We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just stayed at this hotel for a week and it exceeded well beyond our expectations. Our holiday was for our 25th wedding anniversary and a 50th birthday. On arrival, we were upgraded to a better room and there was sparkly wine and fruit in our room and the view! Oh my word. It was an absolute delight!
We enjoyed the excellent food the hotel provided and it was eaten as we overlooked the bay on th terrace.
The staff were so warm and caring it made our holiday very special indeed.

The surrounding area offered many day trips.....pompeii, amalfi, positino, capri and other places we never got chance to see. Therefore, we ll need a trip to explore even further.

So thank you Minerva hotel for making our holiday a very special and memorable holiday for us and we hope to see you very soon.

Room Tip: Room with a view, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lambs115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    183
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
166
659
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 3nights it was the most relaxing hotel we have ever stayed at the staff treated everybody like they were all family
The Managers could not do enough for us, confirming tours and transfers
The young bloke that was always on the bar went way out of his way to make sure we did not want for anything always checking that we were fine.
They had a man singing and playing a instrument in the bar area he was a great entertainer and made the night ex special it was so relaxing just to sit and have a wine

I would recommends his hotel to everybody and would come back in a heart beat
It was also spotless
We left at 5.30am and the Managers made sure we had a fast breakfast to take away
The food was beautiful as well as the waiting staff
The staff seem to enjoy doing there job.
Thank you to the Managers again for our stay we both just loved the hotel and staff

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lynette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay in the Minerva for our Honeymoon for 9 nights, as a friend recommended it, The Minerva is a beautiful hotel about a 15 minute walk from town centre, located on a cliff, with stunning views of the Bay of Naples.
Our room was large, Bright & comfortable with a large Balcony, overlooking the Bay & port of Sorrento, The Hotel has a roof top pool which we used every day, there is plenty of room to relax & also has a roof top bar. The Hotel also has a beautiful Restaurant with large menu serving fresh fish daily, the Staff are very friendly & helpful, if needed they can organise excursions, We would highly recommend taking a cruise to Capri & of Amalfi Coast & Positano.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would highly recommend the Minerva

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank B a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spent a week at the Minerva at the beginning of May, and really enjoyed our stay.
We had never been down to the Amalfi coast, so whilst I had heard and read a lot, it was a new experience. We came down from Pompeii on the train, which is interesting, and after a little careful investigation found that you could get a bus from the main square in Sorrento, a five minute walk from the station, which stops right outside the hotel [rather than pay upwards of 20 euros for a taxi] A very pleasant hotel in the old style, apparently one of Sorrento's original hotels, and whilst it has clearly been updated over the years it retains a certain style and class. Reception is on the 5th. floor, and was pleasant friendly and professional, before we were shown up one floor to our room. Nice room, very clean with everything you could want for a nice break, king size comfortable bed and nice big pillows [a bit hard for me, but one was changed for a softer one the next morning for me, as soon as I asked], very clean bathroom with excellent shower; but it was all about the view from the small balcony - pretty spectacular! The whole bay of Naples, with Vesuvius centre stage. We ate in the restaurant first night, and several others, and were impressed by the attention and courtesy of the staff. A good menu which changed each night, and a good selection of wines too. Breakfast was a buffet affair with a very good selection each morning. The views from both the dining room and the terrace which runs along the front of the hotel really are very nice.
The hotel is essentially built into the hillside of the coast road out of town, and you have to be a little careful exiting the front door as the pavement is virtually non-existent on the hotel side of the road. From there it is pleasant 15 minute walk down into the town centre, the walk back is slightly uphill and not too bad [the exercise is good!] or you can catch the bus - although beware they are a little flexible on the schedule.
Talking with other guests we got recommendations for several restaurants which we tried and were happy with, either for lunch or evening meal.
We checked on excursions and chose to make our own way for most trips - we walked down to the harbour for the boat to Capri, 20 minutes on a jet foil. Do ride up to Anacapri village on the top of the hill, and take the ski-lift up to the top of the mountain for truly amazing views. We booked a shared big open taxi which was pretty neat, but the bus is a much cheaper alternative.
The next day we walked down to the station again, and rode the coastal bus to Amalfi - this goes via Positano, and stops in Amalfi, where you can walk around and then ride back to Positano. You get off the bus up on the coast road, and take the 10-12 minute walk down into the village seafront, a nice place but not cheap! We treated ourselves to a great lunch at Chez Black right in the centre of the seafront - can thoroughly recommend the food and service! Then we walked back up to the coast road for the bus back to Sorrento....A young couple told us they had been waiting 50minutes, [half hour service] and then we learned that the drivers had decided to go on strike!! It is a very long walk back to the hotel, so it was time to negotiate with a taxi driver who was set to drive back empty to Sorrento - initial bid was 60 euros! but this got reduced to 10 euros each for the 4 of us after a short haggle, which was just fine.
We tried Emelias restaurant down on the small seafront and visible from the hotel, very impressed by their seafood salads, and grilled sea bass. My partner pronounced the home made tiramisu the best she has ever had! The walk down and back to this relatively small family run restaurant is well worth the effort.
Our chill out day, we chose to spend quite a while just relaxing and reading up on the recliners poolside on the top floor - a couple of brave souls had a swim, but it was too chilly for me - be a great place when it warms up a bit though!
Time to return to Naples for our flight home and we opted to take the hotel booked taxi, reasonable for the distance and convenience - would not really have fancied the bus/train combination.
Overall a great experience - would I recommend? - most certainly.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the best view, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEYMOUTH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday in Sorrento staying at the above hotel. The view from the room was fantastic -however we did pay extra for the sea view. The room was very good - very spacious and the bed was huge. There were lots of hangers in the wardrobe area which accommodated all our clothes. The shower in the bathroom was not very good. Perhaps the shower needs a little updating. There was a safe in the hotel which you did not have to pay for - which was a bonus.
However if part of your holiday experience is the food you are presented with, I would suggest that you do not choose the half board option. For a 4* Hotel the food presented in the evening was very poor. There was an A La Carte Menu for the hotel but we were not presented with this but a completely separate menu each evening. The food was tasteless and boring with limited choice. The sweets were disappointing (no tiramisu was offered all week) and if choosing ice cream we were not given a choice of flavours but just presented with 2 scoops of their choice. We did feel that we had been treated as 'the poor relations' being on a half board package. The breakfast offered in the mornings was also disappointing. There was a poor selection of fruit -only two choices and most often it came out of a tin or was the leftovers from the night before. The cooked food offered at breakfast again was only two choices and of poor quality. I do not understand why this hotel has a 4* rating - the food definitely was not four star quality. On a more positive note the staff were always friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Always pay extra for a sea view and rooms on 4th floor and above are the best. Please note that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUSAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views and lovely terraces. The top floor pool and deck had great views, too. A good location, nice walk to downtown Sorrento.friendly staff, decor outdated. Breakfast was mediocre, but the staff was very kind and would make egg dishes. The view is unbelievable!!
I'd give them a 3.5*, higher if hotel was updated.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent a week at Hotel Minerva, half board for our honeymoon. We booked late and were told that our room would have twin beds.......however, when we arrived we were overwhelmed by how stunning our room was. One huge bed, champagne and strawberries, the most enormous balcony and absolutely stunning view over the bay to Mt Vesuvius. On a busy road but really noise was kept to a minimum with big double glazed door. The decor in the hotel is traditional with beautiful tiled floors and the thing that really stood out to us was the cleanliness. The hotel was spotless. Staff were all incredibly efficient and friendly...helped with any enquiries we had. Really a top class hotel. Placed a short walk away from the centre of town.......it was a VERY short walk. One road straight into town, so location was perfect. Food at the hotel was top class too and they double checked every day to make sure that I ( a veggie) had enough choice. We really couldn't have asked for anymore for our week away. A fabulous fabulous experience and we would recommend without hesitation!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony if you can........stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing