We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights end of April. The hotel is truly beautiful, quirky and incredibly friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Pool terrace is beautiful. We ate in the hotel on the last night and food was very nice and service great. Do book a room with a balcony if possible as the views are amazing. The walk to the main part of the town is 10 mins away and no problem at all. I could not fault this hotel and would hope to return one day.
Lovely restaurants in town, Buffolito is fab and a must.
Tip, taxi from square to hotel was 14 euros !!!! Taxis are very expensive and if you don't have too much luggage the hotel is easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Balcony room is a must. No coffee making in room which is standard in Italy, but be aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Family44t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our rooms were spacious and had a beautiful view of the Bay of Naples from our balcony. It is barely a 4 star hotel, but the view more than made up for it. The hotel is charming and built into the side of a hill. An interesting touch was that they have baskets of paperback books for leisure reading during your stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice32308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

You go for two reasons 1. The view 2. The service from the staff, including the quality of the alacarte dinners. We went on our honeymoon, got an upgrade and reviewed excellent service. Thanks for making it so memorable!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Quokka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Minerva over the Easter bank holiday and had a lovely time. We had a family room with a balcony overlooking the bay, and the views were amazing. The room was plenty big enough for the three of us and nicely decorated. The bathroom was fine too. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The views from the pool area are fabulous, although the water was freezing, but we were there in mid-April. My only complaint, and it is not even that, is that the rooms could do with a bit of TLC. Overall we had a lovely stay, and the staff were great

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed in the Minerva, Sorrento for three nights recently. It has a lovely small hotel charm and the reception staff are particularly welcoming and helpful. We had a room with stunning views across the bay. The room was spotless if not very big, but considering it is built into the side of the hill it was very adequate for a 3 day stay. Bed was comfortable and quality of sleep was never an issue. We ate breakfast only at the hotel, and this was adequate, but nothing different. Located about 10 mins from the town centre, down a steep hill. Be careful stepping out the front door, there is almost no footpath, and traffic passes very fast. There is a pedestrian crossing outside the door...use it !! It is OK going down to the town, but you probably need a taxi coming back up, especially after a meal and a few beers. Taxis are a rip-off in Sorrento. €15 for a 5 minute drive. €20 from the station to the hotel, about 7 mins. But walking is part of the fun to see the town. We took a tour of the coastline and the hotel were very helpful to arrange it. The hotel has a fabulous outdoor patio area, with great views. My only gripe was on two nights returning to the hotel we could not get a drink at the bar at about 11pm. On both occasions, the bar had "just closed". Off season, I know, but surely it would not have been too difficult to serve a beer ? Otherwise, I would definitely recommend the Minerva,

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Threeholer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel, travelling each day to nearby attractions.
A quick 8 minute walk leads to the active (and noisy) city center, where all the shops and restaurants are located.
The rooms are spacious, we had a window facing the sea with a breath-taking view of Napoli and Mount Vesuvius. The one inconvenience: the pillows were really hard and caused some discomfort.
The staff is very helpful and friendly; they provided information and helpful tips for planning our days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jude W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We ,with 80 other peoples from Norway,stayed there for 3 weeks in springtime.

Old hotel,with nice view over Napoli bay,friendly staff,ok food.Sorrento is a small,old town,heavy trafic
.
No real beachproneade,but clear water so is it posible to take a swim from the 2 small habours.

We will not return,it is expensive and heavy trafic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Egil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
2,513 reviews
0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £181 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing