We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly Italian hotel with stunning views”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed here for seven nights and had a wonderful experience. This was our first trip to Italy and we were really impressed with the service and warmth we experienced at this hotel. The staff were all very pleasant and Donino and his team in the restaurant were fantastic. We were half board and really enjoyed the food. I havnt weighed myself yet but I'm sure I'm a lot heavier now than before I went! It was really lovely sitting on the terrace having breakfast every morning looking over at Vesuvius and the whole bay of Naples. The wine and drinks were also very reasonable and it's a lovely spot to sit and have a drink looking out at the view. Our room did not have a balcony but it was really pleasant and we had a lovely view of Vesuvius. We did not really worry about having a balcony as there were so many nice public areas to sit both inside and out. The rooms were spotlessly clean.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the main square, Piazza Tasso, and a further 5 minutes to the train station where the Sita bus terminus is also. Instead of doing tours which can be quite expensive we visited the attractions independently and found this to be easy and much cheaper. We went to Herculeum by train which cost 4.40 euros return and was very easy as it was just a downhill walk from the station. We also got the Sita bus along the Amalfi coast and all the way up to Ravello and this only cost 7.70 euros for a return. You just buy the one ticket which is valid for 24 hours. The boat to Capri costs 35 euros return and is very fast, only takes about 25 minutes. We found Capri to be really busy and the buses were incredibly crowded. If I was doing I again I think I would book a tour once I got there as that would be a lot less hassle and stress.
Hotel Minerva is a great base for visiting Sorrento and the Amalfi coast and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: A balcony would be lovely but there are lots of outside terraces so it's not that important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDS009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our second stay at this fabulous hotel in September, the friendly unobtrusive staff, impeccable service and out of this world views drew us back to enjoy another relaxing and unforgettable holiday. A perfect location for exploring the Amalfi coast, a short downhill walk to the town centre, and the train station for Pompeii and the port for the ferry to Capri and Positano. The views from the hotel are breath taking, and we enjoyed breakfast and evening meals overlooking the bay of Naples with unobstructed views of Mount Vesuvius, the food is good quality home cooked Italian cuisine with the waiters more than happy to accommodate your specific requests. Evening entertainment is hotel entertainment, but after a long day exploring early nights were usually all we could manage. If you want to experience Sorrento and Italy as it should be, authentic with the Italian flair for friendliness and home cooking in a perfect location for exploring this is the hotel for you. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 502 was on the end with good all round views, excellent if you can pay for an upgrade or ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Minerva and decided it was one of our favorite hotels in some 24 years of travel! The views are truly amazing ... a 180 degree view of hte Bay of Naples, Mt Vesuvio and a small fishing village. I would strongly urge a room with a balcony to enjoy the sunrises and sunsets from your room.

The service is exemplary of a first class hotel ... complete with the food service staff in formal attire, winning smiles and professional service. They arranged for taxi to take us to catch the boot to Amalifi, provided directions to specific sites, recommended a restaurant in the fishing village and were all focused on quality service.

The breakfast is complete ... sautéed mushrooms, fresh tomatoes with basil, fresh fruit, breads, cereal, pastries, yogurt, ham / bacon, eggs, etc. We also enjoyed 2 dinners of fresh in the open dining room overlooking Bay and distant twinkling lights.

We were celebrating our 24th wedding anniversary and awaiting us was a chilled bottle of prosecco with a selection of fresh fruit.

The hotel has large areas for casual lounging ... a large outdoor veranda overlooking the Bay, smaller seating areas, a bar, downstairs waiting area. The room had brightly colored yellow and blue tile, and yellow bedspreads. Very charming.

I would highly recommend Hotel Minerva.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COresident5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at this lovely hotel overlooking the Bay of Naples in April, 2013. It was a perfect location for touring the Amalfi coast. The hotel staff was wonderful, including Antonietta, Antonio and others,. We will never forget our wonderful experience here. The views from the terrace are incomparable-heavenly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssvw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed at the hotel in July 2013 with my wife on our honeymoon, the hotel is really good, the views from the restuarant area and the roof top pool are amazing. The staff where really friendly and helpful on our stay, the food range for breakfast was excellent - as was the evening meals, now i am quite a plain eater and i know many are but i have to say there was always something available on the menu for people like this, and on my experiences the standard of the food was very high.

The hotel is located on the top of a steep hill, its an easy 10 minute walk into town but the walk back is different because of the hill, this may effect elderly people and people with prams as the pathways are very narrow and italians drive crazily!

The only downers for me where that the rooms where a little dated and need abitof modernisation, the beds werent comfortable either. Other than that it was a great stay and i would highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed at the Minerva in the first week of Oct 13 on a half board bases, what can I say that hasn't already been said, lovely hotel with superb views of the bay of Naples, Vesuvius and Sorrento, the staff were very attentive and service was excellent, the food was lovely with a good choice for breakfast and evening meal.

The walk into Sorrento takes around 15 minutes and a further 10 to the train station, Sorrento is a lovely town with plenty to see and do, the side streets are a lovely maze of gift shops and restaurants, and some lovely churches scattered through the streets.

Would recommend the trip to Monte Cassino which incorporated the monastery, the war cemetery and museum, a lovely day out though quite long, also the trip down the Amalfi coastline was very scenic, we visited Positano, Amalfi and Ravello all of which was beautiful, and the day at Pompeii was extremely interesting but tiring.

We had a very nice room, which was clean, tidy and really quiet, but unfortunately didn't have any views at all, this was made up by the views from the terrace and dining room, but a sea view would have made it perfect.

Would recommend hotel as a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Book a sea view it will make your stay that bit extra special, but try and get the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taffy54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We loved our stay and can't wait to return someday! the hotel is a 20Euro cab ride from the train stain in Sorrento - and we were greeted by a bell hop who whisked our luggage up to the lobby and then into our room (and was waiting for us when we checked out to do the same!) at check in we found out we had been upgraded to a room with a balcony!! so obviously started off on the right foot!! the balcony was AMAZING - highly recommend reserving ahead of time. we had coffee there every morning (delivered from the dining room on a tray with a full pot of coffee and full pot of warmed milk). Everyone at this hotel is incredibly professional, friendly and helpful. When we checked in they told us about a bunch of different tours (i.e. you can go to Capri on a boat through one of their companies for about the same price as the public ferry) I wish we had stayed longer and could have taken advantage but we were already booked with excursions for our stay. The front desk called restaurants in town for us to make dinner reservations, and set up a a taxi ride from the hotel to the train station in Naples as my husband wasn't a big fan of the Circumvesuvian train (side note - the train takes FOREVER, there are about 40 stops, its not predictable and I highly recommend considering setting up a taxi - very well spent 80EURO). We ate dinner at Minerva the first night, very delicious risotto with lobster and ravioli. Highly recommend staying here. My only "complaint" is that the walls are paper thin!! and in order to give everyone with a balcony a view the balconies are not very private - which was fine and we made friends with our neighbors...but something to keep in mind.

Room Tip: get a balcony with a seaview - you won't regret it!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emkuhfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,317 reviews
0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £93 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Minerva, with its stunning views of the sea of Sorrento, is the ideal place for a pleasant stay in the lively coastal town. The villa’s name comes from its location along the road that has led since ancient times to the temple of Minerva on the promontory of Punta Campanella. We have a careful, discreet and efficient staff, which promptly responds to the guest’s every demand. Join us and discover what's like being in Sorrento! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing