We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem just on outskirts of Sorrento looking at Mt Vesuvius” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Little gem just on outskirts of Sorrento looking at Mt Vesuvius”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent a week half-board in the hotel which was excellent. Room exceeded expectations with huge balcony and although on the first floor was far enough back from the road with double glazing for us not to hear the traffic. The view over Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius was stunning and with constant sky changes and ferry movements there was always something new to look at.
The pool on the roof and the facilities around it great and although it was end of April I enjoyed a few swims (a hardy Scot!). Small but newly equipped cardio exercise room did not seem to be well used!
Food was typically Mediterranean with a number of local dishes to sample. Breakfast was a surprise as most mornings there was egg & bacon or sausage as an option.
All staff were extremely helpful & courteous and as one would expect with the oldest established hotel in Sorrento (1856) full of character even although it underwent a comprehensive refurbishment on 2012.
Leaving some of the rock face as a feature in the staircase and lift area reminds us engineers how clever they are in the Almalfi coast at building on almost vertical cliffs and a vert nice touch.
Easy walk into Sorrento town and the Marina for ferries to Capri, train to Pompeii, Mt Vesuvius & Naples.
We will stay at the hotel again on our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for high, sea facing with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    183
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
166
659
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights end of April. The hotel is truly beautiful, quirky and incredibly friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Pool terrace is beautiful. We ate in the hotel on the last night and food was very nice and service great. Do book a room with a balcony if possible as the views are amazing. The walk to the main part of the town is 10 mins away and no problem at all. I could not fault this hotel and would hope to return one day.
Lovely restaurants in town, Buffolito is fab and a must.
Tip, taxi from square to hotel was 14 euros !!!! Taxis are very expensive and if you don't have too much luggage the hotel is easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Balcony room is a must. No coffee making in room which is standard in Italy, but be aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Family44t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our rooms were spacious and had a beautiful view of the Bay of Naples from our balcony. It is barely a 4 star hotel, but the view more than made up for it. The hotel is charming and built into the side of a hill. An interesting touch was that they have baskets of paperback books for leisure reading during your stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice32308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

You go for two reasons 1. The view 2. The service from the staff, including the quality of the alacarte dinners. We went on our honeymoon, got an upgrade and reviewed excellent service. Thanks for making it so memorable!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quokka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Minerva over the Easter bank holiday and had a lovely time. We had a family room with a balcony overlooking the bay, and the views were amazing. The room was plenty big enough for the three of us and nicely decorated. The bathroom was fine too. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The views from the pool area are fabulous, although the water was freezing, but we were there in mid-April. My only complaint, and it is not even that, is that the rooms could do with a bit of TLC. Overall we had a lovely stay, and the staff were great

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed in the Minerva, Sorrento for three nights recently. It has a lovely small hotel charm and the reception staff are particularly welcoming and helpful. We had a room with stunning views across the bay. The room was spotless if not very big, but considering it is built into the side of the hill it was very adequate for a 3 day stay. Bed was comfortable and quality of sleep was never an issue. We ate breakfast only at the hotel, and this was adequate, but nothing different. Located about 10 mins from the town centre, down a steep hill. Be careful stepping out the front door, there is almost no footpath, and traffic passes very fast. There is a pedestrian crossing outside the door...use it !! It is OK going down to the town, but you probably need a taxi coming back up, especially after a meal and a few beers. Taxis are a rip-off in Sorrento. €15 for a 5 minute drive. €20 from the station to the hotel, about 7 mins. But walking is part of the fun to see the town. We took a tour of the coastline and the hotel were very helpful to arrange it. The hotel has a fabulous outdoor patio area, with great views. My only gripe was on two nights returning to the hotel we could not get a drink at the bar at about 11pm. On both occasions, the bar had "just closed". Off season, I know, but surely it would not have been too difficult to serve a beer ? Otherwise, I would definitely recommend the Minerva,

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Threeholer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel, travelling each day to nearby attractions.
A quick 8 minute walk leads to the active (and noisy) city center, where all the shops and restaurants are located.
The rooms are spacious, we had a window facing the sea with a breath-taking view of Napoli and Mount Vesuvius. The one inconvenience: the pillows were really hard and caused some discomfort.
The staff is very helpful and friendly; they provided information and helpful tips for planning our days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jude W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing