We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a great hotel! Spotlessly clean and very pleasant staff. The views were wonderful over the bay of Sorrento. Breakfast was a bit of a let down. Bacon not nice and the fried eggs worse. Fruit, cereals, yogurt etc etc so didn't starve! Waited on at dinner which was nice but staff a bit quick sometimes to bring first course before we had finished our salad starter. Plenty of seating in the lounges. Lovely place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
There are newer reviews for Minerva Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have just returned from a perfect week here. The hotel is perfect in every respect - location, views, staff, facilities and food. Every member of staff is a credit to the hotel; they could not be more helpful or friendly. We booked the dinner option for the week and enjoyed a huge variety of excellent local food, all beautifully served. The rooftop pool and bar/restaurant are top notch and the views are spectacular. We would recommend this hotel strongly to anyone.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view or balcony room. It's worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamish1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is definitely a 3 star average hotel. The view is stunning as you will see from the pictures, but the hotel is let down by cost cutting measures on things like the breakfast and room amenities . There are no duvets for example only sheets .

It was a pleasant stay for us ; although we cut the trip short as we are on honeymoon and wanted the pampering and comfortable amenities of a higher rating hotel.

Unfortunately like all things in life the original charm of the hotel I suspect has been lost as it's now a package holiday destination hotel. We booked separately but did find ourselves being greeted by the holiday rep at breakfast. Everyone staying at the hotel was from the UK.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Critical_TravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for seven nights at end of May 2014. Must say our first meal was not very exciting, the quality was ok but it was served luke warm, there again it was 1030pm when we arrived.
The rest of the week was excellent, breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice and evening meals were tremendous, the starter would have passed for a main course in many places.
All the staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant.
We paid extra for a balcony which was a bit disappointing. it was very small and situated above the main road which was very busy (room 105 in the annexe).
The views from the restaurant balcony and from the swimming pool were amazing and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the annexe as you have to take the lift up to level 4 and then get into another lift do...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I can't understand what any person would have to complain about in this hotel! Every part of the hotel we came across was spotless. The staff work so hard to give you 100% holiday satisfaction. They are so friendly yet professional and make you feel very welcome and comfortable.

The location of the hotel, to me, was just right. You're a 10 minute walk from the centre of town, which being further up, gives you the most breathtaking views over the bay and the seclusion and peace that you want whilst in your hotel.

The room we had was spacious, immaculate and cosy. Yes, the view wasn't fantastic yet in my opinion, if you want a 5 star view, don't pay the price for a basic room. We were very happy with the quality of what we had paid for. I normally struggle to sleep in hotels due to the rocky pillows but here, I managed to get a full, great nights sleep.

The bar and restaurant staff are marvellous, they excel in every way. It is obvious that they take pride in what they do and seek to provide the best service possible. Nothing is too much to ask.
The food was lovely also, the menu you was varied each night so it didn't get repetitive.

We travelled with Thomson, who we think did not receive any less service than others staying in the hotel, our rep was Ashley who was very approachable and friendly. If you felt there was a problem, she would go far out of her way to solve it for you.

This was a present for my mothers 50th birthday, I am 21 and we both felt this hotel was right for us, which to me says it's suitable for all ages.

In all, this was for us, the most perfect week away!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just returned from Sorrento staying at the Minerva and my boyfriend and I really enjoyed the trip. Can't really fault the hotel, food was good, room spacious. staff very friendly and the view spectacular. Would love to return as we found a week was not long enough. Well done Minerva.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We've just returned from a week at the Minerva and I have to say we were disappointed with our stay. We booked it mainly from reading all the marvelous reviews on Tripadvisor.
The views from the terrace and rooftop are stunning and the location is very good. But the hotel is a 3 star at best with 5 star views.

We had booked a week half board with Thomson and I think that was where our problems started, when checking in we were told we were with 'the group' and it seemed Thomson guests were allocated the worst rooms.

We were in room 108 and we were unhappy with our room. It was on the first floor but there was no view at all only the rockface the building is built against . A very small outside space with very little natural light. You couldn't sit out as it was dusty and dirty. The air conditioning didn't work and we found it quite stifling some nights. There was also smells from the drains at times. The bed was very uncomfortable. We complained about the room and lack of aircon and we were told that somebody would have a look at it. It was only on our last night that we were given a remote control to work the aircon and we feel we had been fobbed off. The hotel said the smell was from drains outside the hotel and there was nothing they could do about it.

The reception staff we found to be very abrupt and not really that helpful. The other staff we found were very pleasant. We liked Franco the pool man, and he did a great job of keeping the rooftop pool area very clean and ship shape. This is a very nice area with plenty of sun beds and a bar area. Great views.

We found the waiting staff all very good too. All very friendly and professional and the service was good. The food however, was disappointing. Breakfast was poor, it was the usual buffet affair but the fruit all looked past it's best, the hot items were inedible, the coffee was from a machine and was like weak instant stuff. Fruit juices were really sweet. The only thing that I enjoyed was the fresh bread and croissants.
The evening meals were better but really quite average for a 4 star hotel. If you'd had them out at a restaurant you'd probably not go back.

Sorrento is a lovely town and we did some great day trips to Capri and The Amalfi coast and also Pompeii. I'm sure we will return, but not to the Minerva I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Avoid room 108
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#15 of 100 in Sorrento
2,461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,726 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £121 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing