We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed at the hotel in July 2013 with my wife on our honeymoon, the hotel is really good, the views from the restuarant area and the roof top pool are amazing. The staff where really friendly and helpful on our stay, the food range for breakfast was excellent - as was the evening meals, now i am quite a plain eater and i know many are but i have to say there was always something available on the menu for people like this, and on my experiences the standard of the food was very high.

The hotel is located on the top of a steep hill, its an easy 10 minute walk into town but the walk back is different because of the hill, this may effect elderly people and people with prams as the pathways are very narrow and italians drive crazily!

The only downers for me where that the rooms where a little dated and need abitof modernisation, the beds werent comfortable either. Other than that it was a great stay and i would highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed at the Minerva in the first week of Oct 13 on a half board bases, what can I say that hasn't already been said, lovely hotel with superb views of the bay of Naples, Vesuvius and Sorrento, the staff were very attentive and service was excellent, the food was lovely with a good choice for breakfast and evening meal.

The walk into Sorrento takes around 15 minutes and a further 10 to the train station, Sorrento is a lovely town with plenty to see and do, the side streets are a lovely maze of gift shops and restaurants, and some lovely churches scattered through the streets.

Would recommend the trip to Monte Cassino which incorporated the monastery, the war cemetery and museum, a lovely day out though quite long, also the trip down the Amalfi coastline was very scenic, we visited Positano, Amalfi and Ravello all of which was beautiful, and the day at Pompeii was extremely interesting but tiring.

We had a very nice room, which was clean, tidy and really quiet, but unfortunately didn't have any views at all, this was made up by the views from the terrace and dining room, but a sea view would have made it perfect.

Would recommend hotel as a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Book a sea view it will make your stay that bit extra special, but try and get the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taffy54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We loved our stay and can't wait to return someday! the hotel is a 20Euro cab ride from the train stain in Sorrento - and we were greeted by a bell hop who whisked our luggage up to the lobby and then into our room (and was waiting for us when we checked out to do the same!) at check in we found out we had been upgraded to a room with a balcony!! so obviously started off on the right foot!! the balcony was AMAZING - highly recommend reserving ahead of time. we had coffee there every morning (delivered from the dining room on a tray with a full pot of coffee and full pot of warmed milk). Everyone at this hotel is incredibly professional, friendly and helpful. When we checked in they told us about a bunch of different tours (i.e. you can go to Capri on a boat through one of their companies for about the same price as the public ferry) I wish we had stayed longer and could have taken advantage but we were already booked with excursions for our stay. The front desk called restaurants in town for us to make dinner reservations, and set up a a taxi ride from the hotel to the train station in Naples as my husband wasn't a big fan of the Circumvesuvian train (side note - the train takes FOREVER, there are about 40 stops, its not predictable and I highly recommend considering setting up a taxi - very well spent 80EURO). We ate dinner at Minerva the first night, very delicious risotto with lobster and ravioli. Highly recommend staying here. My only "complaint" is that the walls are paper thin!! and in order to give everyone with a balcony a view the balconies are not very private - which was fine and we made friends with our neighbors...but something to keep in mind.

Room Tip: get a balcony with a seaview - you won't regret it!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emkuhfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We didn't have a room with a view but the views from the terrace and restaurant for both breakfast and dinner were fabulous. The room was spotless, the staff brilliant and the food excellent. 10 minute walk into town without problem.
Don't hesitate to give it a try!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A bit of a hike from the train station but worth it. The hotel itself was great (breakfast, 2 pools, fitness room, well appointed room, wifi) and the view was even better. My only knock was I had a hard time getting reservations set-up for restaurants and recommendations (or confirmation of what I was thinking) prior to my arrival. That said this was probably our favorite hotel stay while in Italy. They even packed us an amazing lunch and breakfast as part of the free breakfast when we had to leave before breakfast started. Do yourself a favor and just book this hotel for Sorrento.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntcounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

What a great place! I was a little worried that Via Capo was too far removed from downtown - it was not, it was the perfect distance. An easy 12 minute walk downtown, up a very mild hill, but away from the craziness of Sorrento.. The hotel was fantastic. Perfect actually. We stayed in 505, the room directly above reception with a large balcony. The view was outstanding. The hotel was perfectly clean. Cool decor. Amazing views. Our room had the same view as the entire restaurant and deck the floor below, so even if you don't get the balcony, you will get to enjoy a gorgeous sea and city view from the common areas.
We were surprised at the very high quality of the food at dinner. The service was also crisp and courteous at the restaurant. Although you may be tempted to eat at restaurants in town, make sure you eat at the restaurant one night. Although get there early, they closed at 9pm the nights we were there, and really meant a pretty sharp 9pm. I do wish they were a bit more relaxed on that aspect (although it is understandable because the service staff were the same people we saw the next morning at 7am).
Hotel service was very good, both leading up to our arrival and during our stay. I'm typically skeptical of the hotel-sourced tours, but we went to Positano and Amalfi on their recommendation and it was a great tour. All day, with hotel pickup, on a small boat for 40 euro per person. And very well done.
Thanks for a great stay Minerva, we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Stay floor 5 or above. Get a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjsWaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed on a half board basis for 5 nights. Stayed in room 710. which had a balcony with spectacular views of Vesuvious and the Bay of Naples. Room was kept immaculate. There is a pool on the roof with many sun beds and a snack bar. The hotel is outside Sorrento on a busy road. Short enough walk into the centre. Breakfast is plentiful. Dinner was superb and the Maitre D ran a most efficient restaurant. Nino the sommelier was so entertaining and knowledgable . The food was delicous plentiful and a great selection nightly.
The staff in the hotel made our stay most memorable. The question is when we are we returning and not if.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annlKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £93 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Minerva, with its stunning views of the sea of Sorrento, is the ideal place for a pleasant stay in the lively coastal town. The villa’s name comes from its location along the road that has led since ancient times to the temple of Minerva on the promontory of Punta Campanella. We have a careful, discreet and efficient staff, which promptly responds to the guest’s every demand. Join us and discover what's like being in Sorrento! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing