We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast!”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spent a week at the Minerva at the beginning of May, and really enjoyed our stay.
We had never been down to the Amalfi coast, so whilst I had heard and read a lot, it was a new experience. We came down from Pompeii on the train, which is interesting, and after a little careful investigation found that you could get a bus from the main square in Sorrento, a five minute walk from the station, which stops right outside the hotel [rather than pay upwards of 20 euros for a taxi] A very pleasant hotel in the old style, apparently one of Sorrento's original hotels, and whilst it has clearly been updated over the years it retains a certain style and class. Reception is on the 5th. floor, and was pleasant friendly and professional, before we were shown up one floor to our room. Nice room, very clean with everything you could want for a nice break, king size comfortable bed and nice big pillows [a bit hard for me, but one was changed for a softer one the next morning for me, as soon as I asked], very clean bathroom with excellent shower; but it was all about the view from the small balcony - pretty spectacular! The whole bay of Naples, with Vesuvius centre stage. We ate in the restaurant first night, and several others, and were impressed by the attention and courtesy of the staff. A good menu which changed each night, and a good selection of wines too. Breakfast was a buffet affair with a very good selection each morning. The views from both the dining room and the terrace which runs along the front of the hotel really are very nice.
The hotel is essentially built into the hillside of the coast road out of town, and you have to be a little careful exiting the front door as the pavement is virtually non-existent on the hotel side of the road. From there it is pleasant 15 minute walk down into the town centre, the walk back is slightly uphill and not too bad [the exercise is good!] or you can catch the bus - although beware they are a little flexible on the schedule.
Talking with other guests we got recommendations for several restaurants which we tried and were happy with, either for lunch or evening meal.
We checked on excursions and chose to make our own way for most trips - we walked down to the harbour for the boat to Capri, 20 minutes on a jet foil. Do ride up to Anacapri village on the top of the hill, and take the ski-lift up to the top of the mountain for truly amazing views. We booked a shared big open taxi which was pretty neat, but the bus is a much cheaper alternative.
The next day we walked down to the station again, and rode the coastal bus to Amalfi - this goes via Positano, and stops in Amalfi, where you can walk around and then ride back to Positano. You get off the bus up on the coast road, and take the 10-12 minute walk down into the village seafront, a nice place but not cheap! We treated ourselves to a great lunch at Chez Black right in the centre of the seafront - can thoroughly recommend the food and service! Then we walked back up to the coast road for the bus back to Sorrento....A young couple told us they had been waiting 50minutes, [half hour service] and then we learned that the drivers had decided to go on strike!! It is a very long walk back to the hotel, so it was time to negotiate with a taxi driver who was set to drive back empty to Sorrento - initial bid was 60 euros! but this got reduced to 10 euros each for the 4 of us after a short haggle, which was just fine.
We tried Emelias restaurant down on the small seafront and visible from the hotel, very impressed by their seafood salads, and grilled sea bass. My partner pronounced the home made tiramisu the best she has ever had! The walk down and back to this relatively small family run restaurant is well worth the effort.
Our chill out day, we chose to spend quite a while just relaxing and reading up on the recliners poolside on the top floor - a couple of brave souls had a swim, but it was too chilly for me - be a great place when it warms up a bit though!
Time to return to Naples for our flight home and we opted to take the hotel booked taxi, reasonable for the distance and convenience - would not really have fancied the bus/train combination.
Overall a great experience - would I recommend? - most certainly.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the best view, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank grarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday in Sorrento staying at the above hotel. The view from the room was fantastic -however we did pay extra for the sea view. The room was very good - very spacious and the bed was huge. There were lots of hangers in the wardrobe area which accommodated all our clothes. The shower in the bathroom was not very good. Perhaps the shower needs a little updating. There was a safe in the hotel which you did not have to pay for - which was a bonus.
However if part of your holiday experience is the food you are presented with, I would suggest that you do not choose the half board option. For a 4* Hotel the food presented in the evening was very poor. There was an A La Carte Menu for the hotel but we were not presented with this but a completely separate menu each evening. The food was tasteless and boring with limited choice. The sweets were disappointing (no tiramisu was offered all week) and if choosing ice cream we were not given a choice of flavours but just presented with 2 scoops of their choice. We did feel that we had been treated as 'the poor relations' being on a half board package. The breakfast offered in the mornings was also disappointing. There was a poor selection of fruit -only two choices and most often it came out of a tin or was the leftovers from the night before. The cooked food offered at breakfast again was only two choices and of poor quality. I do not understand why this hotel has a 4* rating - the food definitely was not four star quality. On a more positive note the staff were always friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Always pay extra for a sea view and rooms on 4th floor and above are the best. Please note that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUSAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views and lovely terraces. The top floor pool and deck had great views, too. A good location, nice walk to downtown Sorrento.friendly staff, decor outdated. Breakfast was mediocre, but the staff was very kind and would make egg dishes. The view is unbelievable!!
I'd give them a 3.5*, higher if hotel was updated.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Joles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent a week at Hotel Minerva, half board for our honeymoon. We booked late and were told that our room would have twin beds.......however, when we arrived we were overwhelmed by how stunning our room was. One huge bed, champagne and strawberries, the most enormous balcony and absolutely stunning view over the bay to Mt Vesuvius. On a busy road but really noise was kept to a minimum with big double glazed door. The decor in the hotel is traditional with beautiful tiled floors and the thing that really stood out to us was the cleanliness. The hotel was spotless. Staff were all incredibly efficient and friendly...helped with any enquiries we had. Really a top class hotel. Placed a short walk away from the centre of town.......it was a VERY short walk. One road straight into town, so location was perfect. Food at the hotel was top class too and they double checked every day to make sure that I ( a veggie) had enough choice. We really couldn't have asked for anymore for our week away. A fabulous fabulous experience and we would recommend without hesitation!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony if you can........stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Spent a few weeks in Italy and this was our favorite hotel we stayed in while we were there. It was in a perfect location, only a ten minute walk from the center of Sorrento. It was also a great location for day trips to Pompeii, the Amalfi Coast, Capri, etc. The staff were exceptionally professional and everyone there spoke English. They helped us book our tour to Capri and gave us other recommendations. We stayed on the top floor with an incredible view of the bay. The breakfast included with the room was a great buffet with both hot and cold items. We did have an incident where another guest hit our car in the garage, and that was also handled very well. They were able to review video, identify the driver, and get all the insurance paper work taken care of. I would suggest if you drive and park there that you let their porter park the car. The garage is VERY tight. Again, I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joecooool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent a week half-board in the hotel which was excellent. Room exceeded expectations with huge balcony and although on the first floor was far enough back from the road with double glazing for us not to hear the traffic. The view over Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius was stunning and with constant sky changes and ferry movements there was always something new to look at.
The pool on the roof and the facilities around it great and although it was end of April I enjoyed a few swims (a hardy Scot!). Small but newly equipped cardio exercise room did not seem to be well used!
Food was typically Mediterranean with a number of local dishes to sample. Breakfast was a surprise as most mornings there was egg & bacon or sausage as an option.
All staff were extremely helpful & courteous and as one would expect with the oldest established hotel in Sorrento (1856) full of character even although it underwent a comprehensive refurbishment on 2012.
Leaving some of the rock face as a feature in the staircase and lift area reminds us engineers how clever they are in the Almalfi coast at building on almost vertical cliffs and a vert nice touch.
Easy walk into Sorrento town and the Marina for ferries to Capri, train to Pompeii, Mt Vesuvius & Naples.
We will stay at the hotel again on our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for high, sea facing with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RNHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights end of April. The hotel is truly beautiful, quirky and incredibly friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Pool terrace is beautiful. We ate in the hotel on the last night and food was very nice and service great. Do book a room with a balcony if possible as the views are amazing. The walk to the main part of the town is 10 mins away and no problem at all. I could not fault this hotel and would hope to return one day.
Lovely restaurants in town, Buffolito is fab and a must.
Tip, taxi from square to hotel was 14 euros !!!! Taxis are very expensive and if you don't have too much luggage the hotel is easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Balcony room is a must. No coffee making in room which is standard in Italy, but be aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Family44t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
2,511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
981 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £68 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing