful food with choices of five starters, five mains and five puddings, and of course wonderful views of the bay, Vesuvius, Ischia and Naples. We have stayed in many hotels alll over the world and have never been happier.

Room Tip: Fifth floor or sixth if you want to spend time in your room.But why would you with such welcoming ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent four nights at the hotel in late June and loved every moment. The staff was very attentive and the hotel is gorgeous. The rooftop pool is newly renovated and a great way to relax. Our room was tastefully decorated and a good size. The view from our private balcony was unbelievable - the water, the whole town and the epic Vesuvius! Perfect for an aperatif before dinner :)

Other points: We are a young newly married couple and most of the guests seemed much older (50s+ in age). We only saw one family with a couple of teenage kids. Also the hotel is about a 12 minute walk was from the town center and about 15-20 mins from the train station - so if you are planning on making Sorrento your central location, be aware that the station is a solid walk away. Buses come by less frequently that we would have expected, and cost a few euros each.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemini_AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
2,514 reviews
0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £181 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing